Is Soft-Serve Ice Cream Gluten-Free?

Today, we’re going to be answering the question: is soft-serve ice cream gluten-free? We may be in the middle of winter, but spring and summer are just around the corner and it’ll be time to begin enjoying ice cream in the glorious sunshine again. But is soft-serve ice cream gluten-free? Are there any flavors you need to be wary of? Let’s take a closer look into the world of soft-serve ice cream.

Gluten-Free Ice Cream

Now on to the exciting part – gluten-free brands that carry a gluten-free certification and couldn’t be safer for us to enjoy! There are a plethora of options available, but we’ll be taking a look at what the two leading brands of ice cream have to offer: Haagen Dazs and Ben & Jerry’s.

Haagen Dazs

Haagen Dazs has an almighty selection of ice cream, that all carry a gluten-free label. Are you ready to dive into their gluten-free ice cream list? We may be here a while!

  • Banana Peanut Butter Ice Cream
  • Butter Pecan Ice Cream
  • Chocolate Ice Cream
  • Chocolate Peanut Butter Ice Cream
  • Chocolate Salted Fudge Truffle
  • Chocolate Sea Salt Caramel Heaven Light Ice Cream
  • Coconut Caramel
  • Coffee Chip Ice Cream
  • Coffee Ice Cream
  • Cold Brew Espresso Chip Heaven Light Ice Cream
  • Dulce de Leche Ice Cream
  • Green Tea Ice Cream
  • Honey Salted Caramel Almond Ice Cream
  • Mango Ice Cream
  • Mint Chip Ice Cream
  • Peppermint Bark Ice Cream
  • Pineapple Coconut Ice Cream
  • Pistachio Ice Cream
  • Rocky Road Ice Cream
  • Rum Raisin Ice Cream
  • Vanilla Ice Cream
  • Strawberry Ice Cream
  • Vanilla Bean Ice Cream
  • Vanilla Chocolate Chip Ice Cream
  • White Chocolate Raspberry Truffle Ice Cream
  • Vanilla Swiss Almond Ice Cream

Vanilla Ice Cream

Learn more about: Is There Gluten In Jello? (GF Brands)

You can find their full range of gluten-free ice cream, ice cream bars, and sorbets here.

Ben & Jerry’s

Another popular ice cream brand is Ben & Jerry’s. Over the past few years, their certified range of gluten-free ice creams has grown massively. They now stock the following gluten-free flavors:

  • Cherry Garcia
  • Chunky Monkey
  • Coffee Coffee Buzz Buzz Buzz
  • New York Super Fudge Chunk
  • Phish Food
  • Pistachio Pistachio
  • Vanilla
  • Vanilla Caramel Fudge
  • Cherry Garcia (non-dairy)
  • Karamel Sutra Core (non-dairy)
  • Phish Food (non-dairy)
  • Bananas Foster (non-dairy)
  • Boom Chocolatta (non-dairy)
https://www.benjerry.com/flavors/vanilla-caramel-fudge-ice-cream/pint

You can find a full list of their gluten-free items, including their frozen yogurt and mini cups here. Their products are also non-GMO sourced and Fairtrade certified, meaning they’re suitable for a range of dietary lifestyles.

Conclusion

I hope this article has helped to answer the question: is soft-serve ice cream gluten-free? And helped it easier to identify why an ice cream may not be gluten-free, and how to make the risk of cross-contact as low as possible. For ordering in an ice cream store, my advice would be: avoid toppings, stick to plain flavors if you’re unsure which flavors are gluten-free, and always inform your server of your intolerances/allergies.

What’s your favorite ice cream? Which gluten-free ice cream brands didn’t make the list that you think are worthy of a spot? Please feel free to let me know in the comments below. Sharing is caring!

Read more about: Is Kona Ice Gluten-Free?

FAQs

Is All Soft Serve Gluten-Free?

In short: no. However, the majority of flavors of soft serve ice cream will be gluten free. There are very few ingredients in ice cream, particularly in standard flavors such as vanilla, strawberry and chocolate. If you're wanting to opt for a flavor that's a little more adventurous, such as Rocky Road, Cookie Dough, Cookies and Cream, Birthday Cake etc., these flavors are far more likely to contain gluten. And they will unlikely be safe to consume when following a gluten free diet. Wherever you buy your ice cream from should have a full allergens guide online, or instore. 

Does Dairy Queen Ice Cream Have Gluten in it?

Most of the soft serve ice cream at Dairy Queen does not have any gluten containing ingredients. They have a full nutritional and allergen guide online. However, on their website, they state that, "Gluten is in many DQ products and cross-contact may easily occur during product preparation.". They recommend instead that you opt for Dilly Bars, Buster Bar Treats, Fudge Bars, Vanilla Orange Bars or Starkiss Bars, as they come in sealed plastic wrappers, where they know cross contact will not have taken place. It's also important to note that although Dairy Queen has many gluten free ice creams, their toppings and cones are not gluten free.

Can Someone With Celiac Disease Eat Ice Cream?

Absolutely! It's relatively easy to enjoy ice cream in comparison to other desserts when you live with celiac disease. The only issue you need to be wary of is cross contact. Cross contact is highly likely to take place at an ice cream store. Even if what you're ordering does not contain gluten, it's always best to make your server aware of your gluten intolerance so they can take the necessary precautions to keep your order as safe as possible. 

Is Haagen Dazs Ice Cream Gluten Free?

Not all of Haagen Dazs ice cream is gluten free, but they have an incredible selection of gluten free flavors that we can enjoy. We'll take a closer look at flavors in this post, but some of their popular gluten free favorites include, Butter Pecan ice cream, Banana Peanut Butter Chip ice cream, Chocolate ice cream, Coffee Ice Cream, Chocolate Peanut Butter ice cream - and so many more!

Do Ice Cream Cones Have Gluten?

Ice cream cones are not made using many ingredients at all. To make ice cream cones, you just need the following ingredients: milk, eggs, sugar, vegetable oil and all purpose flour. As you can see from the list of ingredients, flour is one of the most common ingredients. Many brands use all purpose wheat flour, which means that the majority of ice cream cones will not be gluten free, and should not be eaten when following a gluten free diet.