Is Top Ramen Gluten Free?

Last Updated on April 22, 2022

Today, we’re going to be answering the question: is Top Ramen gluten free? And taking a look at the best gluten-free ramen brands available to those following a gluten-free lifestyle. Or you may want to try making your own gluten-free ramen – so we’ll be looking at a recipe you may want to try yourself too. But firstly, what is Top Ramen? Let’s see.

What Is Top Ramen?

To put it simply, Top Ramen is a brand of instant noodles. Top Ramen comes in a range of different flavors, including chicken, beef, shrimp, soy sauce, chili, and hot & spicy beef. Top Ramen from Nissin Foods has actually been around for over 50 years! It’s not difficult to see why it’s one of the most popular ramen brands available.

Read more about: Are Yakisoba Noodles Gluten-Free?

Ingredients In Top Ramen

The ingredients in the traditional chicken Top Ramen are:

  • enriched flour (wheat flour)
  • palm oil
  • salt
  • autolyzed yeast extract
  • citric acid
  • disodium guanylate
  • disodium inosinate
  • disodium succinate
  • dried leek flake
  • egg white
  • garlic powder
  • hydrolyzed corn protein
  • hydrolyzed soy protein
  • lactose
  • maltodextrin
  • natural and artificial flavor
  • onion powder
  • potassium carbonate
  • potassium chloride
  • powdered chicken
  • rendered chicken fat
  • silicon dioxide
  • sodium alginate
  • sodium carbonate
  • sodium tripolyphosphate
  • soybean
  • spice and color
  • succinic acid
  • sugar

Is Top Ramen Gluten Free?

As you can probably tell from the list of ingredients, top ramen is definitely not gluten-free. This is because the main ingredient in Top Ramen is wheat. Wheat is a gluten-containing grain and should not be consumed in any quantity when following a gluten-free diet. While they do cater to some dietary lifestyles like vegetarian, unfortunately, gluten-free is not one of them.

Gluten Free Ramen Brands

There are plenty of gluten-free ramen brands available, but we’ll be looking at our top picks today.

Lotus Foods

Lotus Foods is personally, my number one choice. They offer several varieties, some of which come with a seasoning packet, while others do not. Their ramen noodles are predominantly made from millet and brown rice.

Their options include:

  • Millet and Brown Rice (miso soup seasoning)
  • Buckwheat Shitake (mushroom soup seasoning)
  • Forbidden Rice (white miso soup seasoning)
  • Jade Pearl (wakame miso soup seasoning
  • Purple Potato (turmeric curry soup seasoning)

You can check out their full range of products and bulk buying deals here.

Thai Kitchen

Thai Kitchen offers a range of gluten-free products, including gluten-free instant ramen. They offer plain noodles, as well as flavored noodles – all of which are suitable for a gluten-free diet. Their gluten-free instant noodle range includes the following flavors:

Gluten Free Ramen Recipe

If you’re looking to make your own ramen, it’s super quick and easy to make. This recipe from Good For You Gluten Free and is my go-to recipe when it comes to ramen.


The ingredients you’ll need for this recipe are:

  • 4 cups of vegetable broth
  • 1 tablespoon of tamari
  • 1 tablespoon of honey
  • 1/2 teaspoon of freshly grated ginger
  • 2 gluten-free ramen nests (Lotus Foods is my go-to choice)
  • 1/3 cup of sliced mushrooms
  • 1 sliced baby bok choy
  • 2 hard (or soft) boiled eggs
  • 2 chopped scallions
  • 1 tablespoon of chopped fresh cilantro


Now all you need to do is:

Step 1: Prepare the Broth

Using a pan, bring your vegetable broth to the boil. Once boiling, add the honey, tamari, ginger, ramen noodles, and mushrooms. Lower the heat and cook the mixture for around 2-3 minutes. Add the bok choy and cook for a further minute. Now remove from heat.

Step 2: Serve the Ramen

Pour the ramen into serving bowls and place your egg, scallions, and cilantro on top of the dish. Your gluten-free ramen is ready to eat. For best results, serve immediately. Enjoy!

Read more about: Are Maruchan Ramen Noodles Gluten Free


I hope this article has helped to answer the question: is Top Ramen gluten-free? And also gives you an insight into the easily accessible gluten-free ramen brands we have available to us. As well as how to make your own ramen! It couldn’t be simpler once you’ve found your gluten-free ramen noodles.

Do you know of any other popular gluten-free ramen brands that didn’t make the list? Or maybe you have your own recipe you’d like to share? If so, please feel free to let me know in the comments below. Sharing is caring!


What are Gluten Free Ramen Noodles Made of?

Gluten free ramen noodles can be made from a variety of gluten free grains and products. However, the most popular options are ingredients such as millet, brown rice flour, potatoes, beans and tapioca. This list is by no means extensive; simply the most common choices when it comes to ingredients in gluten free ramen noodles.

How Much Gluten is in Instant Ramen?

While there isn't a set amount of gluten in instant ramen, it's safe to say that the percentage of gluten is incredibly high! This is because wheat flour is the main ingredient in ramen noodles and the base in any of the flavors they offer. 

What Kind of Ramen is Gluten Free?

There are plenty of naturally gluten free noodles that go well in ramen. Some of the best options available are soba noodles, glass noodles, shirataki noodles, rice noodles, kelp noodles...and even veggie noodles! All of those noodles are naturally gluten free. However, it's always best to check the ingredients, just in case any flavorings or additives mean that the final product is not suitable for a gluten free diet. 

Is Ramen Seasoning Gluten Free?

The answer to this isn't simple. In truth, it depends on the brand itself and the ingredients used. If you're wanting to use a seasoning packet that appears gluten free but the ramen noodles aren't - I would highly recommend not using the seasoning. While it may not contain any gluten, it's a huge risk of cross contact, and could contain traces of gluten. It may be best to make your own seasoning, when it comes to ramen seasoning.