Are Corn Pops Gluten Free? (& GF Alternatives)

Last Updated on August 16, 2022

Today, we’re going to be answering the question: are Corn Pops gluten free? And taking a look at the gluten free alternative to Corn Pops. Since my diagnosis, I’ve found breakfast times one of the most difficult meal times to navigate because I’ve found that most breakfast foods contain gluten.

Pancakes, waffles, cereals, and toast – all contain gluten. However, nowadays, there are plenty of gluten free options available, which makes life easier for us. But are Corn Pops gluten free and safe to consume for breakfast? Let’s take a closer look.

What Are Corn Pops?

Corn Pops is a brand of breakfast cereal from Kellogg’s. They’ve currently been around for over 70 years, making them of the longest-running cereals! They’re crispy, sweet, and have a real crunch to them. Essentially, the cereal is made from corn, which has then been sweetened. You can purchase this cereal from most grocery stores.

What Are Corn Pops

Ingredients In Corn Pops

You may be wondering about the ingredients when it comes to Corn Pops. Each packet of Corn Pops contains the following ingredients:

  • milled corn
  • sugar
  • corn syrup
  • molasses
  • salt
  • vegetable oil
  • mixed tocopherols
  • annatto extract color
  • wheat starch
  • vitamins and minerals

Nutritional Information Of Corn Pops

You may be curious as to the nutritional information when it comes to corn pops. Each 40g serving of this cereal contains the following:

  • Calories: 150
  • Fat: 0g
  • Sodium: 160mg
  • Carbs: 36g
  • Sugars: 15g
  • Protein: 2g

Are Corn Pops Gluten Free?

As you can probably tell from the list of ingredients, Kellogg’s Corn Pops are not gluten free. While you would assume that Corn Pops are gluten free, as corn is a non-gluten-containing grain, this is unfortunately not the case. Corn Pops contain wheat starch as one of their ingredients. Wheat contains gluten, and therefore should not be eaten on a gluten free diet.

It’s important to be wary of Kellogg’s too, as although some of their products do not have gluten listed as an ingredient, they may have been a victim of cross-contact. This is when the product may have come into contact with gluten somewhere between harvesting and storage methods. Always be sure to check the labels carefully.

Z Natural Foods Organic Puffed Buckwheat, Crunchy Superfood Snacks

Gluten Free Alternatives To Corn Pops

While Corn Pops may not be gluten free, there are plenty of other corn breakfast cereals that are gluten free. There are plenty of options available, but these are simply my top picks. Let’s take a look.

Nature’s Path Gorilla Munch

Without a doubt, the closest match to gluten free Corn Pops is Gorilla Munch by Nature’s Path, and their Envirokidz range. Their corn puffs are sweet, crunchy and most importantly? Good for you. This particular brand contains just four ingredients:

  • whole grain corn meal
  • corn meal
  • raw cane sugar
  • sea salt

Not only is this product certified gluten free (meaning it’s as safe as can possibly be), but it’s also organic, and contains no artificial colors, preservatives or flavors. You can find out more about this product here.

Corn Chex

While the next alternative isn’t textually similar to Corn Pops, the taste is almost identical, as they’re both made using predominantly corn. All flavors of Chex are gluten free, except the Wheat Chex, and they have some great flavors too. Corn Chex is also packed with vitamins and minerals too. The ingredients in Corn Chex are:

  • whole grain corn
  • corn meal
  • sugar
  • corn starch
  • salt
  • baking soda
  • vitamin E (for freshness)

You can find this product at most grocery stores, and as well as being gluten free, it’s also pretty reasonably priced too. Whether you serve it with fruit, honey or even yoghurt – Corn Chex makes for a delicious choice.

Holland & Barrett Organic Puffed Buckwheat

The final choice is the Organic Puffed Buckwheat from Holland and Barret. Holland & Barret is a health food chain store, and they have a great supply of gluten free products. While this isn’t made from corn, buckwheat is a similar alternative. Despite it’s name, buckwheat does not contain any wheat whatsoever. The ingredients in their Organic Puffed Buckwheat are:

  • 100% organic buckwheat puffs

…that’s right! There’s just one ingredient. I usually add some sugar to this cereal to make it a little more exciting.

Conclusion, Are Corn Pops Gluten Free

I hope this post has helped to answer the question: are Corn Pops gluten free? And also given you an idea of the best alternatives to try when it comes to gluten free corn cereal. While breakfast time may seem difficult to arrange at first, you’ll find new favorites in no time at all! Our top picks are all delicious.

Do you have any gluten free corn cereal favorites that didn’t make the list? If so, please feel free to let me know in the comments below. Sharing is caring.


Are All Pops Gluten-Free?

Absolutely not. It's important not to assume that ANYTHING is gluten free. Most foods can contain gluten, so for this reason, always check the ingredients labels of any food you buy, including pops.

Which Grain is Gluten-Free?

There are many grains that are gluten free, some of which may surprise you. Some of the most popular gluten free grains are rice, corn, tapioca, buckwheat and sorghum. Other gluten free grains include amaranth, arrowroot, flax, millet, quinoa, soy and teff. This is just a small selection, there are so many more!

What Snacks Can I Eat Gluten-Free?

When it comes to gluten free snacks, you can find almost anything free from gluten nowadays. All fruit and vegetables are naturally gluten free, so they're a great place to start for snacks. I also enjoy chips and dip as a snack, as well as foods such as nuts and seeds.

Is Rice Krispies Gluten-Free?

Unfortunately, Rice Krispies are not gluten free. They contain an ingredient called "malt flavoring", which is a derivative from barley. Barley is a gluten containing grain and should not be consumed when following a gluten free diet. Rice Krispies are definitely not labelled as gluten free.