Are Peanut M and M’s Gluten Free?

Last Updated on September 1, 2024

M&M’s are one of the most popular candies around the world. They come in a range of varieties and flavors. But are they gluten-free? Let’s take a look at some of the flavors that are suitable for us – and some that are not.

Note: This post will be focusing on M&M’s in the USA. Manufacturing methods and ingredients may differ from country to country. Always be sure to check your country’s packaging.

Do M&M’s Have Gluten?

The short answer is: it depends on the flavor. It’s important to note that M&M’s do not advertise their products as gluten free, but there are several flavors that are safe if you’re following a gluten free diet.

Interestingly, Nima Sensors did an experiment on 12 different varieties of M&M’s to determine which ones contain gluten. Out of the 12 that were tested, only two contained gluten; despite several of their labels sporting a “may contain gluten” warning. However, I do not recommend eating products that are a “may contain”, because just because something is safe one time, does not mean it will be the next.

Pretzel M and M’s have gluten-containing products, so you must avoid those M and M’s at all costs.

Pretzel M and M's have gluten

Learn more about: Do Candy Canes Have Gluten?

Do Peanut M and M’s Contain Gluten?

If you enjoy peanut M and M’s, I come with good news – they are completely gluten-free! It’s one of the few varieties that does not have a “may contain” warning. The only ingredients in peanut M and M’s are:

 “Milk chocolate (sugar, chocolate, skim milk, cocoa butter, lactose, milkfat, peanuts, soy lecithin, salt, artificial and natural flavors), sugar, peanuts, cornstarch, palm oil, corn syrup, dextrin, coloring”.

The only allergens on the label are peanut, milk, and soy. Tree nuts are a may contain. This means that they are safe for consumption following a gluten-free diet. However, they aren’t certified gluten-free. This means that they have not gone through vigorous testing and met strict guidelines set by the FDA to ensure they’re 100% safe.

The Gluten-Free Bar gives them a 7/10 rating for a gluten-free diet.

Gluten-Free M&M’s

Let’s first take a look at the varieties that have no gluten ingredients and do not carry a “may contain” warning. These include:

  • Milk Chocolate M and M’s
  • Peanut M and M’s
  • Peanut Butter M and M’s
  • Almond M and M’s

The varieties that have no gluten ingredients, but do carry a “may contain” warning, are as follows:

  • Mint Dark Chocolate M and M’s
  • White Chocolate M and M’s
  • Coffee Nut M and M’s
  • Carmel M and M’s
  • Thai Coconut Peanut M and M’s
  • Hazelnut Spread M and M’s
  • Crispy M and M’s

The results from Nima Sensor found that none of the above tested positive for gluten. However, where possible, stick to foods that do not carry a “may contain” warning. Even if the chances are low and likely safe, it simply isn’t worth the risk. This is especially important if you’re extremely sensitive or have celiac disease.

Interestingly, Nima’s found that the crispy M and M’s did test positive for gluten, despite having no gluten containing ingredients – this is why we must be careful with products we can not be sure of.

Another point worth mentioning is that there are a few different seasonal varieties, which change every year. Some of these are often gluten-free, but be sure to double-check; even if it is a flavor you’re usually safe with. If the packaging is different, ingredients and manufacturing methods may have changed.

The Hearts Gift Box and M and M’s minis are gluten-free too, but not quite as accessible as some of the other varieties we’ve looked at.

“May Contain”

The “may contain” labels are very vague. It doesn’t state whether it’s a may contain because of manufacturing methods, or a may contain because of how they’re packaged – we really are none the wiser. If you are really intent on eating M and M’s that have this label, it may be best to try and speak to the manufacturers directly. They’re usually more than happy to help with any queries that you may have. And they will know their products better than anyone.

I hope this article has helped to answer the question: are peanut M and M’s gluten-free? Thankfully for us, this particular variety is as safe as M and M’s come for us.

However, I think the main point to take away from this article is that every variety is different. It’s also worth noting that ingredients and manufacturing methods are subject to change at any given time, so please make sure you’re checking the packaging each time you buy them. We know how sneaky gluten can be!

There has been a range of reports from gluten intolerant individuals/celiacs trying M and M’s and it seems to be that if your intolerance is highly sensitive, it may just be safer to avoid M and M’s altogether.

Call me traditional, but I don’t think anything can beat the milk chocolate variety – you just can’t beat a classic.