Last Updated on June 3, 2022
Today, we’re going to be answering the question: are Reese’s Puffs gluten free? And taking a look at which Reese’s products are labeled gluten-free, do not contain gluten ingredients, and ones that are definitely not gluten-free. Reese’s is one of the most popular candy brands in the world, but particularly in the US. But do they offer any gluten-free products for us to enjoy? Are Reese’s Puffs free from gluten? Let’s take a closer look.
What Is Reese’s?
You’re probably already aware of what Reese’s are, but if not – you may be about to be introduced to your future favorite candy. Reese’s is a candy brand that produces chocolate and peanut butter goodies. They are most known for their peanut butter cups. Reese’s is owned by the candy giant, Hershey’s.
What Are Reese’s Puffs?
Reese’s Puffs are a popular breakfast cereal made by the company, General Mills. As their name suggests, they’re sweet and crunchy balls, made with the infamous Reese’s peanut butter. It’s packed full of whole grain and doesn’t contain any artificial flavors or colors.
Learn more about: Are Froot Loops Gluten-Free? (Gluten-Free Cereal List)
Ingredients In Reese’s Puffs
Alongside a variety of vitamins and minerals, Reese’s Puffs contain the following ingredients:
- whole-grain corn
- Reese’s peanut butter
- corn meal
- corn syrup
- canola oil
- Hershey’s cocoa
- caramel color
- trisodium phosphate
- natural flavor
Nutritional Information Of Reese’s Puffs
You may be wondering what the nutritional value of a serving of a bowl of Reese’s Puffs. Each serving contains:
- Calories: 120
- Fat: 3g
- Sodium: 160mg
- Potassium: 70mg
- Carbs: 22g
- Dietary Fiber: 1g
- Sugar: 9g
- Protein: 2g
Are Reese’s Puffs Gluten Free?
As you can probably tell from the ingredients, Reese’s Puffs do not contain any gluten ingredients; which would lead you to believe they are safe to consume. However, they are not labeled gluten-free. Reese’s is hot at labeling their products gluten-free when there is no chance of their products containing gluten. Because of this, we can assume that Reese’s Puffs are made in the same area as their gluten-containing products. If you’re celiac or particularly sensitive to gluten, it may be best to avoid Reese’s Puffs.
Gluten Free Reese’s List
There are a few products that contain a gluten-free label and are completely safe for us to consume.
- Original Peanut Butter Cups
- Fast Break
- Nutrageous Bar (all sizes)
- Reese’s Pieces
- Unwrapped Mini’s (milk and white)
Gluten Containing Products
- Anything Seasonal from Reese’s is not gluten-free
Other Reese’s Products
- All other Reese’s products may not contain gluten but are not labeled gluten-free. For this reason, there is a chance of cross-contamination, and is down to the individual whether it’s worth the risk.
Gluten Free Reese’s Puffs Recipe
If you’re celiac and desperately missing Reese’s Puffs, you can make your own pretty easily! The recipe we’re looking at today is inspired by Rachel Mansfield. Let’s see how to make them from scratch.
- 1 egg
- 1 tablespoon of liquid coconut oil
- 1/4 cup of maple syrup
- 1 teaspoon of pure vanilla extract
- 1/2 cup of smooth peanut butter
- 1 cup of gluten-free flour
- 1 teaspoon of baking powder
- 3 tablespoons of cacao powder
Now all you need to do is:
Step 1: Prepare
Gather all of the ingredients you need for this recipe. Then preheat your oven to 350F. Now line a baking sheet with parchment paper (you can also grease, but the lining is less messy).
Step 2: Make The Batter
Grab a bowl and add your egg, oil, syrup, peanut butter and vanilla extract. Once mixed, add in the flour and baking powder. Keep mixing until a dough begins to form. Once you have a dough, separate half and place into a bowl with the cacao powder and mix well. Now you have two bowls of batter. Alternate between one teaspoon of batter and roll into a ball and place on your baking sheet. Continue this until all of the batter has been used.
Step 3: Bake
Place in the center of a preheated oven and leave to bake for around 10 minutes. Once baked, remove from oven and leave to cool before enjoying. If you store the puffs in an airtight container, they’ll last between 3-5 days.
I hope this has helped to answer the question: are Reese’s Puffs gluten-free? And also gives you an idea of how to make your very own gluten-free peanut butter cereal at home. While Reese’s Puffs may not claim to be gluten-free, many of their other products are – so we certainly don’t have to go without Reese’s in our lives.
What’s your favorite Reese’s product? Please feel free to let me know in the comments below. Sharing is caring.
Read more about: Is Cocoa Powder Gluten-Free?
Are Peanut Butter Puffs Gluten-Free?
While Reese's Puffs may not be gluten free, if you're looking for peanut butter puffs (which are more like chips), Bamba and Cheeky Monkey! both offer gluten free alternatives, which will satisfy any peanut butter craving you have.
Which Reese’s Are Gluten-Free?
The following Reese's products carry a gluten free label and are completely safe: Original Peanut Butter Cups, Fast Break, Nutrageous Bar (all sizes), Reese's Pieces and Unwrapped Mini's (milk and white).
What General Mills Cereals Are Gluten-Free?
The following Chex cereals from Generals Mills are gluten free: Cinnamon Chex, Peanut Butter Chex, Rice Chex, Corn Chex, Chocolate Chex, Blueberry Chex and Honey Nut. Chex. It's also worth mentioning that they have several gluten free oatmeals available too, including Apple Cinnamon, Maple Raisin, Original and Banana Maple. Gluten free General Mills cereals are clearly labelled gluten free. Be sure to avoid Wheat Chex as that is absolutely not gluten free.
Is Reese’s Candy Gluten-Free?
If you're a fan of Reese's Pieces candy - we have some good news for you! This particular candy is labelled gluten free by Reese's and is considered safe to consume when following a gluten free diet - hurrah. And the Peanut Butter Cups are also gluten free too!