Does Marcos Have Gluten Free Pizza? (& GF List)

Today, we’re going to be answering the question: does Marcos have gluten free pizza? And taking a look at what options Marco’s has when it comes to catering to gluten-free lifestyles. Pizza is one of the most convenient take-outs – and one of the most delicious too. However, pizza crusts usually contain gluten and need to be avoided at all costs. As the gluten-free diet has become more popular over the years, there are more gluten-free options being made available. Does Marco’s offer a gluten-free option? Let’s take a closer look.

What Is Marco’s?

Marco’s Pizza has been around for over 40 years! It’s a restaurant chain that’s found within the US and has a huge selection of takeout pizzas, with over 1,000 stores nationwide! Not only do they offer pizza, but they also sell subs, pizza bowls, wings, salads, and even brownies. Their menu is vast, which makes them a popular choice for takeout.


Learn more about: Are Domino’s Wings Gluten-Free? (& GF Dominos List)

Does Marco’s Have Gluten Free Pizza?

Yes! This may surprise you, but Marco’s most definitely does have gluten-free pizza. In fact, they now offer two different sizes of gluten-free pizza. Marco’s originally released a medium-sized gluten-free crust, which was then replaced late last year with a small-sized cauliflower crust (which is also gluten-free). However, many complaints were made about the change in size – and now both gluten-free options are available!

So whether you’re opting for a cauliflower crust or a regular gluten-free crust – it’s easy to enjoy Marco’s Pizza. It’s also worth noting that there’s a huge selection of gluten-free toppings, as well as the option of a gluten-free pizza bowl. We’ll be taking an extensive look at the gluten-free products available from Marco’s later in this post.

Is Marco’s Pizza Safe For Celiacs?

As you can imagine, the workspace in takeouts such as Marco’s pizza is not large, and they often don’t have a dedicated space for making their gluten-free pizzas. While the crusts themselves are 100% gluten-free, they do make a disclaimer on their website. Their disclaimer says that “…(the pizza) is prepared in our kitchen where gluten is present. (Because of this), we cannot ensure its safety for those with celiac disease”.

For this reason, I wouldn’t recommend eating pizza from Marco’s if you have celiac disease or are super sensitive to gluten. Small kitchens can be a massive risk of cross-contact where gluten is used often, and this is definitely the case when it comes to Marco’s.

Ingredients In Gluten Free Crusts At Marco’s

You may be wondering which ingredients the two gluten-free crusts are made from, so let’s take a closer look.

Ingredients In Gluten Free Crusts At Marco's

Gluten Free Crust (Medium)

The ingredients in their medium gf crust are:

  • rice flour
  • water
  • modified rice starch
  • olive oil
  • potato flour
  • potato starch
  • tapioca flour
  • cane sugar
  • xanthan gum
  • yeast
  • salt
  • calcium sulfate

Cauliflower Crust (Small)

The ingredients in their cauliflower crust are:

  • cauliflower
  • baking powder
  • vinegar
  • yeast
  • salt
  • brown rice flour
  • xanthan gum
  • egg
  • corn starch
  • sugar
  • water
  • tapioca
  • oil (sunflower and extra virgin olive)

Gluten Free List At Marco’s

If you’re looking for a breakdown of all the ingredients, or have other intolerances besides gluten, Nutritionix has a handy tool whereby you can list any intolerances you have and it will label what you can and can’t eat. It’s super easy to use, or double-check before ordering (as ingredients are subject to change at any time).

Let’s take a look at which foods at Marco’s are suitable for a gluten-free diet:

Crusts

  • cauliflower crust (small size only)
  • gluten-free crust (medium size only)

Sauces

  • signature pizza sauce
  • parmesan garlic sauce
  • extra sauce

Cheese

  • cheddar cheese
  • feta cheese
  • parmesan cheese

Toppings

  • anchovies
  • bacon
  • banana peppers
  • olives (black)
  • cheese (cheddar)
  • pepperoni
  • cheese (feta)
  • spinach
  • garlic sauce
  • olives (green)
  • peppers (green)
  • chicken (grilled)
  • beef
  • Italian sausage
  • ham
  • tomato
  • cheese (parmesan)
  • salami
  • pineapple
  • onions (red)
  • onions
  • jalapenos
  • mushrooms
  • old world pepperoni
  • egg
  • butter

Salads

  • Greek salad (all sizes)

Dipping Sauce and Dressings

  • ranch
  • jalapeno ranch
  • blue cheese
  • Caesar dressing
  • crushed red pepper packets
  • garlic sauce
  • garlic parmesan sauce
  • Greek dressing
  • Italian dressing
  • tangy BBQ sauce
  • balsamic

Chips

  • Cheetos (original)
  • doritos (cool ranch and nacho cheese)
  • Fritos (original)
  • lays (bbq, classic, sour cream and onion, kettle-cooked original)

Drinks

  • all bottled and fountain drinks are gluten-free

Conclusion

I hope this article has helped to answer the question: does Marcos have gluten-free pizza? The simple answer is: it absolutely does! However, it’s probably best to avoid it if you have a severe intolerance or have celiac disease. This is because they can not guarantee 100% safety, as the risk of cross-contact from gluten is too high.

Do you enjoy Marco’s gluten-free pizza? What’s your go-to order when it comes to takeout pizza? I’m simple and just enjoy double pepperoni. Please feel free to let me know in the comments below. Sharing is caring.

Read more about: What Foods Has Maltodextrin in them?

FAQs

What is Marcos Gluten-Free Crust Made of?

Pizza crusts are usually made using wheat flour as the main ingredient, which we know is a gluten containing grain. However, Marco's medium sized gluten free crust is made using rice flour, potato flour and tapioca flour - which are popular gluten free alternatives to wheat.

Is Marcos Cauliflower Crust Gluten-Free?

Yes! Marco's cauliflower crust launched late last year and it's completely gluten free! With cauliflower as the main ingredient, it's slightly healthier than your typical pizza crust too. 

What Size is Marcos Gluten Free Pizza?

Marco's recently launched a second size of gluten free pizza. Their cauliflower crust is only available in small and their regular gluten free crust is only available in medium - so bear this in mind when ordering.

Is Marcos Crust Gluten-Free?

While Marco's does offer gluten free options, they are not an entirely gluten free takeout. The majority of their pizza crusts contain gluten and should not be consumed when following a gluten free diet.