Last Updated on January 11, 2022
Today, we’re going to be answering the question: is McCormick Original Taco Seasoning Gluten-Free? McCormick’s taco seasoning is one of the leading brands available in grocery stores – but can you eat it when following a gluten-free diet? Let’s take a closer look at what it is and what the ingredients are.
What Is McCormick Original Taco Seasoning?
McCormick and Company is a brand that has been around for a while, and one you’re probably already familiar with – especially their seasonings! The McCormick seasoning is absolutely delicious, and will liven up any Mexican feast you’re looking to have. The seasoning offers a signature blend of seasonings. Plus, it’s versatile and can be used on ground beef or turkey. All for a yummy dish that you’ll be ready to serve in just 15 minutes. Everyone can enjoy this tasty taco seasoning.
McCormick also do a range of other seasonings, including burrito, enchiladas, and many other Mexican favorites – in a range of flavors.
What Are The Ingredients In McCormick Original Taco Seasoning?
So let’s take a closer look at the ingredients you’ll find in this seasoning. The ingredients are as follows:
“Spices (Including Chili Pepper, Paprika, Oregano), Corn Starch, Salt, Onion, and Garlic”
As you can probably see, none of the items contain gluten, which in theory should mean that it’s gluten-free. However, that may not be the case.
Find more information about Is Onion Powder Gluten Free? (GF Spices)
Is McCormick Seasoning Gluten-Free?
This leads us on to whether the product is 100% safe for a gluten-free lifestyle. The simple answer is: we can not be sure. Although none of the ingredients are gluten-containing, they have a very clear allergen statement on their website – and have a separate gluten-free range.
The Original Taco Seasoning does not make any gluten-free claims and McCormick’s state on their website that:
“If any product Gluten Free claim, the product and the manufacturing line has been validated Gluten Free”.
They also ascertain that their extracts and food colors are formulated without gluten.
However, the seasoning does not make those claims. But further on in the same statement, they claim their staff go through extensive training and know the importance of hygiene and sanitation for cross-contact of ingredients. They use the words “minimize cross-contact”, which suggests that if no gluten-free claims are made, cross-contact is still a risk.
I would suggest that if your intolerance is sensitive or you have celiac disease, that you should avoid this seasoning. Especially as they have an entirely gluten-free range – which you can be sure is 100% safe.
You can read the full statement here.
Gluten-Free Taco Seasoning
McCormick Gluten-Free Taco Seasoning
Good news! If you’re gluten-free and enjoy the McCormick’s seasonings, they do have a gluten-free option. And it comes with a 100% recommendation rate! The McCormick Gluten-Free Taco Mix is around $1 and easily accessible in your local grocery stores. This particular mix is certified gluten-free, which makes it as safe as it possibly can be.
This claim means that it’s been through vigorous testing and meets strict guidelines set by the FDA to ensure there is no gluten in the final product. It also contains no MSG or artificial flavors.
The only ingredients you’ll find in this mix are:
“Spices (Including Chili Pepper, Paprika, Oregano, Cumin), Onion, Whey (Milk), Salt, Garlic, Sugar, Potato Starch, Red Pepper, and Citric Acid”
Pioneer GF Taco Seasoning
Pioneer have a range of gluten-free products – and taco seasoning is one of them! Their premium quality seasoning is certified gluten-free. Which again, means that this particular product is as safe as they come for us. It yields six servings, and again, you can find this mix for around $1 in local grocery stores.
The ingredients in this are:
“Spices, Yellow Corn, Salt, Dextrose, Onion, Natural Flavor, Lime Gum Arabic, Maltodextrin”
While this is gluten-free, it is not free of other allergens. There is a may contain warning for milk, egg, and soy. I thought that was worth mentioning for any other allergies/intolerances you may have.
You can find out more about the Pioneer brand here.
Riega Organic Taco Seasoning
If you’re searching for an organic option, that’s a little more luxurious, why not try Riega? Their seasoning is as healthy as a seasoning mix can be and full of herbs and spices to liven up your tacos. There is a gluten-free tested claim on the packaging – and it’s also vegan.
The only ingredients you’ll find in this organic seasoning are:
“Organic Chili Pepper, Organic Cumin, Sea Salt, Organic Onions (powder and flakes), Organic Garlic, and Organic Oregano.”
It’s full of flavor and completely simplistic. However, a sachet of this can set you back around $10 if you’re purchasing from your local Walmart!
Other GF Taco Seasonings
There are many other taco seasonings on offer that do not contain any gluten ingredients. However, like the Original McCormick’s, there may be a risk of cross-contact. If you’re wanting to buy a product and you’re unsure of what the manufacturing and preparation methods are, the best thing to do is to get into contact with the supplier. Their details are usually on the back of their products, and most places are more than happy to give any additional information you may need about them.
I hope this article has helped to clear up the question of whether McCormick Original Taco Seasoning is gluten-free or not. On the allergen statement we saw earlier, they do state that their ingredients are liable to change at any time, so it’s always best to check the packaging before you make any purchases.
What have your experiences been with the Original Taco Seasoning? Positive or negative, please feel free to share your stories below. I would highly suggest sticking to their gluten-free range. Not only do they offer taco seasoning, but a range of other gluten-free seasonings too. And the best part is, they’re a similar price to their non-gluten-free range.
Have you tried their gluten-free seasoning? Let me know your thoughts on it, in the comments below. Sharing is caring!
Read more about: Gluten Free Items At Taco Bell
Hi, my name’s Zoë. I’m 28 years old and live in London, UK. I work full time as a freelance writer and critic for West End theatre. Writing has been a passion of mine for as long as I can remember. I spend most of my free time at the theatre, or at conventions. I’m married to the love of my life, and live in a small apartment with my fur baby, Lillie. I run two of my own blogs: No Safer Place and Stage to Page: both of which have won awards. I also have a YouTube channel where I talk about all things stagey.