Is Tostitos Queso Gluten Free? (& GF Tortilla Chips)

Today, we’re going to be answering the question: is Tostitos queso gluten free? And taking a look at which chips and dips we can enjoy when following a gluten-free diet. Let’s be honest, chips and dip make for the perfect snack at any time of the day. And most of the time, tortilla chips are made from corn and are naturally gluten-free. However, can the same be said about the dips? Let’s take a closer look.

What Is Tostitos Queso?

The particular dip we’re going to be looking at today is Tostitos Salsa Con Queso, which translates into cheese sauce (or nacho cheese sauce). Nothing goes better with tortilla chips than queso dip. And Tostitos is the most popular brand of queso within the US. Their Salsa Con Queso (Medium) is made with real milk and cheese. It’s deliciously smooth and easy to dip into. It’s also creamy, tomato-y, and has the perfect amount of heat from the jalapeno peppers.

Learn more about: A Guide To Making Nacho Cheese Without Flour

Ingredients In Tostitos Queso

The ingredients in the Tostitos Salsa Con Queso are:

  • water
  • nonfat milk
  • Monterey Jack cheese
  • corn oil
  • modified food starch
  • diced tomatoes in tomato juice
  • jalapeno peppers
  • chili peppers
  • red bell peppers
  • maltodextrin
  • natural flavors
  • salt
  • sodium hexametaphosphate
  • monosodium glutamate
  • sodium citrate
  • sodium phosphate
  • artificial colors
  • spice
  • soy lecithin

Nutritional Information Of Tostitos Queso

You may be curious as to the nutritional value of Tostitos Queso. Each serving (which is around two tablespoons) contains the following:

  • Calories: 40
  • Fat: 2.5g
  • Sodium: 280mg
  • Carbs: 5g
  • Dietary Fiber: 1g
  • Sugar: 1g
  • Protein: 1g

Is Tostitos Queso Gluten Free?

If you’re a fan of Tostitos Queso – we have some good news! Tostitos Queso does not contain any gluten ingredients. While it is not marketed as gluten-free and does not make any gluten-free claims, it is considered safe for those following a gluten-free diet.

It’s worth mentioning that these products are not tested for gluten like certified gluten-free products, or those that make gluten-free claims. Because of this, it may contain traces of gluten. However, it should be below the legal amount and is safe for you to enjoy. Not only that, but Tostitos also have a range of gluten-free tortilla chips to go alongside their dips too!

Gluten Free Queso Brands

Queso sometimes contains gluten because wheat flour is used to thicken it up. However, most brands are naturally gluten-free as rice flour is often used. Always check the label to be sure. If you’d prefer to buy products that carry a gluten-free label or make gluten-free claims, you can try one of the following GF queso brands:

  • Great Value
  • Core & Rind
  • Mother Raw
  • Grounded Foods
  • Siete Foods
  • On the Border

Gluten Free Queso Recipe

You may want to make your own queso from scratch, as it’s hard to beat homemade food! The Spruce Eats has an incredible gluten-free nacho cheese dip. Let’s take a look at how to make our own.

Ingredients

The ingredients you’ll need are:

  • 2 tablespoons of amaranth flour (or sweet rice)
  • 2 tablespoons of butter
  • 1 cup of milk
  • 1 cup of shredded cheese (cheddar)
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons of taco seasoning
  • 1/4 teaspoon of garlic powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon of onion powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon of salt
  • 2 teaspoons of diced jalapeno peppers

Recipe

Now all you need to do is:

Step 1: Melt Butter

Grab a saucepan and melt the butter over medium heat. Once melted, add the flour and stir well. Cook for around two minutes (do not let the mixture brown).

Step 2: Add Dairy

Whisk in the milk until it becomes thick. Remove from heat once slightly bubbling and add the cheese, garlic powder, onion powder, taco seasoning and jalapenos. Stir until the mixture is smooth.

Step 3: Enjoy!

It’s best served warm with tortilla chips. Enjoy!


Read more about Gluten-Free Cheese Dip Brands

Gluten Free Tostitos Tortilla Chips

If you’re purchasing Tostitos Queso, you may want to purchase the tortilla chips too. Tostitos offer a range of gluten-free chips and chips that do not contain any gluten ingredients. Their gluten-free chips are tested for gluten and are 100% safe. Let’s take a look at which of their chips fall into which category.

Gluten Free

  • Baked Scoops Tortilla Chips
  • Bite-Size Rounds Tortilla Chips
  • Cantina Thin & Crispy Tortilla Chips
  • Cantina Traditional Tortilla Chips
  • Crispy Rounds Tortilla Chips
  • Lightly Salted Tortilla Chips
  • Original Restaurant Style Tortilla Chips
  • Reduced-Fat Crispy Rounds Tortilla Chips
  • Scoops! Tortilla Chips
  • Simply Organic Blue Corn Tortilla Chips
  • Simply Organic Yellow Corn Tortilla Chips
  • Strips Tortilla Chips
  • Thick & Hearty Rounds Tortilla Chips

No Gluten Ingredients

  • Football Shaped Tortilla Chips
  • Hint of Guacamole Flavored Tortilla Chips
  • Hint of Lime Flavored Tortilla Chips
  • Multigrain Scoops! Tortilla Chips
  • Salsa Verde Flavored Tortilla Chips

Conclusion

I hope this article has helped to answer the question: is Tostitos Queso gluten-free? And give you an idea of what the best gluten-free chips and dips are. And even how to make your own queso at home! Whichever dip you like with your chips, it’s super easy to find gluten-free.

Do you know of any other gluten-free queso brands? Or any other gluten-free tortilla chips? If so, please feel free to let me know in the comments below. Sharing is caring.

FAQs

Are Tostitos Chips Gluten-Free?

Many Tostitos tortilla chips are gluten free, or do not contain any gluten ingredients. You can check out the full list of gluten free Tostitos chips in this post, above.

Are Tostitos Original Gluten-Free?

Absolutely! The Original Tostitos (restaurant style tortilla chips) are completely gluten free and safe to consume whether celiac or gluten intolerant.

What Tortilla Chips Are Gluten-Free?

If tortilla chips aren't flavored, or simply salted, it's very unlikely that they'll contain any gluten. This is because tortilla chips are usually made from corn, which is a gluten free grain. The Better Chips, FritoLay, Kettle and Mission Foods all offer gluten free chips.

Is Tostitos Chunky Salsa Gluten-Free?

The Tostitos Chunky Salsa does not contain any gluten ingredients and is considered safe to consume on a gluten free diet.