Does Chick Fil A Have Gluten Free Buns?

Today, we’re going to be answering the question: does Chick Fil A have gluten free buns? And taking a look at how to make your own copycat version of gluten-free Chick Fil A at home. Fast food is one of the hardest foods to navigate on a gluten-free diet. This is because the kitchens are usually small, and gluten is usually used a lot. Because of this – we need to be really careful. So, does Chick Fil A have gluten-free buns? Let’s take a closer look.

What Is Chick Fil A?

You’ll likely already know of Chick Fil A if you’re living in the US, or even if you’ve visited the US – it really is that popular. In fact, it’s one of the largest fast-food restaurants. Chick Fil A has been running for almost 60 years and has almost 3,000 restaurants. Whether you’re craving nuggets or wraps, sides…or even their infamous chicken sandwich, Chick Fil A does not disappoint.

https://www.chick-fil-a.com/menu/chick-fil-a-chicken-sandwich

Read more about: Is Chick Fil A Sauce Gluten-Free? (& GF List)

Does Chick Fil A Have Gluten Free Buns?

Absolutely! In fact, their gluten-free buns have been around for a while now – 5 years to be exact. The bun is made using several gluten-free flours and ingredients. However, if you’re purchasing the gluten-free bun, you can expect to pay $1.15 extra. And here’s the catch…you have to build the burger yourself. This is because it comes in its own individual packaging, which minimizes the risk of cross-contact rapidly; particularly if you’re building the burger yourself, away from the kitchen.

Ingredients In Chick Fil A Gluten Free Buns

The ingredients in the Chick Fil A gluten-free buns are difficult to track down! The buns contain the following ingredients:

  • sorghum flour
  • amaranth flour
  • millet flour
  • quinoa flour
  • teff flour
  • molasses
  • raisins

Nutritional Information in Chick Fil A Gluten Free Buns

If you’re wondering what the nutritional information is when it comes to gluten-free buns at Chick Fil A – look no further. Each bun contains the following:

  • Calories: 150
  • Carbs: 35g
  • Fat: 3g
  • Protein: 3g
  • Dietary Fiber: 7g
  • Sugars: 5g
  • Sodium: 420mg

Gluten Free Items At Chick Fil A

If you’re looking for gluten-free items at Chick Fil A, they’re one of the only fast food places that clearly label products that are 100% gluten-free, products that do not contain any gluten ingredients, and products that are not suitable for a gluten-free lifestyle. Check out the full information here.

Gluten Free

If a product is labeled gluten-free, it means there’s no chance of cross-contact within the preparation area, and is completely safe for you to eat or drink. Those products are:

  • gluten-free bun
  • honest kids’ appley juice drink
  • milk
  • cinnamon apple sauce
  • orange juice
  • waffle potato chips

Non Gluten

The following products do not contain any gluten ingredients, but due to the way the food is prepared, it may have come into contact with gluten – and can not be guaranteed as 100% free from gluten.

food:

  • bacon slice
  • hash brown scramble bowl with sausage
  • sausage patty
  • hash browns
  • hash brown scramble bowl with grilled filet
  • grilled chicken filet (with gf bun)
  • grilled nuggets
  • market salad
  • cobb salad
  • spicy southwest salad
  • fruit cup
  • side salad (with no topping)
  • waffle fries
  • kale crunch
  • Greek yogurt parfait (with no topping)

Chick Fil A Gluten Free Recipe

This recipe is inspired by This Vivacious Life, which has an incredible alternative to gluten-free Chick Fil A at home.

Ingredients

The ingredients you’ll need are:

For the chicken:

  • 4 chicken breasts
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup of gf all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon of salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon of pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon of smoked paprika
  • 4 slices of slightly stale GF bread
  • 1/4 teaspoon of salt
  • 2 tablespoons of oil

For the sandwich:

  • 4 GF burger buns
  • 1 teaspoon of butter
  • 8 slices of bacon
  • 4 slices of American cheese
  • 1 cup of shredded lettuce
  • 2 tablespoons of ranch
  • 4 slices of tomato

Recipe

Now all you need to do is:

Step 1: Prepare the Chicken

Whisk two eggs in a bowl. In a separate bowl, make breadcrumbs with bread and add 1/4 teaspoon of salt. In another bowl, add the GF flour, and 1/2 teaspoon of salt, pepper, and paprika. Now heat your oil in a pan. Dredge each chicken breast into the egg first, then flour, then egg, then breadcrumbs. Repeat until all breasts are covered. Fry in the hot oil until your thermometer reads 165. The cooking time will differ depending on how thick your chicken is.

Step 2: Make the Sandwich

Add the lettuce and ranch to a bowl and mix well. Cook your bacon and leave to one side. If you’d like, you can lightly brown your buns in a frying pan, but you can skip that step if you’re hungry! Assemble the sandwich in the order of your choosing – don’t forget the cheese and tomato slice. Enjoy!

Conclusion

I hope this has helped to answer the question: does Chick Fil A have gluten-free buns? Chick Fil A is already well ahead of the curve in gluten-free fast food, and I can’t wait to see what the future brings – hopefully, more gluten-free treats!

What’s your go-to order at Chick Fil A? Let me know in the comments below. Sharing is caring!


Read more about Best Gluten-Free Croissants On The Market

FAQs

Does All Chick-Fil-A Have Gluten Free Buns?

All Chick Fil A stores should have gluten free buns, but like any product, it may not be in stock at the time of ordering. When I visit fast food restaurants, I tend to bring my own gluten free bun for ease. 

Does Wendy's Offer Gluten Free Buns?

Unfortunately, Wendy's do not have gluten free buns. However, you can order the burgers without a bun, or in a lettuce wrap.

Are Chick-Fil-A Milkshakes Gluten-Free?

The chocolate, vanilla and strawberry milkshakes at Chick Fil A are considered safe to consume when following a gluten free diet. 

Do Gluten Free Buns Have Dairy?

Most gluten free buns are also free from dairy, but that is certainly not always the case. It's always best to check the ingredients labels if you're unsure, or ask your server if ordering buns instore.