Do Saltine Crackers Have Gluten? (&; GF Recipe)

Last Updated on January 18, 2022

Today, we’re going to be answering the question: do saltine crackers have gluten? And taking a look at a gluten-free cracker recipe, as well as the most popular gluten-free saltine cracker brands. These thin crackers make for the perfect salty snack, but are they suitable when following a gluten-free lifestyle? Let’s take a closer look.

What Are Saltine Crackers?

You’ll likely already be familiar with saltine crackers, but if you’re not, saltine crackers (you may know them as soda crackers) are square-shaped crackers that are often topped with coarse salt. They are usually very dry and have a crisp texture.

Ingredients In Saltine Crackers

The ingredients in saltine crackers will vary depending on which brand (or flavor) you buy, but the most common base ingredients are:

  • White Flour
  • Yeast
  • Baking Soda
  • Salt

Is There Gluten In Saltine Crackers?

As you’ve probably guessed from the ingredients, there is gluten in traditional saltine crackers. The white flour most commonly used for saltine crackers is wheat flour. Wheat is one of the cereal grains that contain gluten – alongside other grains such as rye, barley, and oats (unless gluten-free oats). Therefore, most saltine crackers you’ll see in your local grocery store will contain gluten and should be avoided.

However, it’s always worth checking the ingredients as there are many gluten-free cracker brands available, although they’ll usually be in a separate gluten-free section.

Gluten-Free Saltine Cracker Brands

There are many gluten-free options available now, but it can be difficult to find a cracker that has the taste and texture of a saltine cracker. So let’s take a look at the closest gluten-free saltine crackers you can find.


Schar is, without a doubt, one of the best gluten-free brands available. They offer a huge selection of gluten-free foods, including their Gluten-Free Table Crackers. They are described as “saltine-like”, and the perfect light snack. These crackers are not just gluten-free, but wheat-free, lactose-free, preservative-free and non-GMO – meaning they’re suitable for a range of dietary lifestyles.

The ingredients in these crackers are:

  • non-GMO corn starch
  • non-GMO cornflour
  • palm fat
  • sunflower oil
  • maltodextrin
  • rice syrup
  • modified tapioca starch
  • non-GMO soy flour
  • sea salt
  • yeast
  • guar gum
  • cream of tartar
  • baking soda
  • citric acid
  • natural rosemary flavor

The only allergen is soy. And there is a may contain for tree nuts.


Like Schar, Glutino is another extremely popular gluten-free brand. And they also offer gluten-free crackers! Their table crackers are long, thin, and utterly delicious. If you’re looking for a real crunch for your saltine crackers, this is the cracker for you.

The ingredients in these crackers are:

  • corn starch
  • palm oil
  • soy flour
  • sugar
  • sea salt
  • soy lecithin
  • cellulose gum
  • sodium bicarbonate
  • caramelized sugar
  • yeast extract
  • citric acid
  • sodium pyrophosphate

The only allergen is soy. And it is a may contain for eggs and tree nuts.

Simple Mills

If you’re looking for a healthier saltine cracker alternative, Simple Mills has a range of gluten-free cracker flavors, including fine ground sea salt. What’s different about Simple Mills is that they use almond flour for the base of their crackers.

As well as being certified gluten-free, they’re grain-free, corn-free, dairy-free, non-GMO, and vegan. The crackers are baked, not fried – which makes them a healthier option.

The ingredients in the Simple Mills Fine Ground Sea Salt crackers are:

  • nut and seed flour blend (almonds, sunflower, and flax seeds)
  • tapioca
  • cassava
  • organic sunflower oil
  • sea salt
  • organic onion
  • organic garlic
  • rosemary extract

If you’re looking for their other flavors of almond flour crackers, they also have the following options:

  • Sundried Tomato and Basil Almond Flour Crackers
  • Cracked Black Pepper Almond Flour Crackers
  • Farmhouse Cheddar Almond Flour Crackers
  • Rosemary and Sea Salt Almond Flour Crackers
  • Fine Ground Sea Salt Almond Flour Crackers (snack pack!)

Other Popular Brands

Some other brands you may like to consider are:

  • Crunchmaster
  • Back to Nature
  • Absolutely Gluten Free
  • Mary’s Gone Crackers
  • Foods Alive
  • Sesmark
  • Natural Nectar
  • Blue Diamond Natural
  • Milton’s Craft Bakers

Gluten-Free Saltine Crackers Recipe

If you’re looking to make your own gluten-free saltine crackers, it may work out cheaper in the long run than buying gluten-free brands, as they can be quite expensive. This recipe from Group Recipes is quick, easy, and has most of the ingredients you’ll likely already have in your pantry.

The ingredients you’ll need for this saltine cracker recipe are:

  • 4 cups of Gluten-Free Flour Blend
  • 1/2 tsp. of Guar Gum
  • 1 1/2 tsp. of Baking Powder
  • 3/4 cup of Shortening
  • 1/3 cup of Skim Milk
  • 1 cup of Water
  • Topping: Salt, Pepper or Rosemary (optional)

To make them, just follow these simple steps:

  1. Preheat your oven to 375F
  2. In a bowl, mix the GF flour, guar gum, and baking powder
  3. Add the shortening gradually until the mixture is coarse
  4. Gradually add the milk and water, stirring as you go until you make a dough
  5. Roll your dough into a thin sheet
  6. On a baking sheet, cut the dough into the desired shape (usually squares or circles)
  7. Prick with a fork several times and add your toppings if you’re using them
  8. Bake for around 6 minutes, turning midway through

Your saltine crackers are ready to eat!


I hope this article has helped to answer the question: do saltine crackers have gluten? And helped you to become more familiar with the huge selection of gluten-free crackers on offer to satisfy your saltine cracker craving. They really do make the perfect snack and I often keep a snack pack in my handbag as you never know when you’ll need a quick snack to get you through the day.

Do you know of any other gluten-free cracker brands that didn’t make the list? Or do you have your own gluten-free cracker recipe? Please feel free to let me know in the comments below. Sharing is caring!

Read more about: Do Ritz Crackers Have Gluten? Our Favorite Ritz Alternatives!