Does Fried Rice Have Gluten? (& GF Recipe)

Today, we’re going to be answering the question: does fried rice have gluten? And taking a look at why your fried rice may not be gluten-free, as well as how to make your very own fried rice at home. As you probably already know, rice is a naturally gluten-free grain, so you would think that fried rice would always be gluten-free too? Unfortunately, that is not often the case. Let’s take a look at all things fried rice.

What Is Fried Rice?

Fried rice is simply rice that has been stir-fried in a wok or frying pan. While rice is the main ingredient, other ingredients are often added to make the fried rice more flavorful, such as eggs, meat, seafood, and vegetables. (My personal favorite is egg-fried rice!). Along with the rice, meat, and veg, soy sauce is often added too.

If you’re from the US or the UK, you’ll likely have seen fried rice being served in Chinese and Japanese restaurants – fried rice is a staple of Chinese takeout for me.

What Is Fried Rice

Read more about: Does Arborio Rice Have Gluten? (& GF Risotto Recipe)

Ingredients In Fried Rice

The ingredients in fried rice can vary depending on which recipe you follow. However, the main ingredients are usually the same. For example, Delish’s Perfect Fried Rice recipe contains the following:

  • sesame oil
  • eggs
  • salt
  • carrots
  • spring onion
  • garlic
  • ginger
  • rice
  • peas
  • soy sauce

Nutritional Information Of Fried Rice

If you’re wondering what the nutritional value is of fried rice – look no further. Each cup of fried rice (around 140g) contains the following:

  • Calories: 228
  • Fat: 3.2g
  • Cholesterol: 32mg
  • Sodium: 555mg
  • Carbs: 43g
  • Dietary Fiber: 1.5g
  • Sugar: 0.6g
  • Protein: 7g

Does Fried Rice Have Gluten?

From looking at the ingredients, you’ll probably think that fried rice is gluten-free. However, that is usually not the case. Soy sauce is used in almost every fried rice recipe; and unfortunately for us, soy sauce is not gluten-free. Soy sauce usually uses wheat as one of its main ingredients. Because of this, fried rice should be avoided when following a gluten-free diet.

If you’re dining out and fried rice is on the menu, there is a strong chance it will contain gluten, or be prepared in an environment where gluten is present. If you’re unsure, it’s always best to check with your server before ordering.

However, fried rice can absolutely be made gluten-free. If you’re making fried rice at home, simply swap out any soy sauce for tamari sauce (a naturally gluten-free soy sauce), or opt for specifically gluten-free soy sauces.

Gluten Free Fried Rice Recipe

You may be looking to make your own gluten-free fried rice. If so – look no further! What I love about making fried rice at home is that you can add anything you’re craving that day. You can use whichever meat, seafood, vegetables, or eggs that you have available; as long as you’re following the rice and flavorings in the recipe…the rest is up to you!

The recipe we’re looking at is inspired by Gluten Free Cuppa Tea and is my go-to recipe when making fried rice.

Ingredients

The ingredients you’ll need for this recipe are:

  • 200g rice
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 chicken breast
  • 1 cup of peas (frozen or fresh)
  • 3 tablespoons of garlic oil
  • 1 tablespoon of sesame oil
  • 2 tablespoons of tamari sauce or gluten-free soy sauce
  • 1 cup of chopped spring onions
  • chili flakes (to garnish)

Recipe

Now all you need to do is:

Step 1: Cook Your Rice

It’s best to cook your rice the night before and leave it in the refrigerator overnight. However, as long as it’s cold – that’s fine. Mix your GF soy sauce into the rice.

Step 2: Into The Wok

Fry your spring onion for no longer than a minute in your garlic oil, over medium heat. Then add your chicken (ensure it’s thinly sliced). Continually stir for a few minutes until the chicken is cooked. Add 2 beaten eggs and flip over when the egg starts to fry. Once the other side is cooked, break the mixture up and add your cold rice, peas, and sesame oil. Keep continually stirring, you don’t want the rice to burn or stick. Once the rice looks slightly crispy, your dish is complete.

Step 3: Serve

Remove from heat and add a sprinkling of spring onions over the top, as well as a dash of chili flakes. Plate up, and your dish is ready to serve!


Learn more about: Are Knorr Rice Sides Gluten-Free?

Conclusion

I hope this article has helped to answer the question: does fried rice have gluten? While fried rice in Asian cuisine usually contains gluten, it’s super easy to make your own gluten-free fried rice at home. And always be sure to check your local grocery stores, there are sometimes premade options available too.

Do you know of any tips or tricks when it comes to making gluten-free fried rice? If so, please feel free to let me know in the comments below.

FAQs

Does Chinese Rice Have Gluten?

Chinese fried rice will almost always contain gluten, as soy sauce is one of the main ingredients in this dish. However, if you're unsure, check with your server! I have eaten in gluten free Chinese restaurants before...yes, they do exist! 

Can Celiacs Eat Fried Rice?

If dining out, it's unlikely that celiacs or gluten intolerants can eat fried rice. However, if you're making fried rice from scratch - it can easily be adapted to be free from any gluten.

What Kind of Rice is Gluten Free?

In its most natural form, all varieties of rice are gluten free. White, brown, wild, arborio. Long or short grain. Whichever rice you're craving...it's all naturally gluten free. In fact, it's one of the foods my dietician told me to add to my diet upon receiving my diagnosis.

Why is Fried Rice Not Gluten-Free?

Fried rice is often not gluten free because the sauce it's cooked in, is soy sauce. Soy sauce contains wheat as a main ingredient, and is not gluten free.