Are Goldfish Crackers Gluten-Free? ( & GF Options)

Last Updated on January 24, 2022

Today, we’re going to be answering the question: are Goldfish crackers gluten-free? And taking a look at other gluten-free alternatives you may enjoy. They’re crunchy, come in a huge selection of flavors – and are a much-loved snack in the US, but are they gluten-free? First, let’s take a look at what they are, and the ingredients they contain.

What Are Goldfish Crackers?

Goldfish are crackers in the shape of a fish. They are made me Pepperidge Farm. The original flavor is cheesy, crunchy, and yummy! They’ve been around since the late 1950s and almost half of the crackers have an indent of a fisheye and smile.

It would take a significant amount of time to list all the flavors of Goldfish crackers, but here’s just a few. The flavors include:

  • Original
  • Cheddar
  • Pizza
  • Ranch
  • Salt and Vinegar
  • BBQ
  • Sour Cream and Onion
  • Vanilla Cupcake
  • Jalapeno Popper
  • Sesame
  • Cheeseburger

They also come in different styles such as puffs.

What Are Goldfish Crackers

Read more about: Do Ritz Crackers Have Gluten? Our Favorite Ritz Alternatives!

Ingredients In Goldfish Crackers

The ingredients in the Cheddar Goldfish crackers are:

  • Enriched Wheat Flour
  • Cheddar Cheese
  • Canola and/or Sunflower Oil
  • Salt
  • Yeast
  • Sugar
  • Autolyzed Yeast
  • Baking Soda
  • Monocalcium Phosphate
  • Paprika
  • Spices
  • Celery
  • Onion Powder

The allergens for this product are wheat and milk.

Does Goldfish Have Gluten Ingredients?

As you can probably see from the ingredients list, Goldfish crackers do contain gluten ingredients. Wheat is a key ingredient in all of the Goldfish crackers range. Whether it’s the sweet cookie Goldfish, the original Goldfish crackers, or the Flavor Blast edition – none of these products are suitable for a gluten-free lifestyle.

When following a gluten-free diet, wheat is one of the key foods to avoid (and one of the hardest to avoid!). Other cereal grains to avoid are rye, barley, and oats (unless gluten-free oats).

Do They Make Gluten-Free Goldfish?

Unfortunately, gluten-free Pepperidge Farm Goldfish do not exist. They do not seem as though they intend to create a gluten-free alternative any time soon, which is really frustrating. However, there are plenty of alternatives to try.

Gluten-Free Alternatives

They may not be in the shape of a fish, but if you’re looking for that Goldfish cracker crunch, they are plenty of suggestions you may like to buy! Or you can even try making your own. We’ll be taking a look at store-bought gluten-free Goldfish crackers, and then a recipe on how to make your own.

Store-Bought Alternatives

While our alternatives may not look the same as Goldfish crackers, the taste and texture are very much the same. Let’s take a look at our top picks


Schar is one of the best gluten-free brands available, and they do Goldfish-inspired crackers. While they don’t come in a range of flavors, they are very close in terms of taste. And not only are these tasty treats gluten-free, but they’re also wheat-free, vegan, vegetarian, lactose-free, egg-free, milk-free, and preservative-free.

They have a sprinkling of sea salt, and they’re perfect on their own as a snack, or even with cheese!


If you’re looking for a brand of snack crackers that come in a few different flavors, Nairn may be the best choice for you. They have a wide range of gluten-free crackers and cereal – and their Snackers range is very close to Goldfish crackers. These snacks come in the following flavors:

  • Cheese Snackers
  • Smoked Paprika Snackers
  • Sea Salt and Balsamic Vinegar Snackers

It’s worth noting that although they are made using gluten-free oats, many gluten intolerant individuals also suffer from problems with  GF oats (I know I do!), so if you’re one of those people – it may be best to avoid this brand.

Store Brands

It’s definitely worth checking your local grocery store, as my own store brands will have their own versions of gluten-free crackers. In the UK, there’s a store called Asda and they have the most incredible ASDA Free From Cheese Crackers. If you live in the UK, they’re certainly worth keeping out a watchful eye for! Especially as they cost just £1.60.

Make Your Own Gluten-Free Goldfish Crackers

Fearless Dining has an amazing Gluten-Free Goldfish Crackers recipe. To make these, you’ll need the following ingredients.

  • 1 cup of gluten-free flour blend
  • 1/2 teaspoon of salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon of garlic powder
  • 8oz shredded cheddar cheese
  • 4 tablespoons of cold butter

To prepare and bake this snack in under 30 minutes, just complete the following steps.

  1. Preheat oven 350F
  2. Place all of the ingredients into a food processor and pulse until well combined
  3. Remove the now dough-like ball and place it onto parchment paper
  4. Roll the dough to about 1/4 inch thickness (can be slightly thinner). Use a cookie cutter (even a goldfish shape) to press into the dough, to make your crackers
  5. Spread them out onto the parchment paper until all the dough is gone
  6. If you have any leftover dough after filling your parchment paper, wrap it in cling film and keep it in the refrigerator until the first batch are complete
  7. Sprinkle the cookie-cutter shapes with salt
  8. Place the paper onto a cookie sheet. Bake for around 8-10 minutes
  9. Leave to cool and repeat the process with the leftover dough!

This recipe is perfect for recreating Goldfish crackers, particularly if you’re looking to make your little ones feel included at lunchtime.


I hope this article has helped to answer the question: are Goldfish crackers gluten-free? And give you more options for gluten-free Goldfish crackers. While there may not be any exact alternatives, the best way to get the most authentic GF Goldfish crackers is to make your own – and we can hope that in the future, they’ll make a gluten-free option.

Do you have any other gluten-free suggestions to try? Or have your own GF recipe? If so, please feel free to let me know in the comments below. Sharing is caring!

Read more about: Do Saltine Crackers Have Gluten? (& GF Recipe)