Does Millet Have Gluten?

Last Updated on April 21, 2022

Today, we’re going to be answering the question: does millet have gluten? And taking a look at the potential side effects and health benefits of adding millet to your diet. Before you received your diagnosis, you probably had no idea about what millet was (I know I didn’t), but it’s definitely something you should learn more about if you’re following a gluten-free diet. But does millet contain gluten? Let’s take a closer look.

What Is Millet?

The word “millet” doesn’t just refer to one specific type of grain. In fact, it’s a group of small-seeded grains that look very much like small pieces of corn. It’s seen often in birdseed, but it’s a staple in many diets around the world. From bread to beer, to porridge, millet can be found in a surprising amount of everyday food and drinks.

What Is Millet

Learn more about: Does Buckwheat Have Gluten?

Millet Nutritional Information

If you’re looking for the nutritional information when it comes to millet, one cup of millet has the following nutritional value:

  • Calories: 207
  • Protein: 6.1g
  • Fiber: 2.3g
  • Fat: 1.7g
  • Carbohydrates: 41.2g
  • Calcium: 5.2mg
  • Iron: 1.1mg
  • Niacin: 2.31mg
  • Magnesium: 76.6mg
  • Phosphorus: 174mg
  • Potassium: 108mg

Health Benefits Of Millet

While there are a few side effects, the health benefits of millet highly outweigh the negatives. Let’s take a look at the benefits that eating millet can do:

  • The best benefit for us is that they’re a naturally gluten-free grain! Therefore the perfect option for those who have a gluten intolerance or have celiac disease
  • Millets are a great source for your daily intake of B vitamins and minerals. As well as being packed full of fiber, protein, and antioxidants. If you’re looking to uptake your iron, copper, magnesium, and calcium levels – introducing millets to your diet is the perfect way to do this
  • They are good at making you feel fuller for longer and are slow-release carbohydrates, which are much better for you
  • And finally, they’re affordable! They’re one of the cheapest gluten-free grains available, which is ideal if you’re on a budget

Gluten Free Grains

If you’re looking for other gluten-free grains besides millets, there are a range of other options you may like to try. Some of the most easily accessible options that you’ll find in your local grocery stores are:

  • quinoa
  • gluten-free oats
  • buckwheat (yes, despite its name, it’s 100% gluten-free)
  • amaranth
  • teff
  • corn (maize)
  • brown rice

The best part about these substitutes (including millets) is that they’re all far more nutritious than wheat – so you should definitely consider adding some of these grains to your gluten-free diet.

Where To Buy Gluten Free Millet

While there are plenty of places to buy gluten-free millet, there is one brand that I would highly recommend more than others. That brand is Bob’s Red Mill. Bob’s Red Mill is perfect for a range of gluten-free products, including millet. Whether you’re looking for whole-grain millet or millet flour – Bob’s Red Mill offers both.

What’s great about Bob’s Red Mill is that their gluten-free products are easily identifiable with a huge gluten-free label on their packaging, as well as their products being certified gluten-free. When a product is certified gluten-free, it means that it’s been tested for gluten and must meet strict guidelines set by the FDA – meaning they’re safe as possible.

The Bob’s Red Mill Hulled Millet is around $4 for a 28oz bag, and Bob’s Red Mill Millet Flour is $3.79 for a 20oz bag. They claim that their hulled millet is the perfect substitute for rice in dishes like stir-fries and pilafs.


I hope this question has helped to answer the question: does millet have gluten? And helped you to become more familiar with the health benefits and possible side effects of introducing millets to your diet. As long as you’re enjoying them in moderation, I would recommend adding them to your everyday cooking.

Do you know of any other gluten-free grains that didn’t make the list? Or do you have your own favorite millet brand, other than Bob’s Red Mill? If so, please feel free to let me know in the comments below. Sharing is caring!

Read more about: Does Farro Have Gluten?


Which Millets are Gluten-Free?

You'll often hear millets being referred to as "millet". However, there are several different types of millets within the "millet" category. Millets are ancient grains, and all of them are considered gluten free and safe for a gluten free diet, whether you're celiac or have an intolerance. The most common gluten free millets are pearl millet, sorghum, foxtail millet, finger millet, kodo millet, little millet, barnyard millet and proso millet. You can use these grains in a range of recipes.

Is Millet Inflammatory?

Gluten is a highly inflammatory grain, however millets are anti-inflammatory. Because they are seen as an anti-inflammatory grain, this makes them much easier to digest than grains like gluten. They're also very nutritious, which is an additional bonus.

Is Cooked Millet Gluten-Free?

Absolutely! As long as millet is cooked in a gluten free environment, it will not contain any form of gluten. It's a naturally gluten free grain and considered safe to consume on a gluten free diet. While it's fine to eat raw on foods like salads and side dishes, cooked millet works well in foods such as veggie burgers and porridge. This makes it a diverse gluten free grain.

What are the Side Effects of Millets?

When it comes to adding millets to your diet, it may have some undesired effects on your body. The most common side effects are: if the millets are not cooked correctly, they can lead to kidney stones as they are high in oxalates. Another common side effect of too much millets in your diet are thyroid problems. And finally, as millets are incredibly high in fiber, they can lead to gut problems such as stomach pain and swelling. As long as you're consuming other gluten free grains (such as rice) and eating millets in moderation - they're a great addition to your diet.