Are Knorr Rice Sides Gluten Free?

Last Updated on January 11, 2022

Today, we’re going to be answering the question: are Knorr rice sides gluten-free? And looking at gluten-free alternatives to these popular side dishes. Knorr is an extremely popular brand which originated in Germany – but is now seen worldwide! The food products we’ll be looking at today are from the US and it’s important to note that ingredients may vary depending on which country you live in – so always be sure to check the ingredients label.

Are Knorr Rice Sides Gluten-Free?

Despite the name being rice sides, unfortunately, none of the Knorr rice sides are gluten-free. Although rice is the main ingredient, the entire product range is made from a blend of rice and pasta. Pasta is one of the foods that are not gluten-free. Pasta should not be consumed on a gluten-free diet unless the pasta is labeled gluten-free. Therefore, none of the rice sides are suitable for a gluten-free lifestyle.

Is Knorr Chicken Rice Gluten-Free?

The Chicken Rice side from Knorr is one of the most popular side dishes. Let’s take a look at the ingredients:

  • Enriched Parboiled Long Grain Rice
  • Enriched Vermicelli (Wheat and Durum Flour)
  • Whey (Milk)
  • Corn Starch
  • Vegetables (Carrots and Onions)
  • Hydrolyzed Soy Protein
  • Salt
  • Chicken Fat (with Rosemary)
  • Cream Cheese
  • Spices
  • Potassium Chloride
  • Yeast Extract
  • Chicken Broth
  • Disodium Guanylate
  • Disodium Inosinate
  • Natural Flavor (Milk)
  • Sugar
  • Nonfat Milk
  • Turmeric Extract

As you can see from the ingredients, wheat is an ingredient – therefore, this product is not gluten-free. Knorr products that are gluten-free will carry a gluten-free label to make you aware of their suitability.

Knorr Chicken Rice

Knorr Gluten-Free Products

Although the Knorr rice sides aren’t gluten-free, there are plenty of other gluten-free products on offer from Knorr. In fact, most of their Selects range is gluten-free. But be careful, as not all of the range is gluten-free.

The gluten-free products in the Selects range are:

They carry a gluten-free label on the front of the packaging, which makes it easy to spot which of their products are gluten-free.

Many of their natural soups are gluten-free, and all of their stock cubes are gluten-free. This means that a lot of Knorr products are suitable for us! But always check ingredients labels, as ingredients are subject to change at any time.

Knorr even has a section for all of their gluten-free recipes (using their products, of course), which is definitely worth checking out for some gluten-free inspiration.

Gluten-Free Rice Sides

Although the Knorr rice sides are not gluten-free – there are plenty of other gluten-free rice sides on offer for us. Let’s take a look at some of the most popular options available.

Find more information about Is Uncle Ben’s Ready Rice Gluten Free? Gluten Free Instant Rice

Uncle Ben’s Ready Rice

Uncle Ben’s is probably the most iconic rice side. And good news – many of their flavors are suitable for a gluten-free diet. Always check the label, but at the time of writing this article, the following flavors contain no gluten ingredients:

  • Mexican Style Rice
  • Coconut Chili and Lemongrass Rice
  • Golden Vegetable Rice
  • Indian Style Spiced Rice
  • Lightly Flavored Garlic Rice
  • Quinoa and Beans Tex-Mex Style Rice
  • Savory Chicken Flavor Rice
  • Special Fried Rice
  • Sriracha Rice
  • Korean Barbeque Rice
  • Peri-Peri Rice
  • Teriyaki Rice
  • Tomato and Basil Rice
  • Vegetable Pilau Rice

It’s worth mentioning that these products do not display a gluten-free claim. To clarify, this means that products do not go through specific testing for any traces of gluten. So although there are no gluten ingredients in the product itself, there is definitely a risk of cross-contact. Cross contact means that when products that don’t contain gluten are prepared, packaged, and transported in the same areas as gluten-containing foods. This could result in the final product containing traces of gluten. However, celiacs and gluten intolerants can enjoy most flavors with no problems.

Minute Rice

Minute is a US brand that carries a gluten-free label on all of the following flavors:

  • Brown Rice (Instant)
  • Jasmine Rice (Instant)
  • Rice & Quinoa (Instant)
  • Instant Premium Rice
  • Instant White Rice
  • Cilantro & Lime Jasmine Rice (Ready to Serve)
  • Garlic & Olive Oil Jasmine Rice (Ready to Serve)
  • Southwest Pinto Beans and Rice (Ready to Serve)
  • Brown Rice (Ready to Serve)
  • Basmati Rice (Ready to Serve)
  • Brown Rice & Quinoa (Ready to Serve)
  • Brown & Wild Rice (Ready to Serve)
  • Chicken Flavored Rice (Ready to Serve)
  • Jasmine Rice (Ready to Serve)
  • Multi-Grain Medley (Ready to Serve)
  • Brown Organic Rice (Ready to Serve)
  • Organic Red Quinoa & Brown Rice with Garlic (Ready to Serve)
  • Organic White Rice (Ready to Serve)
  • White Rice (Ready to Serve)
  • White & Red Quinoa (Ready to Serve)
  • Yellow Rice (Ready to Serve)

The main ingredients you’ll find in Minute rice are water, parboiled rice, sunflower oil, sea salt, and sunflower lecithin. Not a trace of gluten in these.

FullGreen Rice

It’s not a traditional rice side as it’s made from foods such as sweet potato and cauliflower, instead of traditional rice. The gluten-free flavors available are:

  • Cauliflower Rice
  • Sweet Potato Rice
  • Broccoli and Cauliflower Rice
  • Cauliflower Rice with Tomato, Garlic, and Herbs
  • Buffalo Ranch Rice (Riced Ideas)
  • Portobello Mushroom Rice (Riced Ideas)
  • Sundried Tomato Rice (Riced Ideas)

What’s great about FullGreen is that the products are good for you too!

Learn more about Does Spaghetti Sauce Have Gluten? Top GF Brands


I hope this article has helped to answer the question of whether Knorr Rice Sides are gluten-free and given a range of gluten-free alternatives to choose from if you’re craving rice. Rice is almost always gluten-free and a great replacement for your diet when replacing wheat. It’s healthy, great for carbohydrates, and a perfect addition to almost any meal.

What’s your favorite style of rice? Do you have any other gluten-free rice sides that didn’t make the list that you think are worth mentioning? If so, please feel free to let me know any answers in the comments below. Sharing is caring!