Does Blue Cheese Have Gluten? (& GF Cheese List)

Last Updated on March 31, 2022

Today, we’re going to be answering the question: does blue cheese have gluten? The topic of whether blue cheese is safe for a gluten-free lifestyle has been a hot debate in previous years, but extensive research on the subject seems to have finally reached a verdict. Let’s take a closer look at whether blue cheese is gluten-free and an extensive gluten-free cheese list.

Ingredients In Blue Cheese

Blue cheese can be made from either cow’s, sheep’s, or goat’s milk. However, it’s more often made using cow’s milk. They then add the mold Penicillium to the cheese. The mold is what gives the cheese its blue/green mold throughout. You may know blue cheese better by these names:

  • Roquefort (French Blue Cheese)
  • Stilton (English)
  • Gorgonzola (Italian)

Gorgonzola (Italian)

Learn more about: Is Galbani Ricotta Cheese Gluten Free?

When Is Blue Cheese Not Gluten Free?

Although blue cheese has now been determined as safe on a gluten-free diet, it’s important to note that there are times when you may need to be careful when buying blue cheese. In particular, when you’re buying cheese from a deli. It’s unlikely that the blue cheese will contain any gluten ingredients. However, there’s a high risk of cross-contact when buying from a place where they prepare gluten-containing products.

Gluten Free Cheese List

The easiest way to determine whether cheese is gluten-free is to take a look at the ingredients label. However, Beyond Celiac has stated that some cheeses that are often always gluten-free and safe are:

  • Cheddar
  • Brie
  • Parmesan
  • Swiss
  • Feta
  • Goat’s Cheese
  • Ricotta
  • Provolone

There are some cheeses that are more likely to include gluten than others. While it’s easy to find gluten-free options for these cheeses, always be sure to check the labels, as gluten can sneak its way into almost anywhere.

  • Cottage Cheese. Wheat starch is a common additive to cottage cheese, so be sure your cottage cheese is free from any wheat or modified food starch
  • Cheese Spread. Cheese spread needs to be the right consistency to be spread, so gluten is sometimes added to make it even more spreadable
  • Shredded Cheese. Gluten ingredients can stop the cheese from sticking together, so some brands like to add gluten
  • Cheesecake. This may seem like a strange one – but although the cheese is usually gluten-free, the base of the cheesecake most definitely isn’t! So always check whether the base has been made with gluten-free ingredients

Blue Cheese Dressing Recipe

As blue cheese dressing can be difficult to find, I thought I’d share a gluten-free, vegetarian, keto-friendly blue cheese dressing recipe. The best part is, it’s super easy!


The ingredients you’ll need for this recipe are:

  • 1 cup of blue cheese (crumbled)
  • 1/2 cup of sour cream
  • 1 cup of mayonnaise
  • 1 tablespoon of fresh lemon juice
  • 1/2 teaspoon of salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon of ground black pepper


All you need to do to make this 5-minute recipe is follow these steps:

  1. In a food processor, add the blue cheese, sour cream, and mayonnaise. Turn on and mix until well combined. This should take around 1 minute.
  2. Grab the lemon juice, salt, and pepper and add to the food processor. Mix again and taste to check you’re happy with the flavor
  3. Place in the refrigerator for at least 30 minutes for best serving results
  4. Your blue cheese dressing is ready to eat!

Read more about: Is Dry Ranch Dressing Gluten-Free?


I hope this article has helped to answer the question: does blue cheese have gluten? And give you an extensive look at which cheese is safe to eat when following a gluten-free diet. Cheese is one of the easiest foods for us to enjoy. The only time we must be careful is when buying cheese over a deli counter, or fresh from somewhere like a market.

What’s your favorite cheese? I’m a huge lover of cheese, but I do love camembert and Wensleydale with cranberries! Is there a better way to finish a meal than with a plate of cheese and crackers? Yum! Let me know your favorite in the comments below. Sharing is caring!


Is There Gluten in Blue Cheese?

It has often been thought that blue cheese contains gluten. This is because the mold that they use in blue cheese is sometimes grown on bread or gluten containing products. Because of this, it's been a food that celiacs/gluten intolerants were told to avoid. However, extensive studies have shown that even if the mold was grown on such cultures, less than 20ppm of gluten (the legally safe amount for celiacs) was detected in the final product. Meaning that blue cheese is completely safe for us to consume! 

What Brands of Blue Cheese are Gluten Free?

If you'd prefer to stick with brands that you know do not grow their cultures on gluten-containing products, there are a huge selection of gluten free options. Brands such as Rosenborg, BelGioso, Dutch Farms, Organic Valley, Litehouse and Rogue Creamery are easily accessible blue cheeses that are 100% safe.

Is Blue Cheese Dressing Gluten Free?

Like all dressings and sauces, there's a high chance they may contain gluten. This is because gluten ingredients are often used as a thickener for sauces and dressings. Every brand is different, so it's always best to check the ingredients labels of any blue cheese dressing you're buying. Some popular gluten free dressing brands are: Annie's, Cardini's, Drew's Organics, Organicville and Primal Kitchen. If there is gluten present in any blue cheese dressing, it will be clearly marked on the ingredients label. 

What Cheese is Not Gluten Free?

Natural cheese will always be 100% gluten free. As long as it's plain and full fat - it'll more than likely be gluten free. However, if there's any additional flavors, add-ins or contains a low-fat, low-salt label etc., there's  a chance that it may contain gluten. Always check the label for ingredients such as modified food starch and wheat starch - those are the most common ingredients that would make cheese not safe for a gluten free diet.