Is McCormick Chili Powder Gluten-Free?

Last Updated on January 24, 2022

Today, we’re going to be answering the question: is McCormick chili powder gluten-free? And taking a look at gluten-free chili mix and seasonings to enjoy on a gluten-free diet. Chili powder is an essential item in any pantry. It adds a real kick to your everyday foods and is full of flavor to get the most out of every meal. But is it usually gluten-free? Let’s take a closer look.

Is Chili Powder Gluten-Free?

While you’ll probably be thinking that chili powder is gluten-free; unfortunately, sometimes it isn’t. Chili powder is one of the spices that you have to keep a watchful eye out for. Wheat is often added to spices like chili powder to prevent as much clumping as possible.

However, every brand is different. So it’s always worth checking the ingredients labels, as there are many chili powders we are able to enjoy. We’ll be taking a look at the best alternatives later in this article.

Is McCormick Chili Powder Gluten-Free?

The perfect blend of spices, herbs, and delicious peppers – but is it gluten-free? Let’s take a look at the ingredients and see if we can find some clarity. The ingredients are:

  • Chili Pepper
  • Spices
  • Salt
  • Silicon Dioxide
  • Garlic

As you can see, the list of ingredients is quite vague. However, they do have a question and answer section on their chili powder page. They confirm that this product does not contain any gluten ingredients. They state that if the product contained any form of gluten (wheat, barley, rye, etc.), it would be declared on the label.

The product does not make any gluten-free claims though. This means that the final product isn’t tested for gluten. Therefore, cross-contact may be a risk. Cross contact is when a non-gluten-containing product comes into contact with gluten due to circumstances such as manufacturing and transportation.

It is widely believed that this product is safe for gluten-free consumption, and can be enjoyed on a gluten-free diet. In fact, it’s one of the top-rated chili powders available!

Where To Buy Gluten-Free Chili Powder

You will likely be able to find the McCormick chili powder in your local grocery store. It’s a widely known brand and is very easily accessible.

However, if you’re looking for other brands of gluten-free chili powder, take a look at some of our top suggestions.

  • Durkee
  • The Spice Hunter
  • Seasoned Pioneers

All of these brands have a huge selection of gluten-free herbs and spices – not just chili powder. However, some of them aren’t exclusively gluten-free brands, so always be sure to check the ingredients label of any product you’re purchasing.

Are Other McCormick Spices Gluten-Free?

If you’re a McCormick fan, we have some good news. Most of their spices (and some of their seasonings) are gluten-free. And if not, they’re incredibly transparent on their labeling, so you’ll easily be able to navigate which products contain gluten, and which don’t.

They’re even talking about expanding their gluten-free spices and seasoning ranges even further – so keep an eye out for that in the coming months!

Is McCormick Chili Seasoning Gluten-Free?

Let’s take a look at the ingredients in the McCormick Chili Seasoning Mix. The ingredients are:

  • Chili Pepper
  • Other Spices (Including Cumin)
  • Enriched Wheat Flour
  • Onion
  • Salt
  • Garlic

As you can see from the ingredients, the original McCormick Chili Seasoning is not gluten-free, as it contains wheat. This is not safe to consume when following a gluten-free lifestyle.

Where To Buy McCormick Gluten-Free Chili Seasoning

However, it’s not all bad news, as McCormick has a certified gluten-free chili seasoning mix available! It has gluten-free very clearly on the packaging, so it’s distinguishable from their original chili seasoning. The ingredients in their gluten-free version are:

  • Spices and Herbs (Including Chili Pepper, Oregano and Cumin)
  • Onion
  • Salt
  • Garlic
  • Modified Corn Starch
  • Green Bell Pepper

McCormick has a handy feature on their page, which enables you to find where your local stockist of this mix is, and you can just enter your city or zip code. This is the easiest way to find out where to buy this product from.

Learn more about: What Spices Have Gluten? and Where To Buy GF Spices

Gluten-Free Chili Mix Recipe

Chili is one of the easiest meals to prepare. Not only does it not need many ingredients at all (especially when using the gluten-free chili mix), it’s ready to eat in around 15 minutes! Let’s take a look at this super easy recipe.

The ingredients you’ll need are:

  • 1lb of lean ground beef
  • 1 packet of McCormick GF Chili Mix
  • 1 can of diced tomatoes
  • 1 can of kidney beans

And it’s ready in just 2 simple steps. All you need to do is:

  1. Brown the meat in a large pan, over medium to high heat. Once brown, be sure to drain the fat
  2. Stir in the chili mix, tomatoes, and beans. Bring to the boil and then cover with the pan lid. Simmer for around 10 minutes on low heat, stirring every so often
  3. Serve with cheese, sour cream, or whichever toppings you desire!

How easy is that? It’s one of the cheat meals I make on days when I don’t have much time. It’s nutritious, quick, and doesn’t need many ingredients at all – what more could you ask for from a recipe? Especially a gluten-free one!



I hope this article has helped to answer the question is McCormick chili powder gluten-free? And also helped you to navigate the best places to buy gluten-free spices and seasonings. It’s much easier than you think! As long as you’re avoiding places that have bulk bins (they have a very high risk of cross-contact) and checking labels thoroughly – your pantry will be stocked in no time!

Do you know of any other chili powders which are gluten-free? If so, please feel free to let me know in the comments below.

Read more about: Is Manwich Gluten-Free? (& GF Sloppy Joe Recipe)