Are Lays Barbeque Chips Gluten Free? (& GF Chips List)

Last Updated on June 2, 2022

Today, we’re going to be answering the question: are Lays Barbeque chips gluten free? And taking a look at the best gluten-free chips that are currently on offer for those with celiac disease or gluten intolerance. Chips are the perfect snack, but if you’ve been following the gluten-free lifestyle for a while, you’ll know that chips can often contain gluten. This can be because of flavoring or additives; or even due to cross-contact. But are Lays Barbeque chips gluten-free? Let’s take a closer look.

What Are Lays Barbeque Chips?

I think you’re likely familiar with Lays Barbeque chips, but if not – they are a sweet and spicy potato snack, that offers the perfect amount of heat. They’re an incredibly popular flavor, and if you’re from the UK, you may know Lays better as Walkers. Whichever the brand name, they are without a doubt my favorite flavor of chips!

Ingredients In Lays Barbeque Chips

The ingredients in Lays Barbeque chips are:

  • potatoes
  • vegetable oil
  • salt
  • sugar
  • dextrose
  • corn maltodextrin
  • molasses
  • torula yeast
  • onion powder
  • tomato powder
  • paprika
  • corn starch
  • natural flavors
  • caramel color
  • paprika extract
  • yeast extract
  • garlic powder
  • mustard seed oil

Nutritional Information Of Lays Barbeque Chips

Each packet of Lays Barbeque chips contains the following:

  • Calories: 150
  • Fat: 9g
  • Sat. Fat: 1.5g
  • Sodium: 150mg
  • Carbs: 16g
  • Fiber: 1g
  • Sugar: 2g

Are Lays Barbeque Chips Gluten Free?

Lays Barbeque Chips are unfortunately not marketed as being gluten-free. However, they do not contain any gluten ingredients. While it’s unlikely that they will contain gluten, Lays have to disclose this information as the product itself is not tested for gluten before hitting the shelves. If you’re celiac – you may want to avoid this flavor, just in case. You can find out more about Frito Lays gluten-free and not containing gluten ingredients products here.

While Lays Barbeque chips are marketed as “not containing gluten ingredients”, the baked version of this popular chip flavor from Lays is marketed as gluten-free!

Learn more about: Are Lays BBQ Chips Gluten-Free?

Gluten Free Lays Flavors

The following flavors of Lays chips are completely gluten-free and safe to consume on a gluten-free diet. These flavors are tested for gluten and are below the legal amount of 20ppm.

  • Flamas potato crisps (STAX)
  • Mesquite BBQ potato crisps (STAX)
  • Original potato crisps (STAX)
  • Bacon and cheddar potato skins crisps (STAX)
  • Buffalo wings with ranch potato crisps (STAX)
  • Cheddar potato crisps (STAX)
  • Chile Limon potato crisps (STAX)
  • Sour cream and onion baked potato crisps
  • Classic potato chips
  • Lightly salted potato chips
  • Thick cut sea salted potato chips
  • BBQ baked potato crisps
  • Original baked potato crisps

Gluten Free Chip Brands

There are many gluten-free chip brands available – many of which are easily accessible, and absolutely delicious. Let’s take a look at a roundup of some of our favorites. Lays is the obvious option, and you can find a gluten-free list above.


Utz has a range of flavors on offer, which is gluten-free. The following flavors are GF:

  • 40% Reduced Fat Potato Chips (thin cut – kettle style)
  • Gourmet Medley Potato Chips (thin cut – kettle style)
  • Lightly Salted Potato Chips (thin cut – kettle style)
  • Kettle Style Gourmet Medley (natural thin cut)
  • Kettle Style Lightly Salted (natural thin cut)
  • Natural Thin Cut Kettle Style Reduced


Kettle is a certified gluten-free brand and ALL of its flavors are completely gluten-free. Some of their most popular gluten-free flavors are:

  • Sea Salt
  • Sweet Potato Pie
  • Chipotle Honey
  • Sour Cream and Onion
  • Sea Salt and Vinegar
  • Sea Salt and Crushed Black Peppercorns
  • New York Cheddar
  • Lightly Salted
  • Maple Bacon
  • Bourbon BBQ
  • Maple Bacon Popcorn
  • Sea Salt Popcorn
  • Backyard Barbeque

Good Health

Good Health is another certified gluten-free brand. The following flavors are gluten-free:

  • BBQ Kettle Chips (avocado oil)
  • Jalapeno Kettle Chips (avocado oil)
  • Lime Ranch Kettle Chips (avocado oil)
  • Sea Salt Kettle Chips (avocado oil)
  • Ridge Cut Buffalo & Cool (avocado oil)
  • Blue Ranch Kettle Style Chips
  • Ridge Cut Creamy French (avocado oil)
  • Onion Kettle Style Chips
  • Ridge Cut Jalapeno (avocado oil)
  • Cheddar Jack Kettle Style Chips
  • Ridge Cut Sea Salt Kettle Style Chips (avocado oil)
  • Baked Puffs Variety


I hope this article has helped to answer the question: are Lays Barbeque chips gluten-free? And give you an idea of which chips are okay to eat on a gluten-free diet. It’s super easy to find chips that are gluten-free, which is why it makes them the perfect snack for us!

Do you know of any other gluten-free chips brands that didn’t make our list? If so, please feel free to let me know in the comments below. Sharing is caring!

Read more about: Are Chili’s Chips Gluten-Free? (& GF Menu)


What Chips Does Not Have Gluten?

It's super easy to find chips that do not contain gluten, or make gluten free claims. Some of the most popular brands are Kettle and Lays. For a more extensive range of gluten free chips, check out our list above.

Are Lay’s Sour Cream and Onion Chips Gluten Free?

The ingredients in Lay's Sour Cream and Onion chips are: potatoes, vegetable oil, sour cream and onion seasoning, onion powder, whey, sour cream, canola oil, parsley, natural flavor, lactose, sunflower oil, citric acid and whey protein. As you can see, this particular flavor does not contain any gluten, but does not make any gluten free claims. However, the baked version of these are completely gluten free!

Are Lay’s Baked Potato Chips Gluten Free?

The following Lay's Baked flavors make gluten free claims: Sour Cream and Onion (baked), BBQ (baked) and Original (baked). Always be sure to check ingredients labels for the most up to date information. 

Are Lay’s Potato Chips Gluten and Dairy Free?

Not all flavors of Lay's are suitable for those who are both gluten and dairy free. The following flavors do not contain any gluten or dairy ingredients:  Sea Salt and Vinegar, Hot n' Spicy BBQ, Sea Salt and Cracked Pepper and Dill Pickle.