Are Green Beans Gluten Free?

Today, we’re going to be answering the question: are green beans gluten free? And taking a look at a delicious gluten-free green bean casserole recipe. When you receive your diagnosis, checking vegetables for gluten may seem absurd – but gluten manages to sneak its way into almost anywhere. Are green beans naturally gluten-free? Are there any health benefits of introducing them to your diet? Let’s take a closer look.

What Are Green Beans?

You may know green beans by one of their many other names, such as string beans, French beans or snap beans. Technically speaking, green beans are part of the legume family. They are young and unripe, but they are absolutely delicious and incredibly nutritious too – meaning they’re a great addition to any diet.

What Are Green Beans

Learn more about: Are White Beans Gluten-Free?

Nutritional Information Of Green Beans

If you’re wondering about the nutritional value of green beans, each cup provides the following:

  • Calories: 31
  • Fat: 0.1g
  • Sodium: 6mg
  • Potassium: 209mg
  • Carbs: 7g
  • Dietary Fiber: 3.4g
  • Protein: 1.8g

Are Green Beans Gluten Free?

Green beans are absolutely gluten-free. In their purest form, green beans do not contain any gluten ingredients. When you’re buying fresh green beans, they will not contain any gluten. The same is said of canned green beans. However, if it’s a dish that offers green beans as a side – always check the ingredients label as the other ingredients in the dish may contain gluten, which would make the green beans themselves unsafe too.

Health Benefits Of Green Beans

There are many health benefits of adding green beans to your diet, and no side effects at all, which is one of its greatest benefits! Other benefits include:

  • Nutritious. Low in calories and packed full of nutrients such as calcium, vitamin K, vitamin B, and vitamin C
  • Antioxidant and Antinflammatory
  • Full of Fiber. Fiber is great for regulating bowel movements and also can help lower cholesterol levels too
  • Good for the Gut. If eaten in moderation, it can aid a healthy digestive system and keep things running smoothly

Gluten Free Vegetables

While it may feel as though options are limited on a gluten-free diet, all vegetables are completely gluten-free! This is true for all vegetables, in their purest form. If they’ve been prepared in an area that also handles gluten products, or has any additives or flavorings – it’s always best to check the ingredients labels.

However, fresh vegetables such as carrots, peas, lettuce, onions, cauliflower, broccoli, potatoes, eggplant, and of course, green beans are all gluten-free.

Gluten Free Green Bean Casserole

If you’re looking for a tasty new side dish, then look no further. This recipe from Gluten-Free Palate is crunchy, fresh, and utterly delicious. If you’re looking for something slightly different, this is the side dish for you.

Ingredients

The ingredients you’ll need for this recipe are:

  • 4 cups of fresh green beans
  • 10oz of gluten-free mushroom soup
  • 1/2 cup of milk
  • 1/2 teaspoon of GF Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/2 teaspoon of salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon of pepper
  • 1/4 cup of onion (finely chopped)
  • 1 cup of cheese (cheddar is preferable)
  • 1 cup of fried onions (gluten-free)

Recipe

Now all you need to do is:

Step 1: Prepare

Grease a casserole dish or pan and set it to one side. Ensure your oven is preheated to 350F. While the oven is preheating, wash your green beans and trim them. Blanch in boiling water for around 5 minutes

Step 2: Make the Coating

Add the soup, milk, salt, pepper, and Worcestershire sauce to a bowl. Mix well. Once mixed, add the onions, cheese, and green beans and combine well

Step 3: Cook

Place the mixture into your casserole dish or pan. Sprinkle the fried onions (ensure they’re gluten-free) over the top and cook in the center of your oven for around 45 minutes. Leave to cool for several minutes before serving. Enjoy!


Read more about: Are Spinach Wraps Gluten-Free?

Conclusion

I hope this article has helped to answer the question: are green beans gluten-free? And also gives you an idea of just some of the ways you can benefit by adding them to your diet. I would highly recommend making the green bean casserole, as it really is delicious!

Do you know of any other gluten-free recipes involving green beans? If so, please feel free to share them with me in the comments below. Sharing is caring!

FAQs

Which Canned Green Beans are Gluten Free?

I've yet to come across any canned green beans that contain gluten. They are usually always gluten free as the only two ingredients are green beans and water. The only time you'll need to look more closely is if there's any additional flavorings or additives. However, with canned green beans that is highly unlikely. As canned green beans are naturally gluten free, it's highly unlikely to carry a gluten free label. 

Can You Eat Green Beans With Celiac Disease?

Of course! Green beans are safe for those with celiac disease and those with non-celiac gluten intolerance. It's worth mentioning that I always think fresh green beans are tastier than those that come in a can! Green beans are super nutritious so it's definitely worth adding them to your diet - especially in a tasty dish such as green bean casserole!

What Kind of Beans are Green Beans?

Green beans are simply an unripe common bean. They will all likely vary slightly in color and size, but they're essentially all the same thing - an immature common bean. 

Does Green Bean Casserole Contain Gluten?

Yes it does. Unfortunately, green bean casserole in your local grocery store or in restaurants will more than likely not be gluten free. This is because it typically includes ingredients that contain gluten such as cream of mushroom soup, fried onions and Worcestershire sauce. However, as you can tell from this article, it's super easy to make your own gluten free green bean casserole - and everything tastes better homemade. As long as your recipe is using gluten free mushroom soup, gluten free fried onions and gluten free Worcestershire sauce, the dish will more than likely be gluten free.