Steak And Shake Gluten Free – The Best Foods To Eat

Last Updated on September 21, 2022

Today, we’re going to be looking at Steak and Shake gluten free options. Eating out when following a gluten free diet can sometimes be tricky to navigate, and some foods you’d least expect will end up containing gluten. But we’re here to make the experience easier for you. Steak and Shake is a popular restaurant predominantly in the US, but do they offer any gluten free options? Let’s take a closer look.

What Is Steak And Shake?

Steak and Shake (or Steak ‘n Shake as it’s more commonly known) is a casual restaurant, that is usually found in the US. However, there are also locations in Europe and the Middle East. In fact, they have over 600 locations worldwide and have been around for almost 90 years now!

Despite their name suggesting they just sell steaks, their signature dish is actually the steakburger (a burger made from a mixture of steak cuts!), as well as their hand dipped milkshakes. While these are their main options, they do offer a range of sides and soft drinks too.

Do Steak And Shake Have Gluten Free Buns?

Currently, Steak and Shake offer the following bun options:

What Cornmeal Is Gluten Free? Glute...
What Cornmeal Is Gluten Free? Gluten Free Cornmeal Brands
  • rye bread
  • sourdough bread
  • wheat bread
  • brioche bun
  • steakburger bun
  • knotted bun
  • steak franks bun

As you can probably tell just by looking at the bun options, Steak and Shake do not currently offer a gluten free bun. It’s quite disappointing considering how many options they have available, but we can keep our fingers crossed for the future. You can order any of the buns bunless to ensure they’re gluten free.

 Are steak and Shake Fries vegan?

Do Steak And Shake Have A Gluten Free Menu?

Unfortunately, Steak and Shake do not currently have a gluten free menu. In fact, the only help they offer is their allergen and ingredient guide, which involves you trawling through a 27 page document to determine what you can eat!

Besides the onion rings, all of their sides are free from gluten ingredients. As well as the burgers, as long as you order without the bun, the majority of sandwich components and toppings are gluten free.

However, one thing you definitely must avoid is the milkshakes. All of them contain wheat and are not suitable for those following a gluten free diet.

The majority of locations have separate fryers for their fries and also have a policy whereby they must prepare orders that contain an allergy with fresh gloves. So it’s best to make your server aware of any allergies or intolerances you have before you order so they can take the necessary precautions.

Steak And Shake Gluten Free Options

While they may not have a gluten free menu, there are plenty of options that free from gluten – you just may need to bring your own gluten free bun! It’s also worth mentioning that there’s always a chance of cross contact when a restaurant does not have an exclusively gluten free menu. This is because they do not have a dedicated area for preparing gluten free foods, so there’s never a 100% guarantee at locations like this.

However, let’s take a look at your options at Steak and Shake.

 Do milkshakes have gluten?

Sides

  • Cajun Fries
  • Thin and Crispy Fries
  • Chili Cheese Fries
  • Bacon Cheese Fries
  • Parmesan Cheese and Herb French Fries
  • Creamy Coleslaw
  • Baked Beans
  • Applesauce

Sandwich Components

  • steakburger
  • all beef steak franks
  • sugar creek applewood smoked bacon
  • grilled chicken fillet
  • pork belly slices
  • American cheese
  • cheddar cheese sauce
  • Swiss cheese
  • Colby jack cheese
  • pepper jack cheese
  • Monterrey jack cheese
  • Wisconsin cheddar cheese

Sauces and Dressings

  • Cajun seasoning
  • creamy peppercorn sauce
  • salsa
  • garlic mayonnaise
  • garlic spread
  • ketchup
  • mustard
  • Parmesan garlic and herb seasoning
  • Ken’s barbecue sauce
  • Frisco sauce
  • truffle aioli
  • tartar sauce

 Do steak and Shake buns have dairy?

Toppings

  • caramelized onions
  • steakburger seasoning
  • savory seasoning
  • sliced dill pickles
  • pickle relish
  • portobello mushrooms
  • Pico de Gallo
  • sour cream
  • iceberg lettuce
  • fresh leaf lettuce
  • fresh onion slices
  • tomato slices

Chili

  • Genuine Chili
  • Chili Deluxe

Breakfast

  • breakfast bowl with hash browns
  • breakfast bowl without hash browns

Drinks

  • all soft drinks are gluten free

You can find their full allergen guide with the most up to date information here.

 What are Steak n Shake milkshakes made of?

Conclusion

I hope this post has helped you to become more familiar with Steak and Shake gluten free options. While they may not have gluten free buns available just yet, we can only hope for the future! In the meantime, we can quite easily enjoy a bunless burger, along with a selection of sides.

What’s your go to order from Steak and Shake? I’m quite happy with just a selection of sides – but I’ve always been a lover of sides, in comparison to mains. Please feel free to let me know in the comments below. Sharing is caring!

FAQs

What are Steak n Shake Milkshakes Made of?

Steak and Shake are well known for their thick, creamy milkshakes. However, they are not gluten free. They are made from premium ice cream, as well as milk and syrup. The allergens listed are: milk and wheat. Their speciality milkshakes are made using the same ingredients, just with additional toppings, whereby some also contain wheat.

Do Steak and Shake Buns Have Dairy?

There are some Steak and Shake buns that contain dairy. The following list milk as an allergen: wheat bread and steakburger bun. The remaining buns they offer are all free from dairy, and safe to consume on a dairy free diet.

Are Steak and Shake Fries Vegan?

Some of the fries at Steak and Shake are vegan. Their traditional thin and crispy fries are vegan, as well as the Cajun fries. However, the cheese fries, chili cheese fries, bacon cheese fries and Parmesan cheese & herb French fries all contain milk; therefore are not vegan.

Do Milkshakes Have Gluten?

There is no straight answer. Sometimes milkshakes are gluten free, and other times they're not. If they are flavored with something like Oreos, it's unlikely to be free from gluten. However, most traditional milkshakes should be free from gluten. You should always check with your server before ordering.