Last Updated on August 16, 2022
Today, we will answer the question: does soy milk have gluten? And taking a look at which milks are gluten free, and even how to make your own!
Dairy-free alternatives to cow’s milk are becoming increasingly popular in recent years, with more and more people choosing the vegan lifestyle, or having intolerances to dairy. But does soy milk contain any gluten? Let’s take a closer look.
What Is Soy Milk?
You’ll probably already be familiar with soy milk, as it’s become massively popular in recent years. You may know soy milk better as soya milk or soymilk. It’s plant-based milk that does not contain any dairy or animal products, which means it’s suitable for a range of dietary lifestyles.
Soybeans are soaked and ground down to make this dairy-free alternative. The soybeans are then boiled and filtered. It’s very similar to the way in which they make tofu.
Read more about Is Arby’s Roast Beef Gluten Free? (& GF Options At Arby’s)
Ingredients In Soy Milk
In it’s most natural form, the ingredients in soy milk will simply be: water and soybeans. However, soy milk is usually sweetened, to make it more palatable. One of the leading brands of soy milk is Silk. Silk soy milk contains the following ingredients:
- filtered water
- cane sugar
- vitamin and mineral blend
- sea salt
- natural flavor
- gellan gum
Nutritional Information Of Soy Milk
You may be curious as to the nutritional value of soy milk. A cup of soy milk contains the following:
- Calories: 131
- Fat: 4.3g
- Saturated Fat: 0.5g
- Sodium: 124mg
- Potassium: 287mg
- Carbs: 15g
- Dietary Fiber: 1.5g
- Sugar: 10g
- Protein: 8g
Does Soy Milk Have Gluten?
When it comes to soy milk, most brands are gluten free. However, wheat is often added as a preservative or as a flavoring in drinks. For this reason, it’s always best to check the ingredients label. It’s more common for soy milk to be gluten free, than to contain gluten.
Another potential problem is cross-contact. Cross contact is when a non-gluten containing product is contaminated with gluten due to how the product is manufactured. For this reason, it’s best to opt for products that contain a gluten free label.
Is Soy Milk Good For You?
Yes. Soy milk is a healthy choice when it comes to dairy free alternatives to milk. It’s rich in omega-3 fatty acids (a healthy fat) and has been proven to offer a range of health benefits. For some people, it may feel uncomfortable when you drink it – if this is the case, there’s plenty of alternatives.
Once opened, soy milk can go bad quickly in the refrigerator, so always be sure to do “the smell test” to check it’s still safe to use.
Is All Milk Gluten Free?
All cow’s milk is gluten free. When it comes to dairy-free alternatives, they may contain gluten due to flavorings or preservatives. For this reason, always be sure to check the ingredients. It’s unlikely that milk will contain any gluten ingredients.
Gluten Free Soy Milk Brands
There are plenty of gluten free soy milk brands available, many of which are the leading brands when it comes to soy milk. Let’s take a look at our round-up of gluten free soy milk.
- Earth Balance Soy Milk
- Trader Joe’s
- Soy Dream
- Pacific Natural Foods
- Eden Soy
- 8th Continent Soy Milk
There are plenty of other brands available when it comes to gluten free soy milk; these are simply just our top picks, that are easily accessible in most grocery stores.
Soy Milk Recipe
If you’re unable to find any gluten free soy milk, you may want to try making your own. It’s super easy, and only requires 3 ingredients! This recipe is inspired by one from Simple Vegan Blog.
The ingredients you’ll need for this recipe are:
- 1/2 cup of dried soybeans
- 4 cups of water
- 1/2 teaspoon of pure vanilla extract
Click Here to Get Info About:
Step By Step – Does Soy Milk Have Gluten?
Step 1: Prepare The Soybeans
Leave the soybeans in water for at least 12 hours. Once soaked, drain the beans and take off the skins for a better texture. Place them into a blender or food processor, with around 3 cups of water and blend until smooth. Strain the mixture in a cheesecloth or mesh strainer.
Step 2: Cook The Beans
Add the mixture to a pan, along with a cup of water. Bring to a boil and remove any foam. Leave to simmer for around 20 minutes, being sure to stir sometimes. Remove from heat and leave to cool. Pour in your vanilla extract and give a stir. Store in an airtight container in the refrigerator for best results.
Conclusion, Does Soy Milk Have Gluten?
I hope this post has helped you to answer the question: does soy milk have gluten? And given you an idea of which brands to buy when it comes to soy milk that does not contain any gluten ingredients.
Did your favorite soy milk make our list of top picks? If it didn’t, please feel free to let me know in the comments below. Sharing is caring!
Does All Soy Contain Gluten?
Soy does not typically contain any gluten. Soy (and soybeans) are naturally gluten free. However, if it's not in it's natural form, it's always best to check in case wheat has been added for preservative and flavoring purposes.
Can You Eat Soy Products if you are Gluten-Free?
Yes. You should be able to eat most soy products when following a gluten free diet. However, every brand and product is different, so always check ingredients before purchasing.
Why Does Soy Have Gluten in it?
Soy does not contain any gluten. Soy sauce, however, does contain gluten. This is because wheat is added as an ingredient, not because of the soybeans themselves. Naturally, soy should not contain any gluten whatsoever.
Is Soy Okay for Celiac?
Yes. Typically, soy beans and soy are safe for those with celiac disease, or following a gluten free diet.