Last Updated on January 18, 2022
Today, we’re going to be answering the question: is there gluten in Jello? And taking a look at just a few of the gluten-free Jello brands available to consume when following a gluten-free lifestyle. Americans call it Jello and the Brits call it jelly. It’s an easy, delicious dessert that is perfect to end any meal – but is it gluten-free? Let’s take a look.
What Is Jello?
Jell-O is a brand of desserts from Kraft that have a variety of different options, including gelatins, puddings, and no-bake pies. The gelatin desserts are the most popular foods that Jell-O offers, and it’s not difficult to see why. Wobbly, fun, and utterly delicious. Plus, super easy to make too! It comes in a range of flavors to suit everyone’s tastes.
Ingredients In Jello
While some ingredients may differ depending on the flavor you choose, the main ingredients in Jell-O are:
- Food Color
- Sugar/Artificial Sweetener
- Artificial Flavors
Is Jello Gluten Free?
We have some good news if you’re a fan of Jell-O. According to The Gluten Free Bar, Jell-O is gluten-free! Kraft is extremely transparent when it comes to labeling their products, so if there’s no gluten anywhere on the label, you can safely assume the product is okay to eat.
However, it’s important to note that it does not come certified gluten-free. This means that the products do not go through testing for gluten. However, it’s very unlikely for any of their Jell-O products to have come into contact, as all of their gelatin desserts, instant pudding, and cook and serve puddings are gluten-free.
Here’s just a selection of some of the Jell-O gelatin desserts we can safely enjoy:
- Blackberry Fusion Gelatin Dessert
- Cherry Gelatin Dessert
- Black Cherry Gelatin Dessert
- Berry Blue Gelatin Dessert
- Lemon Gelatin Dessert
- Orange Sugar-Free Gelatin Dessert
- Cranberry Gelatin Dessert
- Blueberry Pomegranate Gelatin Dessert
- Mango Gelatin Dessert
- Watermelon Gelatin Dessert
- Peach Gelatin Dessert
- Lime Gelatin Dessert
- Raspberry Sugar-Free Gelatin Dessert
- Strawberry Banana Gelatin Dessert
- Original Strawberry Gelatin Snacks
- Sours Blue Raspberry Gelatin Snacks
Is Strawberry Jello Gluten Free?
Nothing beats the traditional strawberry Jell-O. That classic strawberry flavor is utterly delicious. And great news – it’s gluten-free!
The ingredients in the infamous strawberry Jell-O are:
- Sugar, Gelatin
- Adipic Acid (for Tartness)
- Artificial Flavor
- Disodium Phosphate
- Sodium Citrate (Control Acidity)
- Fumaric Acid (For Tartness)
- Red 40
No gluten in sight – hurrah!
Is Sugar-Free Jello Gluten Free?
You may be wondering if their sugar-free varieties are gluten-free too. Guess what? Every flavor is 100% gluten-free! My favorite Jell-O is black cherry. The ingredients in their Black Cherry Jell-O are:
- Adipic Acid (for Tartness)
- Maltodextrin (from Corn)
- Disodium Phosphate (Controls Acidity)
- Fumaric Acid (for tartness)
- Artificial Flavor
- Acesulfame Potassium (Sweetener)
- Red 40
- Blue 1
No gluten and no sugar – it’s a win/win!
Is Unflavored Gelatin Gluten-Free?
Typically, there should be no gluten in any gluten. Gelatin is a collagen protein. It’s made by boiling animal parts, such as the skin, the bones, and collective tissues. For this reason, there should be no gluten in any gelatin.
However, like with most foods, it’s always worth checking the ingredients labels, as we all know that gluten somehow manages to sneak its way into all the best things!
Potential Cross Contact
While most Jell-O is considered gluten-free and safe for consumption, cross contact is always a risk if you’re eating from a self-serve or somewhere like a birthday party. Cross contact is when non-gluten-containing products come into contact with gluten due to the methods in which it’s been made. Ask questions and be sure that the Jell-O has not come into contact with any other foods before enjoying.
Gluten Free Gelatin (Jello) Brands
While we’ve answered the question: is there gluten in Jello? in depth, there are plenty of other brands that you may like to enjoy – some even carrying a gluten-free label!
Snack Pack is a brand that’s home to a range of juicy gel snacks! They pride themselves on all of their gel snacks being gluten-free and kosher. If you prefer your food products to carry a gluten-free label, this is most definitely the brand for you.
Their gels are made from real fruit juice, and they have some incredible flavors including;
- Sour Patch Kids Redberry Juicy Gels
- Sour Patch Kids Blue Raspberry Juicy Gels
- Fanta Grape Snack Pack
- Fanta Orange Snack Pack
- Strawberry Super Snack Pack
- Fanta Pineapple Snack Pack
- Lemon-Lime Snack Pack
- Sugar Free Strawberry and Orange
- Sugar Free Cherry
- Strawberry and Orange
- Super Snack Pack Berry Blue Juicy Gels
- Super Snack Pack Orange Juicy Gels
- Strawberry and Orange Family Pack
- Strawberry and Berry Blue Family Pack
You can find the full range of Snack Pack Juicy Gel products available here.
Most brands of gelatin will be gluten-free. In fact, when browsing online at grocery stores, I wasn’t able to find any gelatin that contained any gluten. Even the Great Value Gelatin from Wal-Mart contains so much gluten, and that’s just $0.36! So it’s super easy to find gelatin without any gluten ingredients – even if you’re only comfortable buying products that make gluten-free claims!
I hope this article has helped to answer the question: is there gluten in Jello? And helped you to see just how easy it is to consume Jello on a gluten-free diet. While receiving your diagnosis is limiting in a lot of ways, there are plenty of desserts that we can enjoy freely – and Jello is most definitely one of them!
What’s your favorite flavor of Jell-O? I’m a black cherry girl, all the way! If you know of any other gluten-free gelatin brands that you’d be happy to share with us, please feel free to let us know in the comments below. Sharing is caring!
Hi, my name’s Zoë. I’m 28 years old and live in London, UK. I work full time as a freelance writer and critic for West End theatre. Writing has been a passion of mine for as long as I can remember. I spend most of my free time at the theatre, or at conventions. I’m married to the love of my life, and live in a small apartment with my fur baby, Lillie. I run two of my own blogs: No Safer Place and Stage to Page: both of which have won awards. I also have a YouTube channel where I talk about all things stagey.