On The Border Gluten Free Menu: What You Can Eat

Last Updated on June 29, 2022

Today, we’re going to be taking a look at the On the Border gluten free menu, and what food products they have available that do not contain any gluten ingredients. It can feel as though eating out is difficult when you live with gluten intolerance – but it doesn’t have to be. There are plenty of restaurants and fast-food chains that now offer gluten-free options; On the Border being one of them. Let’s take a look at what we can eat from On the Border.

What Is On The Border?

If you live in the US, you’ll likely already be familiar with On the Border. On the Border is a restaurant that serves Tex-Mex cuisine. If you’re looking for fajitas, salad, tacos, and other Mexican-inspired dishes, On the Border is the place for you.

What Is On The Border

On the Border has been serving Mexican-inspired cuisine for almost 40 years now, and they have over 150 locations in the US and South Korea. As well as their tasty food, they’re also known for their infamous cocktails, such as margaritas.

Learn more about Taco Bell’s Gluten-Free Products

Does On The Border Have A Gluten Free Menu?

On the Border does not have a specifically gluten-free menu. However, it does have a gluten-friendly menu. It has a range of starters and soups available, as well as fajitas, tacos, salads, and much more. These food products do not contain any gluten ingredients – and we’ll be taking a closer look at them in more detail later in this post.

What Is The Difference Between Gluten Friendly and Gluten Free?

You may be wondering what the difference is between gluten-free and gluten-friendly. For something to be gluten-free, it must be tested for gluten and not have any risk of coming into contact with gluten throughout preparation and cooking, etc. Because of this, none of the food at On the Border is exclusively gluten-free.

Gluten friendly means that all of the items on that specific menu do not contain any gluten. However, they may share preparation areas, utensils, fryers, etc. For this reason, it’s important to make your server aware when ordering of any allergies or intolerances that you have, so they can take the precautions necessary.

You can find out more about their procedures and policies when it comes to allergies and intolerances here.

On The Border Gluten Free Menu

Now we’ve got the boring part out the way – let’s move on to why you’re here! What foods do they serve at On the Border that does not contain any gluten? Let’s take a look.

It’s worth mentioning that if a food item has an * next to it, it’s cooked in the same fryer as gluten-containing foods. And if it has ** next to it, it contains soy sauce (which contains a small amount of gluten).

Starters and Dips

  • guacamole
  • guacamole/queso duo
  • signature queso
  • smoky queso
  • signature queso-primo style
  • border-style queso

with tortilla chips*

Entree Salads and Soups

  • chicken tortilla soup (with tortilla strips*)
  • fajita salad – mesquite-grilled chicken/mesquite-grilled steak (with onions**)
  • grande taco salad – chicken tinga or ground beef (with no tortilla crisps)
  • chicken flautas*
  • dressings: ranch, avocado ranch, lime vinaigrette, smoked jalapeno vinaigrette, or house-made salsa

Border Bowls

  • grilled chicken
  • grilled steak
  • portobello
  • grilled shrimp

Border Tacos

  • chicken mini street-style tacos
  • steak mini street-style tacos


  • green chile
  • salsa fresca
  • signature queso

Fajitas (with no tortillas)

  • grilled chicken
  • grilled steak
  • portobello mushroom
  • Monterey ranch chicken
  • shrimp skewer (add on)

**without onions

Mesquite Grill

  • grilled queso chicken
  • Mexican grilled chicken

Add-Ons and Sides

  • Pico de Gallo
  • sour cream
  • grilled shrimp skewer
  • house salad (with tortilla strips*)
  • cilantro lime rice
  • black beans
  • refried beans
  • guacamole
  • avocado slices
  • Mexican rice
  • corn tortillas
  • sautéed vegetables
  • mixed cheese


  • mini soft corn chicken tacos
  • black beans
  • Mexican rice
  • refried beans
  • chocolate sundae
  • strawberry sundae
  • blue raspberry blast
  • cherry blast

Soft Drinks

  • iced tea
  • iced flavored teas
  • sprite
  • dr pepper
  • diet coke
  • coca cola
  • coca-cola zero sugar
  • minute maid lemonade
  • strawberry lemonade

*alcoholic drinks are also available


I hope this article has helped you to become more familiar with the On the Border gluten-free menu. While it’s not strictly classed as a “gluten-free menu”, it is gluten-friendly, which is great for those with milder gluten intolerances. It’s worth noting that it’s best to avoid On the Border if you have celiac disease. This is because they can’t 100% guarantee your order will contain no gluten.

What have your experiences been like at On the Border since being gluten-free? I would love to hear them – positive or negative. So please feel free to let me know in the comments below. Sharing is caring!

Read more about Five Guys Gluten Free Menu: What Can You Eat


Are On the Border Chips Gluten-Free?

While the tortilla chips themselves do not contain any gluten ingredients, they may be made in a shared fryer with gluten containing foods. For this reason, you may want to check with your server before ordering if this is the case. Every location is different, so it's always best to ask for clarification. 

Does On the Border Queso Have Gluten?

On the Border queso does not contain any gluten - hurrah. Also, it's not just gluten free! It also has no added sugar and no artificial flavors, making it suitable for a range of dietary lifestyles. 

Are Tortilla Chips Gluten-Free?

Tortilla chips do not typically contain gluten. This is because they're made from a non gluten containing grain, corn. However, there's always a risk of cross contact; so it's best to opt for brands that carry a gluten free label. Some of the most popular gluten free brands include: Frito-Lay tortilla chips, The Better Chip, Garden of Eatin' tortilla chips, Kettle tortilla chips and Mission Foods tortilla chips.

Is On the Border Salsa Con Queso Gluten Free?

Much like their every queso, this particular one is also gluten free. One thing's for sure - you can enjoy queso at ease when eating at On the Border.