Last Updated on June 1, 2022
Today, we’re going to be answering the question: do tater tots have gluten? And taking a look at the best gluten free tater tot brands. When you first receive your diagnosis, it may not even cross your mind to check the ingredients of foods such as tater tots – but gluten can sneak its way into almost anywhere! But do tater tots have gluten? Can you make your own tater tots at home? Let’s take a closer look.
What Are Tater Tots?
You’ll likely already be familiar with what tater tots are, but if you’re not sure, they’re cylindrical-shaped potatoes. Those potatoes have been grated and usually fried in oil. If you’re from outside the US, you may call them potato croquettes instead of tater tots. Whatever you call them, they’re savory, crunchy – and full of flavor. So simple, but so delicious. Did you know how tater tots got their name? Tater is short for potato and tot is another word for small – small potato!
Read more about: Are Tater Tots Gluten-Free? (& GF Brands)
Ingredients In Tater Tots
It’s worth noting that the ingredients of tater tots can differ depending on where they’re serving them. However, the ingredients you’ll usually find in tater tots are:
- seasonings (salt, pepper, etc.)
Nutritional Information Of Tater Tots
If you’re wondering what the nutritional value of tater tots is, then look no further! Each half-cup serving of tater contains the following:
- Calories: 130
- Fat: 6g
- Saturated Fat: 1g
- Sodium: 310mg
- Carbs: 16g
- Dietary Fiber: 2g
Do Tater Tots Have Gluten?
The main ingredient in these small-shaped crispy treats is potato, so you would imagine that they’re usually gluten-free. While they can be, it’s not always a certainty that they will not contain gluten, so always be sure to check the ingredients label. Gluten is often used as a binder in foods, or to make foods go extra crispy in the oven.
If you’re ordering tater tots as a side dish in a restaurant or fast food joint, you should clarify with your server as to whether they’re gluten-free. And also check as to where the tater tots have been fried. While they may not contain gluten, they may be fried in the same fryer as other gluten-containing products they serve. If this is the case, these tater tots should also be avoided, as they would no longer be gluten-free.
Gluten Free Tater Tots Brands
If you’re looking to buy tater tots to enjoy at home, unfortunately, there aren’t too many choices that make gluten-free claims or are certified gluten-free. However, Ore-Ida, one of the most popular tater tot brands does offer a huge selection that is suitable for gluten intolerant individuals or celiacs – hurrah!
The following Ore-Ida products are suitable for a gluten-free lifestyle:
- golden tater tots
- tater tots (extra crispy)
- tater tots (onion)
- golden crispy crowns
- mini tater tots
- microwaveable extra crispy crowns (ready in 5)
If you want to find out more about the ingredients and where to buy the US’s leading brand of tater tots, you can do so here.
Gluten Free Tater Tots Recipe
If you’re looking to make your own tater tots at home, it’s super easy – and they always taste better homemade. Today’s recipe is inspired by a recipe from What the Fork. These are extra crispy and oh so tasty. Let’s take a look at how to make this US favorite.
The ingredients you’ll need for this recipe are:
- 1 1/2 lb white potatoes
- 2 teaspoons of sea salt
- cold water
- 4 tablespoons of butter
- 1/4 cup of chicken broth (ensure it’s gluten-free)
- salt and pepper (to season)
- 2 beaten large eggs
- 1/2 cup of gluten-free all-purpose flour
- 1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder
- 1 cup of gluten-free breadcrumbs
- oil (to fry)
Now all you need to do is:
Step 1: Prepare The Potatoes
Grab your potatoes and peel them. After peeling, cut into 2-inch pieces. Place them into a pot and cover with cold water and add two teaspoons of salt. Boil for around 15 minutes – the potatoes should be fork-tender. Drain the potatoes and put a pack in the pan. Add the chicken broth and butter and mash with a fork to ensure you still have a slightly lumpy potato mix. Add salt and pepper to season and refrigerate the potatoes for at least a few hours.
Step 2: Fry The Potatoes
Remove potatoes from the fridge and add to a bowl with the beaten eggs, flour, and garlic powder. Mix well. Scoop out the potatoes and roll them into cylindrical tater tot shapes (or whichever shapes you’d like). Coat in the gluten-free breadcrumbs. Using at least one inch of hot oil, fry the tots for around 2 minutes. After 2 minutes, turn over and cook for a further 2 minutes. Remove from the pan and leave on a towel to drain any excess oil.
Step 3: Enjoy!
Season with additional salt if needed and your tater tots are ready to serve as a side dish or a tasty snack!
Read more about: Do French Fries Have Gluten? (& GF Brands)
I hope this article has helped to answer the question: do tater tots have gluten? Do you know of any other gluten-free tater tot brands? Or have your own gluten-free recipe? If so, please feel free to let me know in the comments below. Sharing is caring.
How Much Gluten is in Tater Tots?
There isn't a set amount of gluten in tater tots. The amount of gluten will differ depending on the brand or the restaurant you're eating in. Tater tots can range from having no gluten at all, to gluten being one of the main ingredients!
What are Tater Tots Made of?
The main ingredient in tater tots is potato. While other ingredients can be added, potatoes, oil and flour are the predominant ingredients used.
Are Tater Tots Celiac Friendly?
Not all tater tots are celiac friendly. However, Ore-Ida tater tots are safe for celiacs, as well as if you make your own at home.
Are McCain Tater Tots Gluten-Free?
Ore-Ida tater tots are made by McCain, so those particular tater tots are gluten free, and safe to consume on a gluten free diet.