Last Updated on July 2, 2022
Today’s post is going to be a Domino’s gluten free crust review. Domino’s is one of my favorite fast-food pizza places, but let’s be honest – gluten-free food can be a minefield. Not only is it difficult to find in fast food places, but even when it is available, the taste is often not that good. It’s frustrating, but we all know that gluten-free bread-based items usually have a different texture. Domino’s has a gluten-free crust available – but is it any good? I’m here to tell you my thoughts, along with everything else you need to know about their pizza crust. Let’s take a look.
What Is Domino’s?
I highly doubt that Domino’s needs an introduction. But if you’re unfamiliar with Domino’s, it’s a fast-food pizza chain that has been around for over 60 years. Domino’s is available across the globe! In fact, it has over 17,000 locations globally.
While they’re undoubtedly most famous for their pizzas, they also offer pasta, chicken wings, sub sandwiches, and desserts. Their cookies are absolutely incredible!
What Is Domino’s Gluten Free Crust?
Domino’s gluten-free crust is a pizza base that has been around for a few years now. It is completely free from any gluten and the crust itself is 100% safe. They are currently only available in one size, which is 10″ and unfortunately, are usually more expensive than gluten-containing pizzas. You can find out more about Dominos in your country here.
Ingredients In Domino’s Gluten Free Crust
You may be curious as to what the ingredients are in Domino’s gluten-free crust. The ingredients are:
- white rice flour
- brown rice flour
- potato flour
- olive oil
…as you can see, not a trace of gluten in sight! What is also great about this pizza crust is that it’s dairy-free too! This means that it’s suitable for a range of dietary lifestyles.
Nutritional Information Of Domino’s Gluten Free Crust
One of the most popular pizza choices at Domino’s is their pepperoni pizza. For this reason, I thought I’d share the nutritional value of their pepperoni pizza, on a gluten-free crust. Each 10″ pizza contains the following:
- Calories: 990
- Fat: 48g
- Carbs: 108g
- Dietary Fiber: 6g
- Sugar: 12g
- Protein: 30g
- Sodium: 2340mg
It’s worth noting that takeaway pizza is not healthy, as you can probably see! So be sure to eat Domino’s in moderation, as part of a healthy, balanced diet.
Is Domino’s Gluten Free Crust Safe For Celiacs?
While the crust itself is completely safe and free from any gluten, as soon as it’s opened in the kitchen – it becomes a bit of a cross-contamination nightmare! There is so much gluten in pizza kitchens, and while they’ll try their best to keep your order as safe as possible, there’s a high chance it’ll come into contact with gluten. For this reason, celiacs are advised not to eat pizza at Domino’s.
Domino’s Gluten Free Crust Review: How Does It Taste?
The first thing that’s worth mentioning is that it’s relatively small – and expensive! It’s a thin-crust pizza (which is my favorite anyway). And I have to say, it doesn’t look all too different from their standard pizzas…bar the size! The crust seems to go much crispier around the edges than gluten pizza, but it is slightly chewier and doughier in the middle. The flavor is quite sweet, but not overpowering. With sauce, cheese, and other toppings – I really enjoyed it.
Gluten Free Items At Domino’s
So what items can you have at Domino’s beside the crust itself? Can you have sides? What toppings are available? Let’s take a look.
Pizza Crust Sauces:
- garlic parmesan
- hearty marinara
- robust tomato sauce
- BBQ sauce
- Italian sausage
- grilled chicken
- Philly steak
- American cheese
- feta cheese
- cheddar cheese
- provolone cheese
- parmesan-asiago cheese
- banana peppers
- olives (black/green)
- green peppers
- green chili peppers
- jalapeno peppers
- hot sauce
- sweet mango habanero
- plain chicken wings
- barbecue chicken wings
- hot chicken wings
- sweet mango habanero chicken wings
- chicken apple pecan salad
- roasted red peppers
- classic garden salad
There’s also a range of dipping cups, sauces, dressings, blends, and oils to choose from. From ranch to wing sauce to garlic oil to marinara, to blue cheese – there’s a huge selection to choose from when it comes to extras.
So there’s my Domino’s gluten-free crust review. If the price was more reflective of their standard pizzas, or they offered more sizing options – I could be more in favor of this pizza crust. If we’re going on taste alone, it is tasty and I would recommend it.
What’s your go-to order when eating at Domino’s? Please feel free to let me know in the comments below. Sharing is caring!
Is the Gluten Free Crust Good at Domino’s?
I really enjoyed the crust. For taste alone, it is delicious and makes for a nice treat. It's slightly sweet, thin and crunchy. However, due to the price and the size, it's not exactly the best value for money. It's also worth mentioning that there are mixed reviews on this crust in the gluten free community.
What is Domino’s Gluten Free Crust Made Out of?
The ingredients in the gluten and dairy free crust from Domino's are: white rice flour, brown rice flour, potato flour, water, olive oil, yeast and honey and salt. Unfortunately, because of the addition of honey, this crust is not suitable for a vegan lifestyle.
What Does Gluten Free Pizza Crust Taste Like?
With thin, crispy edges, with a doughier center, it is very enjoyable. It has a better taste than some gluten free crusts I've tried in the past. It's also slightly sweet, but tasty.
Is Domino’s Gluten Free Pizza Low Carb?
Absolutely not. Gluten free pizza is full of carbs, just as standard pizza is. The gluten may be missing - but the carbs definitely are not!