Last Updated on August 15, 2022
Today, we’re going to be answering the question: is buffalo sauce gluten free? And taking a look at some of the best gluten free brands of buffalo sauce available, as well as how to make your own homemade gluten free buffalo sauce. Buffalo sauce is incredibly popular and is paired perfectly with chicken wings. It’s the perfect amount of sweet heat. But is it typically gluten free? Let’s take a closer look.
What Is Buffalo Sauce?
You’re probably more than familiar with buffalo sauce – but do you know what it actually is? Buffalo sauce is simply a hot sauce that has more flavor and ingredients added. It’s usually made more flavorful with butter and is often sweeter than hot sauce (which is usually a blend of cayenne, salt, and vinegar).
Click Here to Get Info About:
Ingredients In Buffalo Sauce
The ingredients can vary massively in buffalo sauce, depending on which brand you buy. One of the most popular Buffalo sauces in the US is Frank’s RedHot Buffalo Wings Sauce, which contains the following ingredients:
- distilled vinegar
- aged cayenne red peppers
- canola oil
- xanthan gum
- natural butter type flavor
- garlic powder
Nutritional Information Of Buffalo Sauce
A serving of buffalo sauce typically contains the following nutritional value:
- Calories: 1.8
- Fat: 0.1g
- Sodium: 467mg
- Carbs: 0.1g
- Dietary Fiber: 0.1g
- Sugar: 0g
- Protein: 0.2g
Is Buffalo Sauce Gluten Free?
Typically, buffalo sauce should be gluten free. The only ingredients you’ll usually find in buffalo sauce are cayenne pepper, vinegar, salt, and butter. However, every product is different, so it’s always best to check the ingredients labels for the most up-to-date information. You’re looking out for ingredients such as wheat, rye, and barley.
Another way that buffalo sauce may not be gluten free is if it’s been prepared in near gluten. If this is the case, there’s a high risk that cross-contact may have taken place, which means the final product may no longer be gluten free. For this reason, it’s always best to purchase products that carry a clear gluten free label.
Gluten Free Buffalo Sauce Brands
There are a few brands available that either carry a gluten free label or do not contain any gluten ingredients. Most buffalo sauce should be suitable for a gluten free lifestyle, but always be sure the check the list of ingredients.
Check out What Cooking Oil Is Gluten Free?
Frank’s – Is Buffalo Sauce Gluten Free
Frank’s RedHot Buffalo Wings Sauce is one of the most popular buffalo sauces available. And guess what? It’s suitable for a gluten free diet! While it doesn’t make any gluten free claims, they state on its website that if any product was at risk of containing gluten, it would be made clear in the ingredients and would not be hidden in any way. For that reason, Frank’s Buffalo sauce is safe to consume.
Red’s Buffalo Hot Wings Sauce is absolutely incredible, and packs in a little more flavor than Frank’s, in my opinion. Not only is it enhanced with butter, but also jalapeno chili too, giving this sauce a real kick. The only allergens are milk and mustard, and it’s also a “may contain” for peanuts, nuts, and sesame needs. No gluten in sight!
When shopping for buffalo sauce, my go-to choice is always Sauce Shop. Their Sauce Shop Buffalo Hot Sauce is clearly marked gluten free, which means it’s tested for gluten, and it’s full of flavor. This particular buffalo sauce doesn’t contain many ingredients at all. The only ingredients you’ll find are:
- white grape vinegar
- aged red jalapeno
- unsalted butter
- aged habanero
If I was to recommend one sauce – it would be this one.
Homemade Buffalo Sauce Recipe
Buffalo sauce is really simple to make yourself. In fact, you’ll likely already have all of the ingredients already stocked in your pantry. The recipe we’re looking at is inspired by one from Mommy Hates Cooking and it couldn’t be easier! Let’s take a look.
The ingredients you’ll need for this recipe are:
- 1 cup of hot sauce (ensure it’s gluten free)
- 1/2 cup of melted butter
- 1 teaspoon of garlic powder
- 1/2 teaspoon of paprika
- 1/4 teaspoon of cayenne pepper
Recipe – Is Buffalo Sauce Gluten Free
Now all you need to do is:
Gather all of the ingredients you need for this recipe. Place your butter in a microwave safe bowl and melt gradually until completely melted. Leave to cool until it reaches room temperature. Now add the hot sauce, garlic powder, paprika and cayenne pepper to the cool melted butter. Using a whisk, mix together until it reaches a smooth consistency. Your sauce is ready!
If you have any leftovers, be sure to keep your buffalo sauce in the refrigerator in an airtight container. Enjoy!
Conclusion – Is Buffalo Sauce Gluten Free
I hope this post has helped to answer the question: is buffalo sauce gluten free? And given you an idea of which brands to opt for, as well as how to make your own buffalo sauce at home.
Did your favorite brand make the list? Let me know in the comments below. Sharing is caring!
Is Buffalo Seasoning Gluten-Free?
Buffalo seasoning is also typically gluten free. The Frank's RedHot Buffalo Seasoning Blend carries a gluten free label, and is one of the most accessible brands available. For other brands, be sure to check the labels.
What is McDonald’s Buffalo Sauce Made of?
The McDonald's spicy buffalo sauce is a popular choice! And guess what? It's also gluten free. It contains cayenne pepper sauce, water, soybean oil, modified food starch, xanthan gum, beet juice, salt, natural flavor and garlic.
Is Sweet Baby Ray’s Buffalo Wing Sauce Gluten-Free?
Sweet Baby Ray's buffalo wing sauce does not contain any gluten ingredients, and is considered safe to include on a gluten free diet.
Is Hot Sauce Gluten-Free and Dairy Free?
Hot sauce is typically both gluten free and dairy free. However, buffalo sauce usually contains butter so is not considered dairy free. However, Frank's Buffalo Sauce does not contain any gluten or dairy; making it suitable for a range of dietary lifestyles.