Which Girl Scout Cookies Are Gluten Free?

Last Updated on January 24, 2022

Today, we’re going to be answering the question: which Girl Scout cookies are gluten-free? And taking a look at some of the tasty flavors they have available to enjoy when following a gluten-free lifestyle. It’s that time of year when Girl Scout cookies are available, and every year we have the same well-loved favorites, as well as some delicious new ones.

Over recent years, they are catering to a range of dietary lifestyles. We’ll be looking at gluten-free options, as well as vegan, kosher and halal. But first, let’s take a look at what Girl Scout cookies actually are.

What Are Girl Scout Cookies?

If you’re from the US, you’ll probably already be familiar with what Girl Scout cookies are. However, if you’re outside the US – you may have no idea! Girl Scout cookies are cookies that are sold in the US to help raise money to keep the Girl Scouts running.

This has been going on for over 100 years! With over a million girls taking part to help. The selling season usually runs from January to April – so now is the time to get your Girl Scout cookies.

Are There Any Gluten-Free Girl Scout Cookies?

If you’re a Girl Scout cookie lover – I have some good news! They absolutely have some gluten-free varieties for us to enjoy. While there aren’t too many options available for us at the moment, I think in recent years, those numbers will only grow.

I think it’s great that Girl Scout cookies are adapting their cookies to include everyone.

Gluten-Free Girl Scout Cookies

Let’s take a look at the GF Girl Scout cookies we can enjoy when following a gluten-free diet.

Caramel Chocolate Chip Cookie

The first gluten-free Girl Scout cookie is the Caramel Chocolate Chip cookie. Rich caramel, a hint of salt, and delicious chocolate chips – what more could you ask for from a cookie? The ingredients in these cookies are:

  • gluten-free oat flour
  • brown sugar
  • semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • butter
  • eggs
  • sunflower oil
  • tapioca starch
  • invert sugar
  • sweetened condensed milk
  • molasses
  • natural flavor
  • xanthan gum
  • sea salt
  • cream of tartar
  • baking soda
  • baking powder

As you can see, the list is quite extensive, but there’s no gluten in sight! The only allergens for these cookies is milk and eggs. They’re chewy and utterly delicious!

Toffee-tastic Cookie

The next cookie is the Toffee-tastic. Another rich cookie, but this time it’s buttery with sweet pieces of crunchy toffee – how amazing do they sound? They contain the following ingredients.

  • rice flour
  • tapioca starch
  • sugar
  • butter
  • palm oil
  • brown rice flour
  • butter toffee bits
  • invert sugar
  • salt
  • soy lecithin
  • xanthan gum
  • baking soda

The only allergens in this cookie are milk and soy. However, this one does come with some news I would like the reassure you about. The cookies are made in a shared facility with peanuts, tree nuts, wheat, and eggs. Although the area isn’t dedicated, the products are certified gluten-free (which means they’re as safe as can possibly be). They meet strict guidelines by the FDA, and these are completely safe to enjoy on a gluten-free diet.

While these are the only options available this year, we can expect the gluten-free range to keep growing with time – and I can’t wait! You can find out more about all the flavors of Girl Scout cookies here.

Girl Scout Cookies To Suit Other Dietary Lifestyles

Living with any dietary lifestyle can be quite difficult, but Girl Scout try to cater to all. Let’s take a look at what they offer for other dietary requirements besides gluten.

Kosher and Halal

We have some good news. If you follow either of these lifestyles, every single flavor is Kosher and Halal certified – meaning you get to enjoy them all! The flavors available are:

  • Adventurefuls
  • Caramel Chocolate Chip
  • Caramel Delites
  • Peanut Butter Sandwich
  • Girl Scout S’mores
  • Lemonades
  • Lemon-Ups
  • Peanut Butter Patties
  • Shortbread
  • Thin Mints
  • Toast-Yay
  • Toffee-tastic


Veganism is a lifestyle choice that many people are choosing to opt for, especially in recent years. And of course, Girl Scout cookies have a range of vegan options! Their vegan options include:

  • Thin Mints
  • Peanut Butter Patties
  • Lemonades
  • Toast-Yay

Are Thin Mints Gluten-Free?

Thin Mints are one of the most popular flavors of Girl Scout cookies. They contain the following ingredients:

  • enriched wheat flour
  • sugar
  • vegetable oil
  • cocoa
  • caramel color
  • cocoa processed with alkali
  • invert sugar
  • leavening
  • cornstarch
  • salt
  • soy lecithin
  • natural and artificial flavors
  • oil of peppermint

As you can see from the very first ingredient – Thin Mints are not gluten-free, as they contain wheat flour.

Gluten-Free Thin Mints Recipe

However Gluten-Free on a Shoestring has a great gluten-free recipe that you may like to try if you’re missing these delicious cookies. The ingredients you’ll need for this recipe are:

  • butter (unsalted)
  • chopped semi-sweet chocolate
  • pure vanilla extract
  • pure peppermint extract
  • gluten-free all-purpose flour
  • xanthan gum
  • natural cocoa powder
  • baking soda
  • kosher salt
  • granulated sugar
  • water
  • dark chocolate

It takes just over 20 minutes (including baking time!) to make these, and the recipe yields an incredible 30 cookies! They come extremely high-rated and will definitely fulfill your Thin Mints craving.


I hope this article has helped to answer the question: which Girl Scout cookies are gluten-free? And which cookies are available to suit other dietary restrictions too. The ongoing pandemic has affected the sales of Girl Scout cookies massively, so there is no better time to help them out than now. And the best part is? Not only are you helping fund Girl Scouts, but getting to enjoy delicious cookies too!

Which gluten-free cookie are you hoping for next? Do you have any copycat gluten-free recipes you’re itching to share of traditional Girl Scout cookies? If so, please feel free to leave any answers in the comments below. Sharing is caring!

Read more about: Are Andes Mints Gluten-Free? (&; GF Andes Mints Recipes)