Last Updated on October 9, 2021
Today, we’re going to be answering the question: are marshmallows gluten-free? Marshmallows are an incredibly popular food and it’s not difficult to see why. They’re light, fluffy, and melt-in-your-mouth delicious. They’re so versatile and you can use them in a range of sweet treats. Desserts like s’mores, crispy rice treats, or even toasted over a campfire – yum! But are they safe to consume when following a gluten-free diet? Let’s take a closer look!
Do Marshmallows Have Gluten?
So to answer the question, is there gluten in marshmallows? If you’re a fan of marshmallows – we have some good news for you. Most marshmallow brands are completely gluten-free and safe for consumption. The ingredients you’ll usually find in marshmallows are:
- a whipping agent
As you can see, all of the above ingredients are gluten-free. However, although there may not be any gluten-containing ingredients, cross-contact can be an issue. This is when the food product itself is gluten-free, but the manufacturing and preparation methods mean that it has come into contact with gluten-containing foods. This will now mean the final product isn’t safe for us.
Legally, companies need to disclose this information on the ingredients label. If cross-contact is a real risk, it will carry a “may contain ___” warning under the ingredients list.
Most marshmallow brands are gluten-free, however, there are a few exceptions. Some ingredients to watch out for when purchasing marshmallows are:
- wheat protein
- wheat starch
- hydrolyzed wheat protein
- wheat flour
Sometimes gluten is added to a product to help with the texture and flavor. However, when it comes to marshmallows, corn syrup is often the ingredient of choice to enhance texture and flavor. Corn is gluten-free, and actually a very good substitute for wheat.
Is Marshmallow Cream Gluten-Free?
Much like marshmallows themselves, marshmallow cream/fluff is naturally gluten-free! However, gluten can sneak its way into many processed foods – so be sure to check the label. Brands such as Durkee Mower and Trader Joe’s marshmallow fluff are both well-known gluten-free options.
Also like marshmallows, cross-contact can be an issue – so always be vigilant when purchasing any marshmallow cream.
Gluten-Free Marshmallow Brands
When possible, you should opt for products that are certified gluten-free or display “gluten-free” on the packaging. In reality, this may not always be possible. So if you’re looking for peace of mind with manufacturing methods, you may wish to speak to the company directly to confirm whether it is definitely gluten-free or not. Let’s look at some of the best gluten-free marshmallow brands.
Dandies marshmallows come in a standard and mini size – and are absolutely delicious. They come in a range of flavors, including vanilla, pumpkin, and peppermint (this is subject to where you are in the world). They are not only gluten-free – but also vegan, kosher, and non-GMO.
The only ingredients you’ll find in these marshmallows are:
“Tapioca Syrup, Cane Sugar, Filtered Water, Tapioca Starch, Carrageenan, Soy Protein, Natural Vanilla Flavor”
It’s important to note that soy is the only allergen present in these. Unlike other brands, there’s no corn syrup or gelatin in sight! Dandies marshmallows are easily accessible in your local grocery store for a few dollars per bag.
Trader Joe’s Marshmallows
A place I talk about often is Trader Joe’s. They supply a huge range of gluten-free products – marshmallows being one of them! They’re perfect for melting and come highly recommended by fellow gluten-free individuals. Of course – they’re gluten-free (and kosher & vegan). Much like the Dandies marshmallows, the only allergen in the ingredients is soy. The ingredients include:
“Tapioca Syrup, Cane Sugar, Water, Tapioca Starch, Carrageenan, Soy Protein, Natural Vanilla Flavor”
That’s right – the ingredients are exactly the same! You can pick these up for around $3 a bag.
Campfire Marshmallows by Doumak
Doumak marshmallows come in a range of sizes and have the smoothest, fluffiest texture. What’s reassuring about the Doumak marshmallows is that they have a whole section on their website under “allergen statement”. In this section, they state that their Campfire marshmallows do not contain and are free from the following allergens:
- Crustacean Shellfish
- Soy Beans
- Tree Nuts
You can find their allergen statement here. The only ingredients in Campfire marshmallows are:
“Corn syrup, Sugar, Modified Food Starch (Corn), Gelatin, Water, Dextrose, Natural and Artificial Flavor, Tetra sodium Pyrophosphate”
As you can see, this brand isn’t quite as natural as the others we’ve seen today! But they are just as sweet, and just as tasty. Depending on the size, you can get these for just $2+ a bag.
Other Gluten-Free Marshmallows
While others may not specifically state that they’re gluten-free, most brands will be free of any gluten. You can check out some more gluten-free options here. Even most own brands and the cheapest options will be gluten-free – so if you’re on a budget, you can still enjoy marshmallows.
A popular brand is not gluten-free and worth mentioning is Kraft Jet-Puffed. While they contain no gluten ingredients, a representative has disclosed that there is a 50 percent chance of contact with cereal grains from other foods. While this may be okay if your intolerance to gluten isn’t very sensitive, it may be best to avoid this brand if you’re celiac.
I hope this article has helped you see how easy it is to enjoy marshmallows when following a gluten-free diet. There are lots of options available to us – many of which are the most popular brands! Most marshmallows and marshmallow creams are safe for us. Just always be sure to double-check the labels, even if it’s a brand you’re familiar with; as ingredients are subject to change at any time.
Are there any marshmallows that I haven’t mentioned that you think are worthy of the list? If so, please feel free to leave them in the comments below.
Hi, my name’s Zoë. I’m 28 years old and live in London, UK. I work full time as a freelance writer and critic for West End theatre. Writing has been a passion of mine for as long as I can remember. I spend most of my free time at the theatre, or at conventions. I’m married to the love of my life, and live in a small apartment with my fur baby, Lillie. I run two of my own blogs: No Safer Place and Stage to Page: both of which have won awards. I also have a YouTube channel where I talk about all things stagey.