Today, we’re going to be answering the question: are Chili’s chips gluten free? And taking a look at which of the food items at Chili’s are suitable when following a gluten-free diet. Chili’s is super popular within the US, and it’s not difficult to see why. From burgers to fajitas, to steaks, there is something for everyone at Chili’s. But do they offer a gluten-free menu? Are their chips gluten-free? Let’s take a closer look.
What Is Chili’s?
You’ll likely already know what Chili’s is! However, if you’re not familiar Chili’s is a casual dining restaurant, that serves foods such as steaks and burgers, with a selection of incredible sides. Chili’s has been around for almost 50 years now, and has over 1600 locations across the US!
Do Chili’s Offer Gluten Free Options?
While Chili’s does not claim to offer any gluten-free options, they do have a gluten-friendly menu. For a food product to be classed as gluten-free, it has to have below the legal limit of 20ppm of gluten. However, while the items on their gluten-friendly menu do not contain any gluten ingredients, they are not tested for gluten – so can not make gluten-free claims.
They also confirm that gluten is present in their kitchens at all times, and they do not have dedicated areas for gluten-free food. Also, they serve foods that are cooked in the same fryer as gluten-containing foods – however, these foods are clearly marked on the menu. We’ll be taking a look at which gluten-friendly foods they have on offer in this post.
Are Chili’s Chips Gluten Free?
While Chili’s tortilla chips do not contain gluten, unfortunately, they are not gluten-free. They are on their gluten-friendly menu – but they are cooked in a shared fryer with gluten-containing foods. This means that they are at an extremely high risk of cross-contact. I would not advise eating the tortilla chips at Chili’s, whether your sensitivity to gluten is mild or severe. And definitely avoid it if you have celiac disease.
Learn more about: Are Avocados Gluten-Free?
Gluten Friendly Chili’s List
While we know that none of Chili’s products are wholly gluten-free – there are plenty of gluten-friendly options. When you’re placing your order, it’s important to make your server aware of any allergies or intolerances you have. That way, it’s easier for them to complete your order with the utmost care.
Here are the gluten-friendly options available at Chili’s:
- bone-in wings* (mango habanero, honey-chipotle, house bbq, and buffalo)
- tostada chips and guacamole*
- Texas-size baby back ribs with no sides (dry rub, honey-chipotle, house bbq, or original bbq)
Burgers (with no bun)
- bacon rancher
- alex’s santa fe burger
- big bacon bbq
- bbq brisket
- just bacon burger
- mushroom swiss
- old timer burger
- secret sauce burger
- queso burger with tortilla chips*
- fajitas with corn tortillas* – chicken, steak, or shrimp
Fresh Mex Bowls
- fresh mex bowls with tortilla strips* – chipotle chicken or shrimp
- 6oz or 10oz steak with avocado
- ancho salmon
- grilled chicken salad
- mango chile chicken
- margarita grilled chicken
- classic ribeye
- classic 6oz or 10oz sirloin
- grilled chicken dippers
- corn on the cob
- corn kernels
- fresh pineapple
- mandarin oranges
- mashed potatoes (no gravy)
- steamed broccoli
- caesar salad (no croutons)
- caribbean salad (grilled chicken or shrimp)
- house salad (no croutons)
- santa fe grilled chicken salad
- southwest caesar with tortilla chips*
Soup and Chili
- loaded baked potato soup
- southwest chicken soup with tortilla strips*
- original chili with tortilla strips*
- ancho-chile ranch
- bleu cheese
- caesar dressing
- citrus-balsamic vinaigrette
- honey lime
- honey lime vinaigrette
- santa fe
- honey mustard
- thousand island
Combos (with no sides)
- baby back ribs
- jalapeno cheddar smoked sausage
- grilled asparagus
- black beans
- french fries*
- mashed potatoes (loaded)
- mexican rice
- roasted street corn
- corn on the cob
- tacos with corn tortillas* – ranchero chicken tacos
If a product has an * beside it, this means that it’s cooked in a shared fryer with gluten-containing ingredients, and likely contains gluten. You can find out more about their gluten-friendly menu here.
I hope this article has helped to answer the question: are Chili’s chips gluten-free? And given you an idea of some of the food you can order when visiting Chili’s. It’s relatively easy to eat gluten-free there. If you’re wary, be sure to stick to the grilled products and be sure to make your server aware.
What’s your go-to order when visiting Chili’s? What’s your experience been there of eating gluten-free? Be sure to let me know in the comments below. Sharing is caring!
Read more about: Are Buffalo Wild Wings Gluten-Free?
What Kind of Chips Does Chili's Use?
The tortilla chips that Chili's use are extra thin, and extra crispy. Their tortilla chips are made fresh daily and are made from corn. Corn is a gluten free grain. However, because they fry them in the same fryers as gluten containing products, it may be best to avoid them.
Are Tortilla Chips Gluten-Free?
Tortilla chips are usually made from corn. When tortilla chips are made using corn, they are gluten free. However, depending on how they're fried or how they're prepared - the final product may contain traces of gluten. This is why it's always best to opt for products that carry a gluten free label or are certified gluten free.
Does Chili's Have Gluten-Free Bun?
At the time of this post, Chili's do not currently offer a gluten free bun. They suggest that if you want one of their burgers, to order without a bun. When eating out at places like this, I usually bring my own gluten free bun along so I don't have to go without.
Is Chili's Chips and Salsa Gluten-Free?
The salsa and chips do not contain any gluten ingredients. But we know that the chips are not fried in a dedicated fryer. It may be best to bring along your own chips and use their salsa - as that really is gluten friendly.