Last Updated on April 4, 2022
Today, we’re going to be answering the question: does soy sauce have gluten, and taking a look at the best gluten-free soy sauce brands – and even a gluten-free soy sauce recipe! Soy sauce is salty and extremely popular. You’d likely think that the only ingredient soy sauce contains is soy. However, that is definitely not the case. So let’s first take a look at what soy sauce is and the ingredients it usually contains.
What Is Soy Sauce?
Soy sauce is a condiment. It’s a liquid condiment that is thin in comparison to other sauces. It’s extremely salty and is definitely an acquired taste. It has a strong umami flavor. This brown in the color sauce is made from fermenting soybeans – but of course, that’s not the only ingredient.
Ingredients In Soy Sauce
Soy sauce is usually made using four key ingredients:
However, store-bought soy sauce can vary with which ingredients they use. Some may have more ingredients than the typical ones above, so always be sure to check the labels.
Read more about: Is Yuzu Sauce Gluten-Free?
Gluten Free Soy Sauce Brands
If you’re a soy sauce lover, don’t worry too much – we definitely do not have to go without soy sauce in our lives! There is a selection of gluten-free soy sauces that we can add to our diet.
If you’re looking for gluten-free soy sauce, I can not recommend San-J products enough. They have a vast selection of gluten-free soy sauces available. They have the following gluten-free options available:
- Organic Tamari Lite Soy Sauce (50% Less Sodium)
- Gluten-Free Tamari Soy Sauce
- Tamari Gluten Free 28% Less Sodium Soy Sauce
- Tamari Lite Soy Sauce (50% Less Sodium)
- Organic Gluten-Free Tamari Soy Sauce
- Organic Tamari Gluten Free 25% Less Sodium Soy Sauce
- Gluten-Free Organic Tamari Soy Sauce Packets
- Umami Tamari Splash
- Sweet Tamari Splash
- Citrus Tamari Splash
You can find their full range of gluten-free products here. What’s great about San-J is that they’re a certified gluten-free brand. This means that each of their products goes through rigorous testing and must meet strict guidelines set by the FDA to confirm their gluten-free status.
Kikkoman is another brand that offers a range of gluten-free products. Although it’s worth noting that there are many Kikkoman products that are not suitable for a gluten-free diet, so be sure to only pick up products that carry the “gluten-free” label.
Kikkoman have two gluten free sauces – the Kikkoman Tamari Gluten-Free Soy Sauce and Kikkoman Gluten-Free Teriyaki Marinade. You’ll likely be able to find this brand in your local grocery store.
Eden Foods only have one gluten-free soy sauce available, but it’s a good one. Their Organic Tamari-Style Gluten Free Soy Sauce is made from water, organic soybeans, organic alcohol, salt, and koji. You may have to purchase this one online – or you may be lucky enough to come across it in one of your local grocery stores.
Make Your Own GF Soy Sauce
You may want to make your own gluten-free “soy sauce”. It’s worth noting that this is a soy sauce substitute and won’t be exactly the same as the real deal. But this recipe from Food.com is super easy and doesn’t require many ingredients at all.
- 2 cups beef broth (low sodium)
- 2 teaspoons of cider vinegar
- 1 teaspoon of molasses
- 1/8 teaspoon of ground ginger
- 1 pinch of black pepper
- 1 pinch of garlic powder
- 1 pinch of onion powder
- Place all ingredients into a pan and boil uncovered. Leave until it’s reduced to around 1/2 cup
- Store in refrigerator for up to a week
- Remember to shake well or stir before using
It really is that easy!
Gluten Free Soy Sauce Alternatives
Believe it or not, there are actually several alternatives you can use instead of soy sauce, that are just as delicious. Why not try using the following in one of your next homemade meals?
- Coconut Aminos
- Liquid Aminos
- Fish Sauce
- Worcestershire Sauce (ensure it’s gluten-free)
- Dried Mushrooms
If you have any other gluten-free soy sauce alternatives that you can think of, or that you find work well, please feel free to let me know your suggestions in the comments below.
I hope this article has helped to answer the question: does soy sauce have gluten? The most important point to remember is that if a soy sauce isn’t Tamari soy sauce, there’s a huge possibility it will contain wheat, and therefore not be gluten-free. Luckily, Tamari is delicious – so we certainly do not have to go without it.
Do you know of any other gluten-free soy sauce brands that didn’t make the list? Or have your own soy sauce recipe? If so, let me know in the comments below. Sharing is caring!
Read more about: Is French’s Worcestershire Sauce Gluten-Free?
Can Celiacs Eat Soy Sauce?
The answer is: sometimes. There are several different types of soy sauce. The most popular four being Chinese soy sauce, Japanese soy sauce, Tamari and Shiro. Traditionally, 3 of these are made with wheat. However, Tamari isn't, therefore should be gluten free. We'll be taking a closer look in this post. You can also sometimes find soy sauce made with rice, rather than wheat.
Is Soy Sauce OK For Gluten Intolerance?
There are only specific soy sauces that are okay for a gluten free diet. Look out for Tamari, as that is a soy sauce that often does not contain any gluten. Most other soy sauces are made with wheat as a main ingredient.
How Much Gluten is Actually in Soy Sauce?
More than you may think! As there are only really 4 main ingredients, wheat being one of them is not ideal. That's why most soy sauce should be avoided when following a gluten free diet.
Why Does Soy Sauce Have Gluten?
The soybeans and wheat are fermented together for several days in a salty liquid to create soy sauce. So unfortunately for us, wheat is quite an important ingredient in many soy sauces!
Hi, my name’s Zoë. I’m 28 years old and live in London, UK. I work full time as a freelance writer and critic for West End theatre. Writing has been a passion of mine for as long as I can remember. I spend most of my free time at the theatre, or at conventions. I’m married to the love of my life, and live in a small apartment with my fur baby, Lillie. I run two of my own blogs: No Safer Place and Stage to Page: both of which have won awards. I also have a YouTube channel where I talk about all things stagey.