Do Pita Chips Have Gluten?

Last Updated on February 24, 2023

Today, we’re going to be answering the question: do pita chips have gluten? They’re crisp, crunchy, and utterly delicious – but are they gluten-free? Let’s first take a look at what they are.

What Are Pita Chips?

Much like popcorn and potato chips, pita chips are the perfect snack. And becoming increasingly popular. Especially as they’re seen as a healthier alternative. They’re perfect with dips and come in a selection of flavors. Simply put, pita chips are just pita bread that has been fried or baked into triangle shapes.

Are Pita Chips Gluten-Free?

You may notice the word bread in the paragraph above. If so, you’ll likely already know the answer to this question. Traditional pita chips are not safe for our lifestyle. Pita bread is often made with wheat flour, which is not gluten-free. The ingredients for pita bread are wheat flour, yeast, oil, and salt. Whilst traditional chips may not be gluten-free, that doesn’t mean that there aren’t other options available. We’ll be rounding up the best alternatives later in this article.

Are Stacy’s Pita Chips Gluten-Free?

The leading brand of pita chips is Stacy’s. They offer a wide range of flavors and are much loved. However, Stacey’s is not gluten-free. Their chips are made using wheat flour. The brand state that they do not intend to make any gluten-free products, but will update on social media if anything changes. You can read their response regarding gluten-free products here.

Gluten-Free Pita Chips

Whilst there isn’t a great selection of gluten-free pita chips on the market, there are lots of gluten-free alternatives on offer which are just as tasty. Let’s take a look at some of the best.


Toufayan is an incredible brand that offers a range of gluten-free products. They were the first gluten-free pita chip available in the US. They have five scoop-able pita chip flavors available. These include:

  • Feta and Olive
  • Cinnamon and Sugar
  • Sea Salt
  • Multigrain with Chia
  • Za’atar

The main ingredients in these pita chips are tapioca starch, rice flour, and chickpea flour.


Wellaby’s is a gluten-free snack brand. They offer a wide range of gluten-free snacks. One of those snacks being pita chips. From pita to lentil, to hummus – their chips range is huge! Their website states that all of their products are made in a dedicated gluten-free facility. This is great for peace of mind.

All of their products aren’t just gluten-free – but also nut-free, MSG-free, wheat free and non-GMO too!

Their chips range includes:

  • Cracked Black Pepper (Lentil Chips)
  • Rosemary (Lentil Chips)
  • Sea Salt (Lentil Chips)
  • Kalamata Olives (Hummus Chips)
  • Roasted Red Pepper (Hummus Chips)
  • Italian Herbs (Pita Chips)
  • Cinnamon and Sugar (Pita Chips)

Their products are baked, not fried, which makes them a healthier alternative. The main ingredients in these products are potato starch, cornflour, rice flour, and amaranth flour – all suitable following a gluten-free lifestyle.

Deliciously Ella

Deliciously Ella is certified gluten-free. This means that all products are vigorously tested and meet strict guidelines to ensure they’re safe for gluten-free consumption. Whilst they’re not exactly pita chips, they are similar in texture and flavor.

These baked veggie crackers come in a range of flavors. They’re also a much healthier option. Their flavors include:

  • Sea Salt and Black Pepper Veggie Crackers
  • Chickpea and Paprika Veggie Crackers
  • Sweet Potato and Rosemary Veggie Crackers
  • Beetroot and Multiseed Veggie Crackers

This brand is also vegan-friendly. The main ingredients are rice flour, cassava flour, and sweet potato flour.

Oasis Pita Chips

Oasis only offers one style of pita, but this brand is probably the most accessible in your local grocery store. The only flavor available is Sea Salt. The ingredients in these chips are chickpeas, green lentils, corn, vegetable oil, and sea salt. The fewer ingredients in a product, the less processed they are. Meaning Oasis chips are a healthy snack.

Enjoy Life

Enjoy Life has one the largest selection of gluten-free products I’ve seen. And they’re not just gluten-free, they’re free from the top 13 allergens, including wheat, peanuts, tree nuts, dairy, casein, soy, egg, sesame, sulfites, lupin, mustard, fish, shellfish, and crustaceans. Again, whilst not strictly pita chips – they are a very close second. They come in a range of sizes and the flavors they offer include:

  • Dill and Sour Cream
  • Garlic and Parmesan
  • Margherita Pizza
  • Sea Salt
  • Thai Chili Lime

Enjoy Life are also certified gluten-free, which means that they’re as safe as can possibly be. The main ingredients in these products are lentil flour and potato starch. This brand is also Kosher, Vegan friendly, and non-GMO. They’re easily accessible for around $3 a bag.

Plant Snacks

Plant Snacks are another brand that offer a great range of snacks. This time made from the root vegetable, cassava. Certified gluten-free, nut-free, and vegan – this brand is brilliant! Their flavors include:

  • Sea Salt Cassava Chips
  • Vegan Cheddar Cassava Chips
  • Super Seed Cassava Chips
  • Salt and Vinegar Cassava Chips
  • Beet with Vegan Goat Cheese Cassava Chips
  • Ranch Cassava Chips
  • Lime Cassava Chips
  • Jalapeno Cassava Chips

Have a look at their website here. The main ingredients in these tasty treats are cassava root flour and sunflower oil. These should be readily available in your local grocery store for around $3.


To conclude, although there may not be many gluten-free pita chips available, there are lots of other delicious alternatives. In the future, hopefully, we’ll see more gluten-free brands pop up. In the meantime, we can enjoy lentil, cassava, and hummus chips!

Do you have a favorite pita (or pita-like) chip that hasn’t been mentioned above? If so, please feel free to leave it in the comments below. Or if you have a recipe you’re itching to share with us – I would love to take a look.

Read more about: Do Corn Tortilla Chips Have Gluten?

Leave a Comment