Do Candy Canes Have Gluten?

Last Updated on July 14, 2021

With it being over halfway into the year, we’re now closer to Christmas than we are at the beginning of the year – how quick has this year been?! One of the most festive sweet treats to eat around Christmas time are candy canes. Crunchy, sweet, and full of sugary goodness. Today we’re going to answering the question: do candy canes have gluten? And if so, which varieties are safe for us to eat.

There’s a huge variety of candy canes on offer; some of which do contain gluten, and don’t. You’d probably assume that all candy canes are suitable for us but unfortunately, they’re not. So it’s always important to check the label – which I’m sure you’re all doing anyway. I feel like I spend my life reading food labels!

But never fear! If you’re a gluten-intolerant individual, you can still find these tasty treats to hang on your tree (and eat afterwards!). Let’s take a look at some of our options.

What Gluten-Free Candy Canes Are There?

Whilst there are no brands out there that are certified gluten-free at the moment (this means the product must meet all of the FDA’s gluten-free labelling rules), in many brands – candy canes do not usually have any gluten-containing products. Hurrah! The ones we’re going to look at today are also made in gluten-free environments, which makes them perfect for us.

Learn more about: Are Kellogg’s Rice Krispies Treats Gluten-Free?

Swedish Fish Candy Canes 

Everybody is familiar with Swedish Fish – and they even do candy canes! What I love about these ones are they’re not particularly Christmas-themed, so they can be enjoyed throughout the year. Spangler Candy confirms that this product is gluten-free and even puts out the statement, “This product is free of top common allergens and manufactured on dedicated equipment”. I wish all companies would disclose this information openly, as it would make life so much easier for us.

Swedish fish candy

Life Savers Candy Canes

If you’re looking to brighten up your holidays – this is the candy cane for you! Again, these contain no gluten ingredients and aren’t used on other gluten-contaminated surfaces. They come in a variety of vibrant colors and flavors – pineapple, orange, cherry, watermelon, and raspberry.

Spangler Candy Canes

If you’re looking for the traditional red and white, peppermint flavored candy canes – this option is perfect for you and will look great hanging from your Christmas tree. Spangler Candy Canes are individually wrapped and contain no gluten ingredients.

Fancy Pickle Flavored Candy Canes

If you’re looking for something bonkers from your candy canes – I would highly recommend the Pickle Flavored Candy Cane. Yes, it really is pickle-flavored! These are a little more expensive than other options, but they are super fun. Whilst there are no gluten-containing ingredients listed on the label, I was unable to find where they were made. However, there is a number listed on the packaging if you need any additional information.

Jelly Belly Candy Canes

One of the most popular brands of candy canes is Jelly Belly. Whilst more famous for its jelly beans (which are mostly gluten-free), they also offer gluten-free candy canes. This option is far from traditional, but they’re full of flavor. Very Cherry, Green Apple, Orange, Tutti Frutti, Blueberry, and Watermelon are what they have to offer (Tutti Frutti has always been a personal favorite of mine).

Oreo Candy Canes

This one is a real game-changer for me. Oreo recently made gluten-free Oreos. And now they have gluten-free Oreo candy canes! How incredible is that?! What more could you ask for than a cookie and cream flavored candy cane? Again, this option is made by Spangler Candy and is said to be gluten-free and produced on separate equipment.

Sour Patch Candy Canes

The household favorites just keep on coming! Spangler Candy once again saving the day for us celiacs with their incredible range of gluten-free candy. Sour and sweet, these candy canes are perfect for any time of the year and contain no gluten ingredients. This contains three different flavors to enjoy.

I think it’s safe to say that if you want to enjoy gluten-free candy canes – Spangler Candy is the way forward. Their website has a huge variety of options. Everything is clearly labelled and easy to access. Nothing is hidden and it’s very easy to navigate. In fact, it’s one of the best websites I’ve come across for this.

Welch’s Candy Canes 

My mind instantly goes to grape when I hear the name Welch’s and their candy canes are no different. Whilst there was little information on their manufacturing facilities, their candy canes do not contain any gluten in the list of ingredients. The flavors include concord grape, white grape, peach, and raspberry. The colors of these give off an autumnal feel – perfect for Halloween!

Candy Cane Hershey’s Kisses

If you’re craving that minty treat but aren’t a huge fan of the shape, Hershey’s has an amazing gluten-free alternative. They’re definitely a fun twist on a classic. Candy flavored bits in the shape of a Hershey’s kiss; in the signature red and white color. Perfect for Christmas or popping on top of a dessert. Hershey’s even have a Candy Cane chocolate bar – which is also gluten-free. Be sure to check all packaging though, as not all of Hershey’s products are gluten-free.

Crazy for Candy Canes

To conclude, I think we’ve discovered that there’s a huge selection of gluten-free candy canes out there. Whilst none of them are certified gluten-free, I can certainly say that there are a lot of safe options for us to enjoy. I regularly enjoy them and am absolutely fine!

Are there any brands that I’ve missed off that are worth mentioning? I would love to know if you have any recommendations. Also, what’s your favorite flavor candy cane? Do you prefer traditional, or something more wacky? You could even try making some yourself – that would certainly get you into the festive spirit!

Read more about: Does Krispy Kreme Have Gluten-Free Doughnuts Do They Exist?

1 thought on “Do Candy Canes Have Gluten?”

Leave a Comment