Last Updated on June 27, 2022
Today, we’re going to be answering the question: which gin is gluten free? And taking a look at the best gluten-free gin brands, as well as brands that are made without using gluten grains. When I first received my diagnosis, I was surprised to find out that drinks can contain gluten; and alcoholic drinks are no exception. There has been an ongoing debate for years as to whether spirits and liquors are gluten-free. But which gin is gluten-free? Let’s take a closer look.
What Is Gin?
Gin is a type of liquor and an alcoholic drink that has gone through the process of distillation. While some people may think that gin is simply flavored vodka, that couldn’t be further from the truth. Gin is a clear spirit that typically has an ABV of 35-50%. The main flavor you’ll taste in traditional gin is juniper berries; although other botanicals are typically added too.
Learn more about Gluten-Free Gift Baskets With Wine: Our Top Choices
Nowadays, you can find gin in almost any flavor! From desserts to popular candy flavors – gin has it all. Gin has become increasingly popular in recent years, and with all the wacky options it has to offer, it’s not difficult to see why.
Ingredients In Gin
The ingredients in gin can vary depending on which brand and flavor of gin you purchase. However, the most common ingredients you’ll find in gin are:
- base neutral alcohol
- juniper berries
- angelica root
- orris root
- black pepper
Nutritional Information Of Gin
You may be wondering what the nutritional value is when it comes to gin. Each jigger of gin contains the following:
- Calories: 110
- Fat: 0g
- Sodium: 0.8mg
- Carbs: 0g
- Sugar: 0g
- Dietary Fiber: 0g
- Protein: 0g
Does Gin Contain Gluten?
It’s a topic that’s been up for debate for many years – does gin contain gluten? Most experts say that although gin is made from gluten-containing grains (such as wheat, rye, barley, etc.) because it’s gone through the distillation process, the alcohol is no longer a risk for those following a gluten-free diet.
It may seem confusing, but the distillation process is thought to remove any proteins from the gluten that is dangerous to those with celiac disease or could cause a reaction in those with gluten intolerance.
It’s important to note that although most experts agree with this, there are some that do not. Because of this, we’ll be taking a look at brands that are gluten-free (but made from gluten grains) and those which are made from non-gluten grains, such as potatoes.
I’ve never had a problem with any gin – but I would love to hear your experiences, so let me know in the comments below.
Which Gin Is Gluten Free?
Now, the reason you’re here! Which gin brands are considered gluten-free and safe to consume when celiac or sensitive to gluten? The following brands are derived from gluten-containing grains but do not contain gluten due to the distillation process.
- Bombay Sapphire
- Beefeater Gin
- Aviation American Gin
- Martin Miller’s Gin
- Gin Mare
- Whitley Neill
- Manchester Gin
You’ll find most of these brands within the UK and the US, and are easily accessible in most grocery stores.
Gin Made From Non Gluten Grains
If you’d feel more comfortable enjoying gin that’s not made from gluten-containing grains, that’s completely understandable! The following brands are considered the safest possible as they’re made from grains such as potatoes.
G-Vine gin is a French brand. Of course, juniper is the main aromatic flavor you’ll taste in this particular gin. However, G-Vine pride itself on not being made with cereal grains. Instead, it’s made using grape brandy, the vine flower, and the traditional aromatic herbs and spices. You can find out more about this particular gin here.
Maine Distilleries’ Cold River Gin
Maine Distilleries Gin is definitely not made from gluten-containing grains! In fact, it’s labeled as “100% potato gin” and carries a gluten-free label. It also has a secret blend of seven traditional botanicals to make it as tasty as possible. You can purchase this gin if you’re from the UK or US.
If you’re looking for other gin brands made from potatoes, you can also try Monololowa Dry Gin or Schramm Organic Gin. However, these brands are a bit trickier to find. Do you know of any other brands that are made from non-gluten grains?
I hope this article has helped to answer the question: which gin is gluten-free? In all honesty, most gin is considered gluten-free and should not pose a risk to those following a gluten-free diet. However, it’s always best to check the ingredients labels of anything you purchase, as ingredients can change at any time.
Do you know of any other gluten-free gin brands? If so, please feel free to let me know in the comments below. Sharing is caring!
Can You Have Gin With Celiac?
Yes! Most spirits and liquors are considered safe to drink when following a gluten free diet. The distillation process is thought to remove any of the harmful protein, even when made using gluten grains.
What Gin is Not Made From Grain?
If you're looking for gin made from grains such as potatoes, you may want to try the following brands: G-Vine, Maine Distilleries' Cold River, Schramm's Organic Gin and Monololowa Dry Gin.
Is Fever Tree Tonic Gluten-Free?
If you're looking for a mixer to go alongside your gin, nothing is better than a gin and tonic. Fever Tree is one of the most common mixers to pair with gin - and guess what? It's completely gluten free! So feel free to enjoy a gin and tonic or two this summer.
What Brands of Gin are Gluten-Free?
The following brands of gin are considered gluten free: Hendrick's, Bombay Sapphire, Beefeater Gin, Gordon's, Tanqueray, Seagram's, Aviation American Gin, Martin Miller's Gin, Gin Mare, Larios, Whitley Neill and Manchester Gin.
Hi, my name’s Zoë. I’m 28 years old and live in London, UK. I work full time as a freelance writer and critic for West End theatre. Writing has been a passion of mine for as long as I can remember. I spend most of my free time at the theatre, or at conventions. I’m married to the love of my life, and live in a small apartment with my fur baby, Lillie. I run two of my own blogs: No Safer Place and Stage to Page: both of which have won awards. I also have a YouTube channel where I talk about all things stagey.