Are Froot Loops Gluten-Free? (Gluten Free Cereal List)

Last Updated on February 14, 2022

Today, we’re going to be answering the question: are Froot Loops gluten-free? And taking a look at a comprehensive gluten-free cereal list. Breakfast is said to be the most important meal of the day. And that if you start your day off right with a good breakfast, you have a head start on the day. However, breakfast foods such as cereal and toast are quite often not gluten-free. Because of this, it can be a tricky mealtime to work around. But we’ll be taking a look at whether Froot Loops are gluten-free, and other popular cereals.

Fruit Loops Ingredients List

Let’s start by taking a look at the ingredients in the infamous Froot Loops; the popular cereal from Kellogg’s. They’re brightly colored, sweet and fruity – the perfect breakfast treat. Froot Loops contain the following ingredients:

  • corn flour blend (whole grain yellow flour, yellow corn flour)
  • sugar
  • wheat flour
  • whole-grain oat flour
  • modified food starch
  • vegetable oil
  • oat fiber
  • maltodextrin
  • salt
  • soluble corn fiber
  • natural flavor
  • red 40
  • yellow 5
  • blue 1
  • vitamins and minerals

Fruit Loops Ingredients List

Learn more about: Do Fruit Loops Have Gluten? (Top GF Cereal Brands)

Are Froot Loops Gluten-Free?

As you can probably see from the list of ingredients, Froot Loops are most definitely NOT gluten-free. They contain wheat flour and oat flour – both of which are not suitable for a gluten-free diet. If you are gluten intolerant or have celiac disease, you should avoid Froot Loops and all its varieties, including:

  • Wild Berry Froot Loops Cereal
  • Froot Loops Cereal
  • Froot Loops Marshmallow Cereal

Gluten-Free Cereal List

If you’re new to the gluten-free diet, don’t worry – there’s a huge selection of gluten-free cereals to help you get the perfect start to your day. Let’s take a look at some of the leading brands and the gluten-free cereals they have to offer.


It’s important to note that although Kellogg’s cereals Rice Krispies and Corn Flakes do not contain wheat – they are not gluten-free; this is because they contain barley. This may be hidden as “malt syrup”, so always be vigilant.

However, the following Kellogg’s cereals are gluten-free:

  • Kashi Go Keto-friendly cereals: Dark Cocoa and Cinnamon Vanilla
  • Bear Naked Grain Free Granolas: Almond Coconut, Dark Chocolate Almond, Maple Cinnamon
  • Bear Naked GranolasCacao & Cashew Butter and Toasted Coconut Almond

General Mill’s

General Mills is a great starting point for gluten-free cereal. They offer a wide selection of choices and can be found in most grocery stores. Their gluten-free flavors include:

  • Cinnamon Chex
  • Peanut Butter Chex
  • Rice Chex
  • Corn Chex
  • Chocolate Chex
  • Honey Nut Chex
  • Blueberry Chex


Post’s is more of a kid-friendly brand. So if you’re looking for a new cereal for the little ones in your life – I would highly recommend Post’s. You can try the following gluten-free cereals:

  • Fruity Pebbles
  • Cocoa Pebbles
  • Cinnamon Pebbles
  • Honey Bunches of Oats Chocolate
  • Malt-O-Meal® Brand: Fruity Dyno-Bites, Cocoa Dyno-Bites, Crispy Rice

Other Brands

Some other popular brands of gluten-free cereal include:

  • Nature’s Path (Summer Berries Granola, Gorilla Munch, Fruit and Nut Granola, Crunchy Maple Sunrise, Blueberry Pecan Granola)
  • Bob’s Red Mill (Gluten-Free Oats, Gluten-Free Muesli, Cranberry Almond Homestyle Granola, Coconut Spice Homestyle Granola, Maple Sea Salt Homestyle Granola, Lemon Blueberry Homestyle Granola)
  • GoFree by Nestle (Corn Flakes, Honey Flakes, Rice Pops, Coco Rice)
  • Erin Baker’s (Coconut Chia, Granola Double Chocolate, Granola Chocolate Coconut Crunch, Granola Pumpkin Seed and Flax, Granola Honey Oat Clusters, Granola Peanut Butter, Granola Fruit, and Nut)


I hope this article has helped to answer the question: are Froot Loops gluten-free? And given you a few ideas of where to start your cereal search if you’ve only just received your diagnosis. It can feel overwhelming at first, but you’ll be a gluten-free expert in no time at all.

What’s your favorite gluten-free cereal? Did your favorite make the list? If not, I would love to hear from you. My favorite is GoFree Honey Flakes. Please feel free to let me know any answers or new suggestions in the comments below. We may be introducing each other to some new gluten-free cereal! Sharing is caring.

Read more about Gluten-Free Breakfast Cereals List: Top Picks


What Kids Cereal is Gluten-Free?

To try to encourage children to eat cereal for breakfast, companies try to make their packaging and character's as exciting as possible - for children with a gluten intolerance, it can be slightly more challenging to find a cereal quite as appealing as something like Froot Loops. However, there are plenty of options to choose from! Some popular favorites I would recommend are Cocoa Pebbles by Post, Puffins Honey Rice Cereal by Barbara's, Gluten Free Rice Chex, Gluten Free Honey Nut Cheerios and Annie's Cinnabunnies (these are particularly appealing as they come in the shape of bunnies!)

Is Cheerios Safe for Celiacs?

The answer is still out on this question. Considering the amount of gluten intolerants/celiacs that have had a reaction to them recently, I would strongly advise not eating Cheerios. While Original Cheerios do not contain any gluten ingredients, and will probably be safe for those with milder intolerances - they do not hold any gluten free certifications. It's entirely your decision if you still feel comfortable eating Cheerios. 

Is Rice Krispies Cereal Gluten-Free?

Unfortunately, Rice Krispies, are definitely not gluten free. Kellogg's Rice Krispies contain malt syrup, which is a derivative from barley. Barley is one of the cereal grains that you need to avoid when following a gluten free diet. Rice Krispies did have a gluten free version of their popular cereal, but unfortunately they no longer make this option - which is very frustrating. However, there are lots of similar gluten free alternatives to try.

Are Post Honey O’s Gluten-Free?

No. Honey O's are most definitely not gluten free. They do not make any gluten free claims on their packaging and also have "wheat" listed as one of the main ingredients in their cereal. This cereal should be avoided when following a gluten free lifestyle.