Do Ritz Crackers Have Gluten? Our Favorite Ritz Alternatives!

Last Updated on November 28, 2021

Today, we’re going to be answering the question: do Ritz crackers have gluten? And looking at some of the top alternatives to Ritz crackers. Most people are familiar with circular, crunchy snacks. They’re lightly salted, oven-baked, and a tasty treat. But are they safe to eat when following a gluten-free diet? What ingredients will you find in Ritz crackers – let’s take a look.

Ingredients In Ritz Crackers

While you think you may already know the ingredients in the infamous Ritz cracker – some of the ingredients may be a surprise.

There are quite a few ingredients in this snack. The ingredients are as follows:

“Unbleached Enriched Flour (Wheat Flour, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamine Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Vegetable Oil, Sugar, Salt, Leavening, High Fructose Corn Syrup, Soy Lecithin, Malted Barley Flavor, Natural Flavor”. 

Are Ritz Crackers Gluten-Free?

As you can see from the ingredients Ritz Original Crackers are not gluten-free. Wheat and barley are ingredients that should be avoided when following a gluten-free diet. Cereal grains like wheat, barley, and rye can cause reactions to celiacs and gluten-intolerant individuals. As the main ingredient in Ritz crackers is wheat flour – this product does contain gluten and is not safe for consumption.

What Cornmeal Is Gluten Free? Glute...
What Cornmeal Is Gluten Free? Gluten Free Cornmeal Brands

Gluten-Free Crackers

But worry not! If you’re looking for gluten-free alternatives to Ritz crackers, there are a range of options you can try. While some are more like a traditional cracker, there’s also some that taste similar to Ritz crackers themselves. We’ll be covering them all in this section.

GF Crackers

There’s a wide selection of gluten-free crackers available, which are suitable for a range of dietary lifestyles. Here are some of our favorites.

Crunchmaster

Crunchmaster has a huge selection of products and all of their products are certified gluten-free. This means that each product goes through vigorous testing and must meet strict guidelines set by the FDA before it hits the shelves. This means that the products are as safe as possible for us.

Their multi-seed crackers come in 5 delicious flavors, including:

  • Rosemary and Olive Oil
  • Roasted Garlic
  • Artisan Cheesy Garlic
  • Ultimate Everything

Not only are their products gluten-free, but also non-GMO, contain no artificial colors or flavors, and are produced in a nut-free facility. For all your cracker needs, Crunchmaster is one of the best alternatives on offer.

Blue Diamond Almonds 

If you’re looking for crackers with crazy flavors, Blue Diamond Almonds Nut Thins are the choice to go for! These gluten-free snacks come in a huge variety of flavors, including:

  • Hint of Sea Salt Nut Thins
  • Pecan Nut Thins
  • Sriracha Nut Thins
  • Cheddar Cheese Nut Thins
  • Smokehouse Almond Nut Thins
  • Country Ranch Nut Thins
  • Pepper Jack Nut Thins
  • Honey Cinnamon Nut Thins

The main ingredients in these crackers are rice flour and almonds – absolutely delicious!

GF Ritz-Style Crackers

If you’re looking for crackers that are similar in taste and texture to Ritz crackers, here are a few top suggestions to fulfill that Ritz craving.

Glutino Table Crackers

Glutino is an incredible gluten-free brand, which is home to many gluten-free products. One of those being table crackers. While they may be a different shape from Ritz biscuits – the taste and texture are very similar. Pair it with a dip of lather with your favorite spread.

They contain no wheat and no gluten – and are perfect to fill with Ritz cracker hole in your life.

Mary’s Gone Crackers

Mary’s Gone Crackers are a gluten-free and organic brand. While the taste isn’t quite the same, the texture and disc-like snacks will definitely leave you feeling like you’ve eaten a Ritz cracker. They come in a range of flavors, including:

  • Original
  • Herb
  • Black Pepper
  • Jalapeno

For a satisfying crunch, Mary’s Gone Crackers is the best choice!

Crunchmaster

We’re back to Crunchmaster again! Because they really are home to some of the best gluten-free crackers. Their baked multi-seed crisps in Original flavor, even come in a Ritz-style box! These bite-sized crisps really are the perfect snack. They also have Bistro Crisps and Grain-Free crackers, which can be found here.

Schar

Schar is another amazing gluten-free brand that is home to hundreds of gluten-free products. Their Salti Crackers are incredibly similar to Ritz crackers and make for the perfect salty snack. They’re currently only available in the UK and Ireland – but they can likely be imported over to the rest of the world if you’re willing to pay a little extra.

But these treats are gluten-free, wheat-free, lactose-free, preservative-free, and vegan. And they really do look exactly like Ritz crackers!

 

Gluten-Free Ritz Crackers Recipe

If you’re looking for an almost identical-tasting gluten-free Ritz cracker, you may want to try making your own. Gluten-Free on a Shoestring has incredible Ritz-Style Gluten-Free Crackers. It comes highly recommended by the gluten-free community, and takes under 30 minutes to complete!

The only ingredients you’ll need for this recipe are:

In a few simple steps, you’ll have

Conclusion

I hope this article has helped to answer the question: do Ritz crackers have gluten? And helped you become more familiar with the plethora of gluten-free cracker options that there are out there. Whether you like your crackers original, or something more adventurous like sriracha, you do not need to be disappointed. And why not have a go at making your own? I’d love to see any finished products!

Are there are brands that didn’t make the list that you think are worthy of a mention? Do you have your own recipe that you’d like to share for gluten-free Ritz crackers? If the answer to either of those questions is yes, please feel free to let me know in the comments below. Sharing is caring!

Read more about: Mrs. Fields Sugar Cookie Recipes

Leave a Comment