Last Updated on April 18, 2022
Today, we’re going to be answering the question: does bran have gluten? And taking a closer look at what types of bran we can enjoy when following a gluten-free diet. When you first receive your diagnosis, it can feel hard to navigate what you can and can’t eat – especially when it comes to breakfast. Breakfast time has always been the most difficult mealtime for me to plan, as everything seems to contain gluten! So let’s take a closer look at bran.
What Is Bran?
Bran is actually a form of fiber that comes from the outer layer of certain grains, such as wheat, rice, oats, and corn. It’s an important part of the grain, as it’s the main source of fiber. Bran is most often found in cereals and breakfast foods such as muffins.
Ingredients In Bran
The only ingredient in bran is whatever the bran has been made from. For example, if it’s wheat bran, the only ingredient will be wheat – as bran is the hard outer shell of the wheat grain.
Is Bran Gluten Free?
The most common type of bran is wheat bran. And wheat bran is most definitely not gluten-free. Wheat is a cereal grain that contains gluten. As well as barley, rye, and oats (unless gluten-free oats). However, there are some brans that are gluten-free, such as rice, gluten-free oats, maize (corn) bran, and chia seed bran. There are plenty of gluten-free cereal brans that are available – which we’ll be looking at in this post.
Is Kellogg’s All Bran Gluten Free?
Kellogg’s All Bran is without a doubt the most popular bran cereal. However, is it gluten-free? Let’s take a look at the ingredients. The ingredients in Kellogg’s All Bran are:
- wheat bran
- malt flavor
- reduced iron
- vitamin B6
- vitamin B2
- vitamin B1
- folic acid
- vitamin D3
- vitamin B12
As you can see from the list of ingredients, Kellogg’s All Bran contains wheat, so is not gluten-free. It also contains “malt flavor”, which is derived from barley. This is another reason why this product is not gluten-free. However, there are plenty of gluten-free brans available – so let’s take a look.
Gluten Free Bran Brands
If you’re craving bran for your breakfast, look no further! Here’s a round-up of our favorite gluten-free brans.
Deliciously Ella is one of my go-to brands of cereal, as it’s absolutely delicious. The Deliciously Ella Fiber Flakes is also filled with tasty additions such as hazelnuts, raisins, and coconut chips. Their multigrain flakes are full of fiber and the perfect way to start your day. It’s worth noting that this is a UK brand and costs around £3 per box.
The ingredients in Fiber Flakes are:
- brown rice flour
- roasted hazelnuts
- coconut sugar
- amaranth flour
- toasted coconut chips
- millet flour
This product is made in a facility that handles peanuts and nuts – so please be mindful if you have other allergies.
Learn more about Gluten Free Breakfast Cereals List: Top Picks
Bob’s Red Mill
Bob’s Red Mill is one of the best gluten-free brands around. They have a huge selection of gluten-free products – including oat bran. It’s worth mentioning that Bob’s Red Mill is not exclusively a gluten-free brand, so be sure to look out for the red “gluten-free” logo when purchasing.
If you’re looking for bran that you can use in baking and use to make your own cereal, Bob’s Red Mill Gluten-Free Oat Bran is the option to choose. It’s perfect for adding an oat-y flavor to your baking and makes for really nutritious baking!
Their Oat Bran is $3.99 and you can purchase it here. What’s great about Bob’s Red Mill is that it’s certified gluten-free, which means each product undergoes rigorous testing to ensure its gluten-free validity and must meet strict guidelines set by the FDA.
Tesco is a supermarket brand in the UK. And they have their own version of Bran Flakes (which are absolutely delicious!). Mostly, oats are used in gluten-free bran; however, Tesco uses maize bran. The ingredients in their Free From Branflakes are:
- maize bran
- pantothenic acid
- vitamin D3
- vitamin B6
- thiamine mononitrate
- folic acid
- vitamin B12
You can buy these crunchy bran flakes at Tesco for just £1.80 a box, making it by far, the cheapest option we’ve looked at today! Find out more information here.
I hope this article has helped to answer the question: does bran have gluten? And helped you to identify which bran is gluten-free, and which bran isn’t. Something important to remember is to never buy bran from bulk bins or bran that isn’t individually packaged (even if it’s gluten-free bran). This is because it may have been a victim of cross-contact and come into contact with gluten-containing grains – therefore will no longer be gluten-free. Always opt for bran that carries a gluten-free label, where possible.
Do you know of any other gluten-free bran? Or any other gluten-free breakfast bran cereals? If so, please feel free to let me know in the comments below. Sharing is caring.
Read more about: Substitutions For Oat Bran
Is There Gluten Free Bran?
Of course! While the cereal containing grains are not gluten free, there are plenty of gluten free options. The most common gluten free bran is maize bran, gluten free oat bran and rice bran.
Is Unprocessed Bran Gluten Free?
Unfortunately, no. Whether wheat bran has been processed or unprocessed, it is not gluten free and should not be consumed if you're gluten intolerant or celiac.
How Much Gluten Does Wheat Bran Have?
There isn't a set amount of gluten in wheat bran. However, it's said that wheat bran has more gluten than that of wheat starch. Regardless of how much gluten it contains, it is not suitable for celiacs or gluten intolerants.
Is Wheat Bran Gluten Free?
No. Wheat bran is one part of the cereal grain itself and is 100% not gluten free.
Hi, my name’s Zoë. I’m 28 years old and live in London, UK. I work full time as a freelance writer and critic for West End theatre. Writing has been a passion of mine for as long as I can remember. I spend most of my free time at the theatre, or at conventions. I’m married to the love of my life, and live in a small apartment with my fur baby, Lillie. I run two of my own blogs: No Safer Place and Stage to Page: both of which have won awards. I also have a YouTube channel where I talk about all things stagey.