Does Arborio Rice Have Gluten? (& GF Risotto Recipe)

Last Updated on April 21, 2022

Today, we’re going to be answering the question: does Arborio rice have gluten? And taking a look at other rice grains, and whether they’re gluten free. We’ll also be looking at how to make gluten risotto – which is absolutely one of my favorite dishes. But first, what is Arborio rice? And what dishes do we use it in? Let’s see.

What Is Arborio Rice?

You may know Arborio rice by its more common name – risotto rice, or simply just risotto (I called it that for the longest time). This particular grain of rice comes from Italy and it’s a short-grain variety. It’s named after the town of Arborio. Arborio rice is different from the traditional rice we’re used to seeing because it has a higher starch content. So when cooked, the rice stays quite chewy but is incredibly creamy when cooked correctly.

What Is Arborio Rice

Learn more about: Does Risotto Have Gluten?

Ingredients In Arborio Rice

Arborio rice does not contain any other ingredients besides the rice itself. However, if you buy premade risotto or Arborio rice with any additional ingredients or flavors, this will of course be different – so always be sure to check the ingredients labels.

Arborio Rice Nutrition Information

One cup of Arborio rice has the following nutritional value:

  • Calories: 242
  • Fat: 0.4g
  • Saturated Fat: 0.1g
  • Cholesterol: 0mg
  • Sodium: 0mg
  • Potassium: 48.4mg
  • Carbohydrate: 53g
  • Protein: 4.4g

Is Arborio Rice Gluten Free?

Yes! Arborio rice is completely gluten-free – and makes for a creamy, delicious dinner of risotto. As rice is a naturally gluten-free grain, Arborio rice is no exception. You can most definitely eat Arborio rice when following a gluten-free diet.

Substitute For Risotto Rice

While Arborio rice is the best choice when it comes to making risotto, there are plenty of other gluten free grains that you can use. While they may not have quite the same texture, you can still make a creamy and hearty risotto.

  • Basmati Rice
  • Brown Rice
  • Carnaroli Rice (this is my go-to variety when I don’t have Arborio)
  • Farro
  • Quinoa
  • Oats (ensure you’re using gluten free oats)

Gluten Free Risotto Recipe

There are so many gluten free risotto recipes available. From chicken to cheese, to mushroom, to butternut squash and pancetta – the possibilities are endless. However, we’re going to be looking at my favorite today – pea and asparagus risotto. This is inspired by a recipe by The Spruce Eats.


The ingredients you’ll need for this recipe are:

  • 4 to 5 cups of vegetable or chicken broth (ensure it’s gluten-free)
  • 4 teaspoons of olive oil
  • 1 pound of asparagus (sliced)
  • 1 diced yellow onion
  • 2 cloves of minced garlic
  • 1 cup of Arborio rice
  • 1/2 cup of dry white wine
  • 1 cup of spring peas
  • 1/2 cup of Parmesan cheese
  • Parmesan shavings
  • 2 tablespoons of chopped parsley
  • Salt
  • Black pepper


  1. Heat the broth until simmering. Leave it to simmer while you make the risotto
  2. Using a pan, heat 1 teaspoon of oil. Add the asparagus and cook until soft (this should take around 6-7 minutes)

  3. In a separate pan, heat 1 tablespoon of oil over medium heat. Cook the onions until soft. This should only take a few minutes. Once cooked, add the garlic and cook for a further minute

  4. Add the rice to the onion pan and mix well. Once the rice starts to “pop”, reduce the heat and add the wine. Cook until all the wine has been absorbed by the rice
  5. Using just one cup of broth, pour over the rice. Mix until combined. You’ll need to stir it frequently while it’s cooking (it should be slightly bubbling). Once there isn’t much liquid left, add another cup of broth
  6. Repeat step 5 using your cups of broth until the risotto has thickened. This usually takes around 25-30 minutes
  7. Now add your cooked asparagus
  8. Once all broth has been used, add the Parmesan and season with pepper and salt
  9. Your risotto is ready to serve! You can garnish with more Parmesan cheese if you wish

Read more about: Does Jasmine Rice Have Gluten?


I hope this article has helped to answer the question: does Arborio rice have gluten? And helped you learn how to make your own gluten free risotto. It’s worth noting that risotto is known for being notoriously difficult to get right – but practice makes perfect! Risotto is one of my favorite dishes, so I couldn’t be happier that it’s gluten-free.

Do you know of any other gluten-free risotto recipes? If so, please feel free to let me know in the comments below. I’d love to try some new pairings with my risotto. Sharing is caring!


Can Celiacs Eat Rice?

Yes! Celiacs can most definitely eat rice. In fact, when you receive your diagnosis, rice is one of the grains they tell you to add to your diet if you're not already consuming it. It's full of carbohydrates, which you may now be lacking due to not eating pasta or bread. However, it's always best to enjoy rice in moderation, as with most foods.

What Rice is Gluten Free?

Good news - all rice in it's most natural form is gluten free. Whether it's long grain, short grain, brown rice, white rice, wild rice. Despite it's name, even glutinous rice (sticky rice) is gluten free! However, if you're buying rice that has additional flavorings or ingredients, always be sure to check the label - as they may contain gluten.

Is Risotto Gluten Free?

While it's super easy to keep risotto gluten free (as the basis of the dish is Arborio rice), some risottos are not gluten free. This is because they may be cooked in a broth that contains gluten or have additional gluten ingredients. While risotto can be gluten free, that is not always the case. If you're buying from a store, or ordering from a restaurant - always check with your server. Another instance where you may want to be careful is when you're buying from bulk bins. While rice is naturally gluten free, it can be a victim of cross contact if it's been near gluten containing grains, such as wheat or barley. This is why it's always best to buy rice pre-packaged.