Is Knox Gelatin Gluten Free?

Last Updated on September 14, 2021

Today, we’re going to be answering the question: is Knox gelatin gluten-free? It’s an ingredient you’ll see often on ingredients labels and probably take little notice of what it is. So let’s take a look at what it is and whether it’s gluten-free.

What Is Gelatin?

If you’re particularly squeamish or are a vegan/vegetarian, you probably won’t want to read the description on what gelatin really is. It’s a food ingredient that is often made collagen that has been taken from animal body parts. Cows and pigs are usually the animals of choice. Skin/tendons/ligaments/bones are boiled for this. It’s full of protein, and despite what you may think, full of lots of health benefits. We’ll take a look at those later.

Is Gelatin Gluten-Free?

While gelatin may not be suitable for vegans/vegetarians, gelatin is usually completely safe for gluten-free consumption. Of course, you should always check the labels of everything you’re purchasing, but there is little chance of gelatin not being gluten-free. This is because it does not contain any grains and is made entirely from animals protein.

Is Knox Gelatin Gluten-Free?

Knox is one of the most popular gelatins that you can buy in your local grocery store. It’s easily accessible and usually contains 32 envelopes of gelatin. The only ingredient in Knox Unflavored Gelatin…is gelatin itself. It isn’t certified gluten-free, but the packaging contains no warnings and there are plenty of gluten-free recipes online that include Knox Gelatin as an ingredient. This means that is it safe to consume when following a gluten-free lifestyle.

Knox Gelatin is not only gluten-free but dairy-free, peanut-free, and egg-free too, meaning it’s suitable for a wide range of dietary lifestyles.

If you would like to know more about Knox Unflavored Gelatin, such as what it is, how to work with it, and a really helpful guide if you have any questions at all about it, Knox have this really helpful guide about the basics, which I think will answer any questions that you may have.

Uses Of Gelatin

You’re probably wondering what gelatin is used for. So let’s take a look at it’s uses and what you’ve probably seen it in on a regular basis:

  • It’s often seen in food. You may see gelatin in foods items such as custards, puddings, and jellies. It provides a stronger texture and also is a great gelling agent
  • Add it to sauces and soups as a thickener. This is great when following a gluten-free diet as we can not use flour
  • Use it in baking as a binding agent
  • Blend into your coffee or smoothie for a whole lot of goodness. It has no taste and is extremely good for you
  • It’s also thought to be good at help recovery time for injuries as it helps to strengthen bones and joints (fingernails too!)
  • It’s used in a range of medicines and cosmetics too – check your household items, I’m sure a few will surprise you

Health Benefits

If you’re looking to start adding gelatin to your diet, there’s a range of health benefits that come with adding it to your lifestyle. Let’s take a look at some of them!

  • It’s full of protein. In fact, it’s the highest food source of the amino acid glycine you can find. Protein is good for a healthy, well-balanced diet, and it’s usually difficult to keep up your daily intake
  • Helps joint and bones. It’s been proven to help recovery time for injuries, as I mentioned earlier. In a study, athletes given gelatin were in a significantly less amount of pain from their joints, than those who had not been taking it
  • Helps skin and hair. That’s right, not only can it help your hair grow and feel thicker, it increases the moisture in your skin. It works wonders for your whole body!
  • Helps to Lose Weight. It’s tasteless, almost fat-free, and carb-free – therefore making it perfect for a diet. It also helps you to feel fuller for longer. However, please don’t go around eating purely gelatin to lose weight faster – losing weight in healthy, steady way is far more effective, and longer-lasting.

 knox gelatin gluten free

Recipes With Knox Gelatin

You can make your own gelatin, but I’m almost certain that you’d rather be buying your Knox Gelatin from a store than boiling animal body parts at home. I hope that’s not just me anyway! There’s a range of recipes you can follow using Knox gelatin. Surprisingly, it’s not just desserts you can make using gelatin.

This website has some amazing Gluten-Free Unflavored Knox Gelatin Recipes. Some of their most popular ones include:

  • Hamburgers
  • Rainbow Jell-O
  • Homemade Gummy Snacks
  • Low Carb Jell-O Cream Pie
  • Candy Corn Jell-O Shots (perfect for Halloween just around the corner!)
  • 3 Ingredient Keto Marshmallow Fluff
  • Chocolate Panna Cotta
  • Homemade Marshmallows
  • Applesauce Squares
  • Dairy-Free Mango Cheesecake (uhm yum!)

and so many more! If you have any recipes containing gelatin, please feel free to leave them in the comments below. Sharing is caring.


I hope this article has helped to answer the question is gelatin gluten-free, but more precisely, is Knox gelatin gluten-free? I think it’s safe to say that gelatin is one of the safest ingredients out there if you’re looking for gluten-free ingredients. The idea of it may not be the nicest, but it sure works well in a range of recipes. It’s certainly a versatile food product!

Not just versatile, but great for your body too – in every way possible. If you’re looking for a food to add to your diet, gelatin should be high on the list.

What do you use gelatin in? Do you have any other uses for it that didn’t make the list? Or are there any other benefits you’ve found from incorporating it into your diet? I would love to know, so share in the comment section below.

Read more about: Are Peanut M and M’s Gluten-Free?

Leave a Comment