Gluten Free Alfredo Sauce Brands?

Last Updated on January 18, 2022

Today, we’re going to be looking at gluten-free alfredo sauce brands. Alfredo sauce is creamy, thick, and utterly delicious. But is it safe to consume when following a gluten-free diet? Let’s take a closer look at the ingredients you’ll usually find in an Alfredo sauce. And then take a look at the top gluten-free brands available for us.

What Is Alfredo Sauce?

Alfredo sauce is relatively simple in comparison to other pasta sauces – but that doesn’t make it any less tasty! It’s most commonly known for layover pasta noodles and its thick, creamy texture makes it one of my favorites. It’s different from many other pasta sauces because it does not use tomato as a base. There are no vegetables insight with this sauce – in fact, it’s usually packed full of dairy!

It’s a popular Italian-American dish, that you’d actually struggle to find if you went on a trip to Italy!

Ingredients In Alfredo Sauce

The ingredients will differ slightly depending on where you purchase your alfredo sauce from. However, the most common ingredients are:

  • Butter
  • Cream
  • Garlic
  • Cheese
  • Herbs
  • Salt
  • Pepper

Is There Gluten In Alfredo Sauce?

As you can probably tell from the ingredients, alfredo sauce should be naturally gluten-free. None of the ingredients are likely to contain gluten, as they really should just be dairy and flavorings such as seasonings and herbs.

However, some sauce jars may contain gluten. This is because wheat flour is a thickening agent that is often used in commercial sauces. If you’re purchasing alfredo sauce in a jar, be sure to check the ingredients labels carefully because there is a chance they will contain gluten.

Another risk is cross-contact. Cross contact is when a product that does not contain any gluten comes into contact with a product that does contain gluten. This could be down to a number of factors such as manufacturing and preparation methods. This will likely be on the label, so it’s always best to check.

It’s also worth mentioning that although alfredo sauce is gluten-free, the dish itself will not be if you’re ordering at a restaurant. This is because the pasta most often used is fettuccine. Fettuccine is a thick pasta made with wheat flour and eggs. While you can find gluten-free fettuccine, it is not naturally gluten-free and you should always check before ordering.

Is Classico Alfredo Sauce Gluten-Free?

One of the most popular store-bought jars of alfredo sauce is the Classico Creamy Alfredo Pasta Sauce from Classico. And guess what? It’s gluten-free. Not only does it not contain any gluten ingredients, but it also carries a gluten-free label. This means that we can enjoy the Classico Alfredo sauce with ease!

The ingredients in the sauce are:

  • Water
  • Heavy Cream
  • Parmesan Cheese
  • Modified Cornstarch
  • Salt
  • Sugar
  • Enzyme Modified Egg Yolks
  • Whey Protein Concentrate
  • Flavored Butter
  • Pasteurized Milk
  • Dried Garlic
  • Xanthan Gum
  • Black Pepper
  • Lactic Acid
  • Sodium Phosphate
  • Natural Flavor
  • Enzymes
  • Cheese Culture
  • Gum Arabic

The only allergens are milk and eggs. You can find more about the sauce here.

is classico alfredo sauce gluten free

Gluten-Free Alfredo Sauce Jars

If you’re looking for other gluten-free alfredo sauce brands, look no further! There are plenty more to choose from. In fact, alfredo sauce is relatively easy to find gluten-free. It’s much more difficult to find dairy-free alfredo sauce, as dairy plays such a huge place in the sauce.


While we’ve looked briefly at the Classico Creamy Alfredo sauce (which is gluten-free), Classico actually has a range of gluten-free alfredo sauces! Their flavors include:

  • Roasted Red Pepper Alfredo Pasta Sauce
  • Roasted Garlic Alfredo Pasta Sauce
  • Four Cheese Alfredo Pasta Sauce
  • Sun-dried Tomato Alfredo Pasta Sauce
  • Mushroom Alfredo Pasta Sauce

They have over 30 gluten-free pasta sauces (not just alfredo!), so it’s definitely worth checking them out.


Rao’s Homemade Alfredo Sauce is rich, velvety, and is the perfect alfredo sauce. The ingredients in this popular jar sauce are:

  • Light Cream
  • Water
  • Butter
  • Parmesan and Romano Cheese
  • Enzyme Modified Egg Yolks
  • Parmesan Cheese
  • Sea Salt
  • Black Pepper
  • White Pepper
  • Modified Cornstarch
  • Disodium Phosphate
  • Xanthan Gum

While there are no gluten ingredients in this product, it does not carry a gluten-free label. This means that the end product is not tested for gluten. Therefore, there is a chance of cross-contact. Cross contact is when a non-gluten-containing product comes into contact with gluten due to parts of the process like manufacturing or preparation methods.


Stouffer’s Alfredo Parmigiana Sauce is a great choice for a gluten-free lifestyle. It comes with a gluten-free label, which means it’s tested for gluten and also contains no artificial flavors or colors.

The ingredients in this smooth, creamy sauce are:

  • skim milk
  • cream
  • water
  • canola oil
  • parmesan cheese
  • modified cornstarch
  • soybean oil
  • parmesan cheese pasta
  • sea salt
  • lactic acid
  • citric acid
  • butter
  • whey protein concentrate
  • nonfat milk
  • spice
  • seasoning

Homemade Gluten-Free Alfredo Sauce

If you’re looking to make your own alfredo sauce, it’s super easy to make! This Gluten-Free Olive Garden Copycat Alfredo Sauce is definitely worth taking a look at, from Let Them Eat Gluten Free Cake.

The only ingredients you’ll need for this recipe are:

  • butter
  • cream cheese
  • heavy cream
  • Parmigianino Reggiano
  • ground nutmeg
  • garlic powder (or garlic cloves)
  • salt
  • pepper


I hope this article has introduced you to some new gluten-free alfredo sauce brands. There are plenty of gluten-free options for alfredo sauce, and many jars you come across in the grocery store will be gluten-free. Just be sure to check the ingredients labels carefully, and always opt for those that carry a gluten-free label, if you can.

Do you know of any other gluten-free alfredo sauce brands? Which ones didn’t make it to the list? Please feel free to let me know of any others in the comments below. Sharing is caring!

Learn more about Mac and Cheese Sauce Without Flour: How To?