Today, we’re going to be answering the question: are Cocoa Krispies gluten free? And taking a look at which other similar alternatives we have available that are gluten-free. Breakfast is the most important meal of the day, and a bowl of cereal is without a doubt the easiest way to enjoy that meal. However, cereal is one of the most common everyday foods that does contain gluten. But are Cocoa Krispies typically gluten-free? Let’s take a closer look.
What Are Cocoa Krispies?
You’ll likely already be familiar with the snap, crackle, and pop of traditional Rice Krispies. But their Cocoa Krispies are even better…let’s be honest, chocolate makes everything taste better. It’s a sweetened rice cereal from Kellogg’s, that’s chocolate flavored. And is paired perfectly with a bowl of milk.
Learn more about: Are Chocolate Lucky Charms Gluten-Free?
Ingredients In Cocoa Krispies
So what are the ingredients you’ll find in Kellogg’s Cocoa Krispies? Let’s take a look. The ingredients are:
- malt flavor
- iodized salt
- palm kernel oil
- natural and artificial flavor
- red 40
- yellow 6
- blue 1
- vitamins and minerals
Nutritional Information Of Cocoa Krispies
You may be curious as to the nutritional value of a serving of Kellogg’s Cocoa Krispies. Each bowl (around 42g) contains the following:
- Calories: 160
- Fat: 0.5g
- Sodium: 140mg
- Carbs: 37g
- Sugars: 13g
- Protein: 3g
However, if you’re having the cereal with 3/4 cup of skim milk, the nutritional information changes to:
- Calories: 220
- Fat: 1g
- Sodium: 220mg
- Carbs: 46g
- Sugars: 22g
- Protein: 9g
Are Cocoa Krispies Gluten Free?
From taking a look at the ingredients, you may assume that Cocoa Krispies do not contain any gluten. However, that is not the case. Much like Rice Krispies, Cocoa Krispies contain hidden gluten: malt flavor. Malt flavor usually comes from barley, which is a gluten-containing grain. While the amount may only be small (less than 2% of the product), this product should be avoided if gluten intolerant, or celiac.
On top of this, Cocoa Krispies do not make any gluten-free claims. Because of this, the product will have been susceptible to cross-contact. As Kellogg’s makes other gluten-containing products, we can safely assume that Cocoa Krispies are made in the same area and are not tested for traces of gluten. While it may be tempting to still eat this cereal, we would not recommend doing so – especially when there are many other delicious chocolatey alternatives.
Gluten Free Alternatives To Cocoa Krispies
If you’re craving a chocolatey cereal that’s gluten-free – there are many options besides Cocoa Krispies (and I personally think they taste even better). If you’re from the UK, many stores have their own brands of gluten-free chocolate cereal, so it’s definitely worth checking out. However, if you want a well-known brand; look no further. Here are our top picks.
Post-Cereals have a few gluten-free options. However, their Cocoa Pebbles are almost identical to Cocoa Krispies – minus the gluten. It’s a super accessible brand, and it’s one that’ll be great for the little ones in your life too. Sweetened crispy rice cereal that makes gluten-free claims – what more could you need to start off the day?
Cocoa Pebbles contain the following ingredients:
- canola oil
- caramel color
- natural and artificial flavor
Nature’s Path has a selection of gluten-free breakfast cereals – one of them being their Koala Crisp cereal from Envirokidz. Not only is this tasty cereal gluten-free, but also non-GMO, organic and contains no artificial ingredients. While it’s aimed at children, it’s perfect for the big kids too!
Koala Crisp contains the following ingredients:
- brown rice flour
- cane sugar
- Fair Trade cocoa powder
- chocolate flavor
- sea salt
What’s great about Envirokidz, is that each box sold goes to the conservation of animals and wildlife. Delicious cereal and protecting animals? Perfect! You can find out more about this particular cereal, here.
Freee is a UK gluten-free brand that is home to absolutely anything you could ever need gluten-free. From baking products to cereal, to pasta – they’ve got you covered. One of the cereals they offer is Gluten Free Organic Chocolate Stars. Not only is this product certified gluten-free, but also Kosher and Vegan certified; making it suitable for a range of dietary lifestyles.
The Gluten-Free Organic Chocolate Stars contain the following ingredients:
- maize flour
- rice flour
- cane sugar
- rice bran extract
I hope this article has helped to answer the question: are Cocoa Krispies gluten-free? While this popular breakfast cereal may not be gluten-free, there are plenty of alternatives that are 100% safe.
Do you know of any other gluten-free chocolate-flavored cereal? If so, please feel free to let me know in the comments below. Sharing is caring.
Read more about: Are White Chocolate Chips Gluten-Free? (& GF Cookies Recipe)
Are All Rice Krispies Gluten-Free?
Unfortunately, Rice Krispies are not gluten free. This is because malt flavor is one of the ingredients, which is derived from barley. Rice Krispies did offer a gluten free option, but it has since been discontinued.
Are Cheerios Safe For Celiacs?
Not all Cheerios are safe for celiacs, but they do have a few options that make gluten free claims, including: Original, Honey Nut, Multi Grain, Apple Cinnamon, Frosted, Pumpkin Spice, Fruity and Chocolate Cheerios.
What Cereal Does Not Contain Gluten?
There are many cereals that do not contain gluten - you just need to know the best places to look. Some of my favorites are Nature's Path, Post Pebbles, Freee and Cheerios. This list is by no means extensive, and is only cereal that offers a gluten free chocolate alternative.
Are Cocoa Puffs With Marshmallows Gluten-Free?
Unfortunately, this particular type of cereal is not gluten free. Not only does it contain gluten in its ingredients, but it is also manufactured in an area where gluten is used regularly. Because of this, we strongly suggest that you avoid this cereal - it is not safe for celiacs or gluten intolerant individuals.