Does Red Bull Have Gluten? (& Best GF Energy Drinks)

Last Updated on December 2, 2022

Today, we’re going to be answering the question: does Red Bull have gluten? And taking a look at which other energies and sports drinks are safe to consume when following a gluten free diet.

Energy drinks have become increasingly popular over recent years and it’s not difficult to see why. It’s one of the easiest ways to get an energy boost and it also tastes absolutely delicious too! Red Bull is one of the leading brands of energy drinks; but does Red Bull have gluten? Let’s take a closer look.

What Is Red Bull?

Red Bull is a brand of energy drink that has been around for over 35 years. At the time of this article, Red Bull is the leading brand of energy drink worldwide. With the tag line, “Red Bull gives you wings”, it’s one of the most famous marketing slogans globally. The Red Bull energy drink comes in a range of variations, including:

  • Original Red Bull
  • Sugarfree Red Bull
  • Total Zero Red Bull
  • Zero Red Bull
  • Energy Shot Red Bull
  • Red Bull Editions

Ingredients In Red Bull – Does Red Bull Have Gluten?

You may be curious as to the ingredients in Red Bull. The Original Red Bull energy drink contains the following ingredients:

  • carbonated water
  • sucrose
  • glucose
  • citric acid
  • taurine
  • sodium bicarbonate
  • magnesium carbonate
  • caffeine
  • niacinamide
  • calcium pantothenate
  • pyridoxine HCI
  • vitamin B12
  • natural and artificial flavors
  • colors

Take Out Time to Also Read:

Red Bull Active Ingredients

An active ingredient is an ingredient in a product that causes a biological effect; in this case, a boost of energy. The following ingredients are the cause of the energy boost in Red Bull:

  • caffeine
  • taurine
  • B vitamins
  • sugar

Nutritional Information Of Red Bull

You may be wondering what the nutritional value is when it comes to Red Bull. A can of Red Bull contains the following:

  • Calories: 117
  • Fat: 0.2g
  • Saturated Fat: 0g
  • Cholesterol: 0mg
  • Sodium: 98mg
  • Potassium: 7.7mg
  • Carbohydrates: 28g
  • Dietary Fiber: 0g
  • Sugar: 26g
  • Protein: 0.6g
  • Caffeine: 77.4mg

Does Red Bull Have Gluten?

Gluten can make its way into just about any food or drink product; including energy drinks. However, if you’re a fan of Red Bull, we have some good news for you. All of the varieties that Red Bull produces are completely gluten-free. Not only that, but Red Bull also pride themselves on their products being wheat-free, lactose-free, and dairy free. This means that Red Bull is suitable for a range of dietary lifestyles.

Are Energy Drinks Gluten Free?

When it comes to energy drinks, there are several options other than Red Bull available. Let’s take a look at some of our top picks.

Mountain Dew AMP Energy

Mountain Dew AMP is another popular brand of energy drink. Mountain Dew do not label their drinks gluten free, however, they have confirmed that their products do not contain any gluten flours or grains.

The suitable flavors of Mountain Dew AMP are:

  • Original
  • Cherry Blast
  • Tropical Punch
  • Strawberry Limeade
  • Berry Blast (Game Fuel Charged AMP)
  • Cherry Blast (Game Fuel Charged AMP)
  • Original Dew (Game Fuel Charged AMP)

16 Pack – Amp Energy Boost Original – 16oz.

Does Red Bull Have Gluten

5 Hour Energy – Does Red Bull Have Gluten?

5-Hour Energy come in a few shapes and sizes. Whether you’re looking for a small shot of energy or a regular energy drink – 5-Hour Energy is the choice for you. They’re full of nutrients, vitamins, and amino acids.

The flavors of their regular drinks are:

  • Grape
  • Berry
  • Watermelon

The flavors of their regular mini shot bottles are:

  • Berry
  • Grape
  • Orange
  • Pomegranate
  • Watermelon
  • Strawberry Lemonade

The company has confirmed that all of its flavors are gluten free to the legal amount set by the FDA, which is 20ppm or less of gluten per product.

Monster Energy

Monster Energy has a huge selection of energy drinks, all with different amounts of caffeine. They also offer coffee (and tea) drinks too.

Some of their most popular flavors include:

  • Mango Loco
  • Original
  • Hydro Blue Ice
  • Hydro Manic
  • Pipeline Punch
  • Hydro Purple Passion
  • Hydro Tropical Thunder
  • Lewis Hamilton
  • The Doctor
  • Loca Moca (Java)
  • Mean Bean (Java)
  • Salted Caramel (Java)
  • Swiss Chocolate (Java)
  • Aussie Lemonade
  • Khaotic
  • Papillon
  • Ripper
  • Fruit Punch
  • Ginger Brew
  • Pacific Punch
  • Peach Tea
  • Lemonade Tea
  • Original Tea
  • Raspberry Tea
  • Strawberry Lemonade
  • Watermelon
  • White Pineapple
  • Ultra Blue
  • Ultra Gold
  • Ultra Rosa
  • Zero Fiesta (Ultra)
  • Ultra Watermelon
  • Zero Paradise (Ultra)
  • Zero Peachy Keen (Ultra)
  • Zero Red (Ultra)
  • Ultra Zero Rosa
  • Ultra Zero Violet
  • Ultra Zero Watermelon

According to Monster, all of their energy drinks are considered below the legal amount set by the FDA, which is 20 ppm or less of gluten per product.

Vitamin Water

If you’re looking for something more natural, you should try Vitamin Water. According to their website, all of their flavors are gluten free and safe for celiacs/gluten intolerants to enjoy. They have an array of flavors, which come in a huge variety of colors. What’s great about this company is that they offer regular and sugar-free options, meaning it’s suitable for a range of dietary lifestyles.

Vitamin Water has vitamins included such as B12, B3, and B5.

Vitamin Water

Is Redbull Gluten Free?

Red Bull is completely gluten free. As well as being gluten free, this energy drink is also wheat-free, dairy-free, and lactose-free. For this reason, you can safely enjoy Red Bull (and all its variations) when following a gluten free diet.

Conclusion – Does Red Bull Have Gluten

I hope this post has helped to answer the question: does Red Bull have gluten? And gives you an idea of which energy drinks you can enjoy when following a gluten free lifestyle. While gluten is in many foods and drinks, usually energy drinks are free from gluten and safe to consume.

However, there are many side effects to the consumption of energy drinks too often, so be sure to enjoy energy drinks in moderation. Some side effects can include feeling jittery or anxious, insomnia, heart complications, and dehydration. You can find out more about potential side effects here.

Do you know of any other gluten free energy drinks that didn’t make our list? If so, please feel free to let me know in the comments below.