Last Updated on July 2, 2022
Today, we’re going to be taking a look at the Shake Shack gluten free menu, and what foods and drinks you can enjoy when eating out at Shake Shack. In fast-food restaurants are notoriously difficult to find gluten-free food options available. This is because they’re usually small kitchens, that use gluten in their recipes heavily. However, not every fast-food chain is a problem – some are well ahead of the curve! But is Shake Shack one of them? Do they offer gluten-free options? Let’s take a closer look.
What Is Shake Shack?
You’ll likely have already heard of Shake Shack – in fact, it’s one of my go-to places to eat out! If you’re unfamiliar, Shake Shack is a fast-food restaurant that started in New York City, just over 20 years ago. Did you know that Shake Shack originally started with a hot dog cart in Madison Square Park? They’ve sure come a long way since then! In fact, they now have around 350 locations worldwide.
While they’re most commonly known for their amazing milkshakes and hotdogs. They also serve foods such as fries and hamburgers too.
Does Shake Shack Have A Gluten Free Menu?
Unfortunately, Shake Shack does not have an “official” gluten-free menu. This means that they do not make any gluten-free claims on their food products. However, they do state that if you make your server aware of any allergies or intolerances you have, they will take the necessary precautions to ensure your order is as safe as possible.
While Shake Shack does not push a gluten-free menu, they do have many options that are free from gluten ingredients, if you’re looking for something quick and easy to eat and drink.
Does Shake Offer Gluten Free Buns?
It’s a well-known fact that burger buns contain wheat – therefore making them unsafe for a gluten-free diet. However, back in 2017, Shake Shack introduced their first gluten-free bun option. This bun is now available in most Shake Shack stores. It will cost you an extra dollar though – so be sure to go in with that knowledge!
If you’re wondering what the gluten-free burger contains, it has the following ingredients:
- organic brown rice flour
- rice flour
- tapioca starch
- potato starch
- bean flour
- vegetable fibers
- whole flax seed meal
- millet flour
- buckwheat flour
- natural flavors
…as you can see, no gluten in sight!
Shake Shack Gluten Free Menu Items
The items free from gluten do not just stop at their gluten-free buns! Let’s take a look at some of the options available for those following a gluten-free diet.
- burger patty
- hot dog
Gluten-Free Bun Options
- gluten-free burger bun
- lettuce wrap (available for hotdog or burger)
- vanilla shake
- chocolate shake
- strawberry shake
- Peachtree shake
- whipped cream
- root beer float
- purple cow float
- creamsicle float
- vanilla cup
- chocolate cup
- All of the soft drinks available at Shake Shack are gluten-free and safe to consume
Give Me Some Shack
- Mast Brothers Buttermilk Chocolate
- gruyere cheese
- provolone cheese
- black truffle sauce
- parmesan garlic seasoning
- American cheese
- cherry peppers
You can find their full nutritional guide here.
Copycat Shake Shack Cheeseburger Bowl Recipe
If you’re looking for a gluten-free Shake Shack at home (that’s actually even tastier!), try this recipe inspired by Hungry Blonde.
The ingredients you’ll need for this recipe are:
- bag of frozen French fries (cook per instructions)
- 1 tablespoon of olive oil
- 1 lb of lean ground beef
- 1 teaspoon of salt
- 1/2 teaspoon of black pepper
- 1/2 teaspoon of onion powder
- 4 cups of lettuce
- 1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder
- 1/2 cup of shredded cheddar
- 1 cup of diced tomato
- 1/2 cup of diced red onion
- 1/2 cup of mayonnaise
- 1 tablespoon of ketchup
- 1/4 teaspoon of garlic powder
- 1/4 teaspoon of paprika
- 1 tablespoon of dill pickle relish
- 1 tablespoon of mustard
Now all you need to do is:
Step 1: Prepare the Sauce
Add all of the sauce ingredients to a bowl. Now stir until well combined and leave to one side.
Step 2: Cook the Fries
Whichever fries you’re using, cook them following the direction on the packet. Cook in an oven or air fryer.
Step 3: Cook the Beef
Heat some oil over medium heat, in a large pan. Once the oil is hot, add your ground beef and break up the meat as it’s cooking. Now add the salt, pepper, onion powder, and garlic powder. Stir well and cook until the meat is brown. This should take around 8-10 minutes.
Step 4: Assemble
Place your lettuce, fries, ground beef, cheese, tomato, and onion into a bowl. Pour your sauce over the top. Enjoy!
Read more about: Does Chick Fil A Have Gluten-Free Buns?
I hope this article has given you an idea of what you can expect to find on the Shake Shack gluten-free menu. While there isn’t a wide selection of products, and the lack of fries is disappointing, it’s relatively easy to eat here. Just be sure to tell your server of your intolerance.
What’s your go-to order from Shake Shack? Please feel free to let me know in the comments below. Sharing is caring!
What From Shake Shack is Gluten-Free?
There isn't a huge selection, but with their gluten free bun, you can enjoy most of their burgers and most of their milkshakes. You can find the full list above.
Are Shake Shack Fries Celiac Safe?
Unfortunately, Shake Shack fries are not safe for celiacs. The fries are cooked in the same oil as some of their gluten containing products such as the Shroom burger and the chicken bites. For this reason, you should avoid them.
What is a Gluten-Free Bun Shake Shack?
Their gluten free bun was launched in 2017 and is available in most stores. It's made using a mixture of gluten free flours.
Does Shake Shack Bun Have Gluten?
Their traditional burger buns do contain gluten, and should be avoided. However, they now have a gluten free bun available, so everyone can enjoy their burgers!