Last Updated on December 8, 2022
Today, we’re going to be answering the question: does candy corn have gluten? And taking a which candy you can enjoy this fall and Halloween. At this time of the year, candy corn is a staple in most households, and if you’ve ever tried it, you’ll understand why! However, many candies can contain gluten. This due to reasons such as flavoring, or even the way that the product is prepared. But does candy corn have gluten? Let’s take a closer look.
What Is Candy Corn?
If you’re from the US, you’ll likely already know what candy corn, as it’s incredibly popular in the US around this time of year. In fact, it’s the staple candy of Halloween. Candy corn is shaped like a pyramid and usually has three different colors. It’s quite waxy in texture and has a very distinct flavor. The flavors often consist of honey, vanilla and butter. And of course, sugar!
Candy Corn Ingredients List
You may be wondering what the ingredients are when it comes to candy corn. Depending on the manufacturer, the ingredients can vary. Brach’s is the most popular manufacturer of candy corn and the ingredients are:
- corn syrup
- confectioner’s glaze
- cocoa powder
- hydrogenated palm kernel oil
- sesame oil
- artificial flavor
- yellow 6
- yellow 5
- red 3
- soy lecithin
- red 40
- blue 1
It’s worth mentioning that this product is made in a setting where the following allergens are used: dairy, eggs, almonds, peanuts and coconuts.
Candy Corn Nutritional Information
You may be curious as to the nutritional information of candy corn. Each serving size of 15 pieces typically contains the following:
- Calories: 110
- Fat: 0g
- Sugars: 22g
- Sodium: 55mg
Take Out Time to Also Read:
- Are Sonic Tater Tots Gluten Free? (& GF Sonic Menu)
- Does Red Robin Have Gluten Free Buns? (& GF Red Robin List)
Is There Gluten In Candy Corn?
More often than not, candy corn will not contain any gluten ingredients. As you can see from Brach’s candy corn, it does not contain gluten ingredients, and most manufacturers are the same. However, if you have celiac disease or are especially sensitive to gluten, it’s always best to check the “may contain” on candy corn.
Some brands of candy corn display a “may contain wheat” warning, as they’ve been prepared in the same area as gluten containing ingredients. If this is the case, it may be best to avoid those products. All companies have allergen statements and it’s best to check those for the most up to date information.
At the time of this article, the following brands do not have a “may contain wheat” warning and do not contain any gluten ingredients:
- Jelly Belly (labelled gluten free)
- Happy Bites (certified gluten free)
Is Candy Corn Gluten And Dairy Free?
Much like gluten, dairy is not typically used in the making of candy corn. However, it is often processed in a factory where milk products are handled. For example, Brach’s candy corn is made in a facility which handles milk. If you’re very sensitive to dairy, it may be best to avoid candy corn that displays a “may contain milk” label.
Is Brach’s Candy Corn Gluten Free?
While Brach’s candy corn does not carry a gluten free label, there is no gluten listed in the ingredients. As well as that, gluten is not listed as a “may contain”. For this reason, you can safely enjoy Brach’s candy corn when following a gluten free diet. Always be sure to check the ingredients for the most up to date information.
Gluten Free Halloween Candy List
The following candy is gluten free at the time of this article
- Black Forest (gummy bears and fruit snacks)
- Brach’s (candy corn)
- Enjoy Life
- Ferrara (Originals, Morphs and Shell Shocked)
- Mars (M&M’s except pretzel and crispy, Snickers, 3 Musketeers, Starburst, Lifesavers, Skittles)
- Nestle (Butterfinger bar, Goobers peanuts, Oh Henry, Raisinets, Baby Ruth, Bit O Honey and Laffy Taffy
- Hershey’s (milk chocolate bars, Hershey’s kisses, almond joy, milk duds, payday, Reese’s pieces, Rolo’s
- Jelly Belly
- Jolly Ranchers (hard candy, gummies and sours)
- Just Born (Hot Tamales, Mike & Ike)
- Kinder (except Bueno)
- Smarties (US only)
- Kraft (Sour Patch Kids, Swedish Fish and Caramels)
- Spangler (Safe-T-Pops, Necco Wafers, Dum-dum Pops)
- Surf Sweets
- Toblerone (milk chocolate
- Tootsie Roll (Tootsie roll, razzles, gum balls, twist gum, junior mints, Tootsie pops and charm pops)
This list is by no means extensive, just the most popular candy around this time of year.
Candy Corn Granola Bars Recipe
Now that we’ve answered: does candy corn have gluten? Let’s look at a fun recipe! If you’re looking for the perfect snack this fall, these candy corn granola bars are incredible. This recipe is inspired by one from Brach’s.
- 2 1/2 cups of gf oats
- 1/2 cup of peanuts
- 1/4 cup of honey
- 1/4 cup of butter
- 1/3 cup of brown sugar
- 1 tsp of vanilla extract
- 1 cup of candy corn
- 3/4 cup of gf pretzels
- 1/4 tsp of salt
Recipe – Does Candy Corn Have Gluten?
Step 1: Prepare
Preheat your oven to 350F and spray a pan with spray and parchment paper. Then place the oats on a separate baking sheet and toast for around 10 minutes.
Step 2: Make the Mixture
Add the sugar, butter and honey to a saucepan. Heat over a medium heat until melted and stir. Once melted, remove from heat and add the salt and vanilla. Then add the toasted oats, pretzels, candy corn and peanuts. Mix well and ensure everything is evenly coated.
Step 3: Chill – Does Candy Corn Have Gluten?
Place the mixture into your prepared pan from earlier. Press the mixture into the pan and place the fridge for minimum, an hour. Then remove from refrigerator and cut into bars. The granola bars are ready to eat!
Conclusion – Does Candy Corn Have Gluten?
I hope this post has helped to answer the question: does candy corn have gluten? And also given you an idea which candy you can enjoy this fall. Candy is relatively easy to find gluten free, which is great news!
What’s your go-to candy? Please feel free to let me know in the comments below. Sharing is caring!
Hi, my name’s Zoë. I’m 28 years old and live in London, UK. I work full time as a freelance writer and critic for West End theatre. Writing has been a passion of mine for as long as I can remember. I spend most of my free time at the theatre, or at conventions. I’m married to the love of my life, and live in a small apartment with my fur baby, Lillie. I run two of my own blogs: No Safer Place and Stage to Page: both of which have won awards. I also have a YouTube channel where I talk about all things stagey.