Does Mayonnaise Have Gluten?

Last Updated on April 4, 2022

Today, we’re going to be answering the question: does mayonnaise have gluten? And taking a look at the best brands to buy if you’re following a gluten-free lifestyle. Mayonnaise is the perfect condiment for a selection of snacks and dishes, so it’s no surprise that you’re searching for gluten-free brands. But does mayonnaise contain gluten? Let’s first take a look at what it is and the ingredients you’ll most often find.

What Is Mayonnaise?

You may know mayonnaise better by its abbreviation, “mayo”. It’s creamy and thick – and can either be described as a sauce or a dressing. You can use mayonnaise on a selection of foods, but most commonly: hamburgers, salads, French fries, and sandwiches. Mayonnaise has quite a tangy taste but is incredibly creamy too.

Ingredients In Mayonnaise

The ingredients in mayonnaise can differ depending on which brand you’re using. But the main ingredients you’ll often find in mayonnaise are:

  • oil
  • egg yolk
  • an acid (vinegar or lemon juice)

Gluten Free Mayonnaise Brands

There are many gluten-free mayonnaise brands to choose from. Let’s take a look at our top picks.

What Cornmeal Is Gluten Free? Glute...
What Cornmeal Is Gluten Free? Gluten Free Cornmeal Brands

Best Foods and Hellman’s

Hellman’s and Best Foods are without a doubt the most recognizable brand of mayonnaise. And guess what? All of their mayonnaises are made without gluten-containing ingredients! It’s important to note that a product that’s “gluten-free” is different from a product that “contains no gluten”. When a product is “gluten-free”, it means it’s been tested for traces of gluten. However, Best Foods is considered safe among the gluten-free community.

The options we can enjoy are:

  • Real Mayonnaise
  • Best Foods Light Mayonnaise
  • Best Foods Mayonnaise Dressing with Olive Oil
  • Extra Creamy Mayonnaise
  • Best Foods Canola Cholesterol Free Mayonnaise Dressing
  • Best Foods Low Fat Mayonnaise Dressing
  • Avocado Oil Mayonnaise Dressing
  • Best Foods Vegan Dressing and Spread

You can find their full range of products here.

Earth Balance

Another popular brand is Earth Balance. They have two different varieties of gluten-free mayonnaise available. Those are:

What’s great about Earth Balance is, that not only is its mayonnaise gluten-free – but it’s also vegan, dairy-free, lactose-free, egg-free, soy-free, and non-GMO; meaning it’s suitable for a range of dietary lifestyles.

Kraft

Kraft has a huge selection of mayonnaise that does not have any gluten-containing ingredients. Kraft is definitely spoiling us for choice! The following options are gluten-free:

  • Chipotle Aioli with Chipotle Peppers
  • Garlic Aioli with Roasted Garlic
  • Real Mayo Mayonnaise
  • Real Mayo Creamy & Smooth Mayonnaise
  • Mayo with Olive Oil Reduced Fat Mayonnaise
  • Homestyle Mayo Rich & Creamy Real Mayonnaise
  • Mayo with Olive Oil Reduced Fat Mayonnaise
  • Mayo with Avocado Oil Reduced Fat Mayonnaise
  • Mayonnaise with Lime Juice
  • Mayo Real Mayonnaise with No Artificial Flavors
  • Light Mayo ½ the Fat & Calories of Regular Mayonnaise
  • Extra Heavy Mayonnaise

Learn more about: Is Kraft Velveeta Cheese Gluten Free?

Other Brands

This list is by no means exhaustive, and there are plenty of other gluten-free/no gluten ingredients available. Here are some more brands that are worth looking at:

  • Woodstock
  • Tabasco
  • Spectrum
  • Stonewall Kitchen
  • Smart Balance
  • Miracle Whip
  • McCormick
  • Heinz
  • Goya
  • Hain

Remember, if you can find mayonnaise that carries a gluten-free label, always opt for that product. This is because there is no chance of cross-contact. Cross contact is when a product that does not contain gluten comes into contact with gluten through a variety of processes, including transportation and preparation. However, these products are usually more expensive than their “no gluten ingredients” counterparts.

Make Your Own Gluten-Free Mayonnaise

If you like your cooking homemade (even your condiments!), or you like to see exactly what goes into your food, you could always try making your own gluten-free mayonnaise. This recipe from Cooking Perfected for homemade mayonnaise is absolutely delicious!

Ingredients

The ingredients you’ll need are:

  • 3 egg yolks
  • 1 teaspoon of Dijon mustard
  • 1 teaspoon of lemon juice
  • 1 cup of vegetable oil
  • Salt
  • White Pepper

Recipe

  1. Get your egg yolks, mustard, and lemon juice into a blender or food processor
  2. Blend until mixed well
  3. Turn the blender to high and slowly add the oil. Be sure not to add to the oil too fast
  4. Pour your oil until none is left and your mayonnaise is thick
  5. Use your salt and pepper to season
  6. Your mayonnaise is ready!


Read more about: Does Oil Have Gluten? (&; GF Oils)

Conclusion

I hope this article has helped to answer the question: does mayonnaise have gluten? And give you an insight into some of the most popular gluten-free brands of mayonnaise available. Mayonnaise is a condiment that’s incredibly easy to find gluten-free – and isn’t too expensive either! Always remember to check the ingredients labels, as ingredients can change at any time.

Do you know of any other gluten-free brands that didn’t make the list? Or do you have your own gluten-free mayonnaise recipe? If so, please feel free to let me know in the comments below. Sharing is caring!

FAQs

Is Mayonnaise Gluten Free?

As you can probably tell from the list of ingredients most often in mayonnaise, it should typically not contain any gluten ingredients. So a "natural" mayonnaise should be suitable for those following a gluten free diet. However, that's not always the case. Sometimes additional ingredients are used to make the mayonnaise thicker, or have a better consistency - and some of those may contain gluten.

Can Celiacs Eat Mayonnaise?

Of course! There are many mayonnaise brands available that confirm that their mayonnaise is safe for those following a gluten free diet, whether they're intolerant or have celiac disease. If you're celiac, it's always best to opt for products that carry a gluten free label, so you can ensure that no cross contact has taken place.

What Kind of Mayonnaise is Gluten-Free?

Try to find mayonnaise that contains as few ingredients as possible. This is important because, in theory, the more "natural" the mayonnaise, the more likely it'll be gluten free. However, there's a huge selection of leading brands that make gluten free mayonnaise - and we'll be taking a look at our top picks in this article.