Last Updated on April 6, 2022
Today, we’re going to be answering the question: are Jet Puffed marshmallows gluten free? And taking a look at some of the best marshmallow brands we can enjoy when following a gluten-free diet. Marshmallows are a super popular treat. They’re light, fluffy, and absolutely delicious.
Whether you’re toasting your marshmallows over a campfire, using them for s’mores, or even making rice crispy treats – you can do so much with marshmallows. Jet-Puffed marshmallows are one of the most popular brands available – but are they gluten-free? Let’s take a look.
What Are Jet Puffed Marshmallows?
Marshmallow is a sweet treat that is usually made from sugar, water, and gelatin. The ingredients are whipped together to make a light and fluffy marshmallow. Jet-Puffed marshmallows are even more pillowy than your typical marshmallows – they’re soft cushions of goodness!
Are Jet Puffed Marshmallows Gluten Free?
According to The Gluten Free Bar, they labeled Jet-Puffed Marshmallows as 9/10, in terms of safety from gluten. It doesn’t receive a 10 because the product does not display any gluten-free labels. However, the marshmallows are not subject to any cross-contact and do not contain any gluten ingredients – so you can enjoy these marshmallows when following a gluten-free lifestyle.
Gluten Free Marshmallows
If you prefer your foods to display a gluten-free label and be tested for gluten – there are plenty of easily accessible options to choose from. Let’s take a look at the most popular gluten-free options. If you’re unsure whether a product is gluten-free, the best way to clarify this is to speak to the manufacturer yourself. They are usually more than happy to provide information, in any way they can.
Doumak (Campfire Marshmallows)
Doumak Marshmallows are pitched as being gluten-free and allergen-friendly. Besides being free from gluten, they’re also free from the following allergens: milk, eggs, shellfish, crustacean, soybeans, tree nuts, peanuts, and wheat.
The marshmallows are available in a selection of sizes and flavors – they even have seasonal products available too!
The ingredients in Campfire Marshmallows are Corn syrup, Sugar, Modified Food Starch (Corn), Gelatin, Water, Dextrose, Natural and Artificial Flavor, and Tetrasodium Pyrophosphate.
Dandie’s Marshmallows are the perfect choice for many reasons. Firstly, they come in two different sizes – the standard size and mini size (both equally as delicious!). The second reason is that not only are they gluten-free, but they’re also non-GMO, vegan, and kosher – meaning they’re suitable for a range of dietary lifestyles.
And lastly, they come in a range of incredible flavors, including:
You can find their full range of products here.
The only ingredients you’ll find in the Dandie’s Vanilla Marshmallows are Tapioca Syrup, Cane Sugar, Filtered Water, Tapioca Starch, Carrageenan, Soy Protein, and Natural Vanilla Flavor.
Learn more about: Are Marshmallows Gluten-Free?
Trader Joe’s is a great place to shop if you’re looking for gluten-free food – including marshmallows. They offer a huge selection of gluten-free products and their marshmallows are delicious. They’re not just gluten-free, but also kosher and vegan. The only allergen in these marshmallows is soy.
The ingredients for their infamous marshmallows include Tapioca Syrup, Cane Sugar, Water, Tapioca Starch, Carrageenan, Soy Protein, and Natural Vanilla Flavor. You can usually pick these up in Trader Joe’s for around $3 a bag.
Other Gluten Free Marshmallows
There are plenty of other gluten-free marshmallow options available, and the easiest way to check is to look for a gluten-free label. If you’re unable to find a gluten-free label, check the ingredients. If there’s no wheat, rye, barley, oats, or spelt and there is no “may contain gluten” label, it should be safe. However, if you’re still unsatisfied – how to contact the company will usually be on the back of the product.
Ways To Enjoy Marshmallows
There is a range of ways to enjoy your marshmallows. Here are some of our favorites:
- S’mores – be sure to use gluten-free graham crackers when making your s’mores. Nothing beats a melt in the mouth marshmallow
- Crispy Rice Treats – making these at home is not only fun, but they also taste absolutely delicious! Be sure to use gluten-free ingredients
- Campfire – there’s no better way to enjoy a marshmallow than over a campfire. Simple, but a classic combination
- Hot Chocolate – marshmallows that melt into your hot chocolate makes the drink even thicker and more luxurious; a match made in heaven
Read more about: Is Starbucks Hot Chocolate Gluten-Free? (& GF Starbucks Drinks)
I hope this article has helped to answer the question: are Jet-Puffed marshmallows gluten-free? And also gives you other gluten-free options to try. The brands we’ve seen today are without a doubt the most popular brands available, so we definitely do not need to struggle when it comes to enjoying marshmallows!
Do you know of any other gluten-free marshmallow brands that didn’t make out the list? Or have a marshmallow recipe you’d like to share? If so, please feel free to let me know in the comments below. Sharing is caring!
What are the Ingredients in Jet Puffed Marshmallows?
The ingredients in Jet Puffed Marshmallows are: corn syrup, sugar, dextrose, modified cornstarch, water, gelatin (pork), Tetrasodium pyrophosphate, natural and artificial flavor and blue 1.
Can You Eat Marshmallows With Celiac?
Of course! There are many marshmallows that are safe to eat when living with celiac disease. There are many brands that are confirmed "gluten free" and other brands that naturally do not contain any gluten. We'll be taking a closer look at these brands in this post.
What Marshmallows are Gluten Free?
There are a range of gluten free marshmallows, as opposed to no gluten marshmallows. When a product is marked as gluten free, this means that it's been tested for gluten and is completely safe. When a marshmallow does not contain any gluten ingredients, it may have been a victim of cross contact (coming into contact with gluten when being made). However, some popular brands that are gluten free are Trader Joe's, Dandie's and Doumak.
Hi, my name’s Zoë. I’m 28 years old and live in London, UK. I work full time as a freelance writer and critic for West End theatre. Writing has been a passion of mine for as long as I can remember. I spend most of my free time at the theatre, or at conventions. I’m married to the love of my life, and live in a small apartment with my fur baby, Lillie. I run two of my own blogs: No Safer Place and Stage to Page: both of which have won awards. I also have a YouTube channel where I talk about all things stagey.