Last Updated on January 22, 2022
Today, we’re going to be answering the question: does jasmine rice have gluten? And taking a look at which types of rice are safe to consume when following a gluten-free lifestyle. Rice is one of the staple foods you’re told to include more in your diet when you receive your diagnosis – and it’s not hard to see why. It’s a great addition to most meals and very filling. However – is all rice gluten-free? Let’s take a look.
What Is Jasmine Rice?
Rice can be broken down into many different categories. And they can either be long, medium, or short grain. Jasmine rice is a long-grain variety of rice. It’s grown in Thailand is extremely popular around the world. It has a fragrant aroma and is absolutely delicious. When cooked, it looks fluffy and becomes slightly sticky, so it’s great for cooking.
Jasmine rice can be used in a range of meals, including:
Does Jasmine Rice Have Gluten?
Jasmine rice comes in brown and white varieties (the brown variety is extremely good for you). And good news – they are both completely gluten-free and safe to consume on a gluten-free diet. It’s important to note that it is gluten-free in its most natural form, which is how you’ll often find jasmine rice in your local grocery store.
However, if there seem to be any flavored varieties or enriched rice – be sure to double-check the ingredients. Gluten can sneak its way into almost anywhere. As long as you’re opting for plain jasmine rice, you should be okay.
Another issue can be cross-contact. Cross contact is when a non-gluten-containing product comes into contact with gluten, due to harvesting or storage methods, for example. Be sure to buy from a reputable store/brand. If you’re feeling unsure of the gluten-free nature of a product, reach out to the manufacturer or check their website. There’s usually lots of helpful information online.
Is Whole Grain Rice Gluten-Free?
Yes. Whole grain rice in its natural form is always gluten-free. However, much like the jasmine rice, be sure to watch out for any additional flavorings or additives. And be sure to avoid cross-contact when you can. If cross-contact is a risk, it will often have “may contain ___” on the ingredients label.
Is Basmati Rice Gluten-Free?
Yes. Again, basmati rice in its most natural form is gluten-free. As mentioned above, just be extra vigilant when buying anything you’re unfamiliar with.
Is Sticky Rice Gluten-Free?
Sticky rice is also known as glutinous rice. This rice is sticky and almost glue-like. Despite the name, there is no gluten in this product. It gets its “glutinous” name from its glue-like texture – no gluten in sight!
Gluten-Free Rice Varieties
There are lots of different rice varieties that are great to incorporate into a gluten-free lifestyle that we haven’t looked at yet. Some other rice you may enjoy are:
- Sweet Brown Rice – short grain. After cooking, becomes extremely sticky and isn’t good at maintaining its shape
- Arborio Rice – medium grain and one of my favorites! Used most commonly in risottos. Comes in white and brown varieties. After cooking, it’s rich and creamy…and extremely filling. It makes for the perfect base for a gluten-free meal
- Black, Red, and Purple Rice – short or medium grain. Contains high amounts of antioxidants.
If rice appears natural, it is more than likely to be gluten-free.
Rice To Avoid
We’ve covered the rice you can enjoy, but there are several you will want to avoid or be more vigilant around. Let’s take a look at some rice that may be a risk.
- Sushi Rice. Sushi rice usually contains vinegar. And many vinegars are not gluten-free and will contain wheat or barley. However delicious sushi may look, always ask what vinegar has been used (if it’s been distilled, it’s usually okay).
- Boiled Rice. This only really applies if you’re eating out. The pot may have been used to boil other products such as pasta, so be sure to check with your server that there’s no risk of cross-contact.
- Instant Rice. As convenient as instant rice is, there are many flavors that contain gluten, so although there are many gluten-free instant rice out there, be sure to check the ingredients of anything you’re purchasing.
- Self Serve. This is more of a cross-contact issue. But if you’re at a buffet, ask if rice can be brought out for you from the kitchen. That way you know it’s fresh and not been contaminated with utensils from other guests.
- Paella and Risotto. If you’re making your own, this won’t be an issue. But if you’re ordering risotto or paella in a restaurant, there’s a chance that they’ve used chicken stock, which is occasionally not gluten-free.
Tips When Buying Rice
There are a few things you can do to ensure your rice is free from gluten. Here are some tips for you to try:
- Do not buy rice in bulk bins. There is a much higher chance of cross-contact.
- Always check ingredient labels thoroughly.
- Check online for additional information if you’re unsure of whether a product is safe.
- Always opt for products that carry a gluten-free label, or are certified gluten-free – that way you can be sure they’re as safe as possible.
- Rinse rice before cooking if you’re wary.
You can find a selection of gluten-free rice available here. I hope this article has helped to answer the question: does jasmine rice have gluten? And helped open your eyes to the varieties of rice we can enjoy on a gluten-free diet. Rice is a great substitute for gluten in your diet, so be sure to add it to your diet if your diagnosis is new!
What’s your favorite gluten-free rice? Feel free to recommend any gluten-free brands in the comments below.
Learn more about: What Spices Have Gluten? and Where To Buy GF Spices