Last Updated on June 29, 2022
Today, we’re going to be taking a look at a Five Guys gluten free menu, and what you can eat that doesn’t contain gluten. We’ll also be looking at a copycat Five Guys fries recipe because let’s be honest – they are the tastiest fries ever! Five Guys is relatively new in comparison to other fast-food restaurants, but it’s taken the world by storm in recent years. But can you eat there when following a gluten-free diet? Let’s take a closer look.
What Is Five Guys?
Five Guys is a fast-food restaurant, that serves restaurant-quality food (they really are that good!). While they opened in the US just over 35 years ago, they have since opened locations all across the world including the UK, Australia, Hong Kong, and many more. In fact, they have almost 1700 locations worldwide.
While they’re most famous for their burgers and French fries, they also serve hot dogs, milkshakes, and a huge selection of soft drinks.
Does Five Guys Have A Gluten Free Menu?
While Five Guys do not have an exclusively gluten-free menu, they do offer a range of items that are free from any gluten-containing ingredients. When a product does not make any gluten-free claims, it means that their products are not tested for gluten, and cross-contact may happen in their kitchens, due to the fact that they do handle gluten.
However, Five Guys are usually knowledgeable on the gluten-free diet, and happy to change gloves and take as many precautions as they can when preparing your order. It’s important to tell your server of any allergies or intolerances you have, even if you are only ordering items that do not contain gluten.
Do Five Guys Have Gluten Free Buns?
Unfortunately, Five Guys do not currently offer a gluten-free bun for their burgers or hot dogs. However, they do offer a lettuce wrap as a substitution, or you can simply order a bunless burger. I prefer the bunless burger! We can keep our fingers crossed for the future that they start to supply gluten-free buns.
Five Guys Gluten Free Menu
If you’re wondering which foods from Five Guys do not contain any gluten – look no further! There’s a surprising amount of options available. The products we’re looking at are from the US; different countries may vary in ingredients, so it’s always best to check.
- All of Five Guys fries are gluten-free. They are made in dedicated fryers and cooked in peanut oil – Cajun Style/Original
Burgers (lettuce wrap/bunless burger)
- Little Hamburger
- Little Cheeseburger
- Little Bacon Burger
- Bacon Burger
- Little Bacon Cheeseburger
- Bacon Cheeseburger
Read more about: Does Mayonnaise Have Gluten?
Hot Dogs (no bun)
- Original Hot Dog
- Cheese Dog
- Bacon Dog
- Bacon Cheese Dog
- BBQ sauce
- Hot Sauce
- Steak Sauce
- Grilled Onions
- Jalapeno Peppers
- Green Peppers
- All of the soft drinks from the Coca-Cola machines are gluten-free
- Milkshake Base
- Whipped Cream
- Peanut Butter
- Salted Caramel
- Dark Vanilla
Five Guys Gluten Free Air Fryer Fries Recipe
The Cajun fries at Five Guys are simply incredible. If you’re not comfortable eating as fast food places (which is understandable) or you want to recreate this fan favorite at home – look no further. This is a recipe inspired by Recipe This.
The ingredients you’ll need for this recipe are:
- 550g of white potatoes (peeled and cut into chips)
- 2.5ml of olive oil
- 1 tablespoon of Cajun spice
- 2 teaspoons of Mexican seasoning
- 1 teaspoon of mixed spice
- 1 teaspoon of coriander
- salt (to taste)
- pepper (to taste)
Now all you need to do is:
Step 1: Prepare the Potatoes
Wash and peel your potatoes. Then cut into small thin chips. Place the chips into a bowl of cold water and leave in the refrigerator for around 15 minutes. Remove the potatoes from the water and add them to another bowl. Add your oil, Cajun spice, Mexican seasoning, mixed spice, coriander, salt, and pepper to the potatoes. Mix with your hands.
Step 2: Cook
I hope this article has given you an insight into the Five Guys gluten-free menu. While they don’t specifically have a gluten-free menu, there are plenty of no-gluten options to choose from. And the best part? It’s absolutely delicious too!
What’s your go-to order when eating at Five Guys? Please feel free to let me know in the comments below. Sharing is caring!
Read more about: Do French Fries Have Gluten? (& GF Brands)
Can Celiacs Eat at Five Guys?
While Five Guys do not specifically cater for those with Celiac disease, it's all down to the individual. As long as you make your server aware before you order, it shouldn't be a problem. What's great about Five Guys is that they often have an open kitchen so you can see your order being prepared, for extra reassurance.
Are 5 Guys French Fries Gluten Free?
Five Guys French fries are completely gluten free. They do not contain any gluten. They're cooked in peanut oil. And they even have their own dedicated fryers, so cross contact with gluten is not a problem.
Does 5 Guys Cajun Seasoning Have Gluten?
Nope! The seasoning from Five Guys is also gluten free. So whether you're looking for the Cajun fries, or the original fries - you can enjoy either!
What is the Veggie Sandwich at Five Guys?
Five Guys recently released a veggie sandwich, which contains lettuce, tomatoes, green peppers, mushrooms and grilled onions - all on a toasted bun. However, this product is not gluten free and should not be consumed when following a gluten free diet. If you want to bring your own bun, you can build your own veggie sandwich with their tasty ingredients.
Hi, my name’s Zoë. I’m 28 years old and live in London, UK. I work full time as a freelance writer and critic for West End theatre. Writing has been a passion of mine for as long as I can remember. I spend most of my free time at the theatre, or at conventions. I’m married to the love of my life, and live in a small apartment with my fur baby, Lillie. I run two of my own blogs: No Safer Place and Stage to Page: both of which have won awards. I also have a YouTube channel where I talk about all things stagey.