Is There Gluten In Sour Cream?

Last Updated on August 25, 2021

Today, we’re going to be answering the question: is there gluten in sour cream? But first, let’s take a look and what it is and the ingredients that you’ll often find in sour cream.

It’s a popular household condiment. Whether you’re using it as a dip for your tortilla chips or dropping a dollop onto your tacos, it’s tangy flavor is the perfect addition to many dishes. But is it gluten-free? Let’s find out.

What Is Sour Cream?

Sour cream is a thick, tangy, dairy product. It’s essentially made by fermenting regular cream with certain kinds of bacteria. The bacteria is what thickens the cream and gives it that sour tang. The main ingredients in sour cream are cream, yoghurt, and white wine vinegar. You can also season with salt and herbs such as chives.

You can add sour cream to almost anything, such as:

  • Chili
  • Burritos
  • Tacos
  • Soup
  • Nachos
  • Baked Goods (Cakes, Cookies)

 is there gluten in sour cream

Learn more about: High Calorie Gluten Free Foods

Is Sour Cream Gluten-Free?

Gluten can hide in almost anything. Food, beverages…and condiments. Whilst most sour cream brands do not contain gluten ingredients, it’s always important to check. Gluten is often used as a thickener or a stabilizer in processed foods. It’s also sometimes used as an additive, starch of flavoring – so make sure you’re checking those labels!

There is also a chance of cross-contact depending on the manufacturing process. Cross contact is when there is a shared space used for both gluten-free and gluten-containing products.

But the good news is, most leading brands are gluten-free and safe for consumption when following a gluten-free lifestyle. We’ll take a look at some of the best gluten-free brands later on in this article. We are spoilt for choice!

Is There Gluten In Cream?

Cream is the main ingredient in sour cream. You’ll often find that any milk or dairy products are gluten-free – and cream is one of them. If you’re buying from the store, you may want to double-check before purchasing, but there should be no gluten-containing ingredients in cream – it is just made from milk, after all. And milk is completely safe for gluten intolerant individuals.

Sour Cream Gluten-Free Brands

Let’s take a look at some delicious gluten-free brands we can enjoy with no issue. There are a plethora of options for us. Almost all brands you’ll come across will be gluten-free.

Cabot Sour Cream

Cabot’s All Natural Sour Cream is completely gluten-free and natural. The only ingredients this sour cream contains are cream, milk, and enzymes. The Cabot website states that the majority of their products are verified to be gluten-free and made in a separate gluten-free environment.

You can usually pick up a pot of this brand for around $2.

Organic Valley Rich and Creamy Sour Cream

One of my favorite sour creams is Organic Valley. Like the name suggests, it really is rich and creamy! It also comes in a low-fat variety, which is also gluten-free. The only ingredients are organic nonfat milk, organic cream, bacterial cultures and vegetarian enzyme. Their website states that this product is gluten-free and is perfect for foods such as cheesecakes.

You can usually pick this up for around $3-$4.


Nancy’s have two different varieties of cream – natural and organic. On their website, they state that this product is gluten-free. The ingredients are whole milk, cream, nonfat milk, and 4 cultures.

Price is dependent on which variety you buy, but it’s usually around $3-$4.


Daisy sour cream is the leading brand in the US. Their pure and natural sour cream is easily accessible in most grocery stores. This PDF states that all Daisy sour cream products are gluten-free. The only ingredient in Daisy’s Sour Cream is cultured milk. You can even get this one in a squeezy bottle.

This is one of the cheapest sour creams, at around just $2.


I’m adding this one in as more of a warning. Whilst it contains no gluten ingredients and should be gluten-free, their gluten-free statement is very vague and makes me feel slightly uneasy. They state that it’s “virtually impossible that each carton is 100% free of all gluten” and that you should, “consult your doctor before introducing a new food“. I will leave that decision down to you.

However, there are plenty of gluten-intolerant individuals who are perfectly okay eating this sour cream.

Straus Family Creamery Organic

Straus’ Organic Sour Cream comes in two different sizes (8oz and 16oz). It gets it’s silky, smooth taste and texture from just three ingredients: milk, cream, and carefully selected enzymes. It’s made in batches and is certified organic, non-GMO, kosher, and gluten-free.

Dependent on size, you can usually buy this brand for around $2.

Make It Yourself

If you’d prefer to try making sour cream yourself – it’s really easy! The only ingredients you’ll need are double cream, natural yoghurt, white wine vinegar, and some seasoning. It’s as simple as popping it in a mason jar and giving it a shake! Leave overnight in a cool place and your sour cream is ready.

The BBC Good Food Sour Cream Recipe is a great place to start for your first time making sour cream.

Stick With Sour Cream!

As you can probably tell, there are plenty of options out there. There are so many more, but it was impossible to fit them all into one article. Most shop-bought brands will be gluten-free, but checking the label is the most important thing – gluten can be sneaky! And always opt for products clearly marked as gluten-free, if that’s an option.

What’s your favorite sour cream brand? And what’s your favorite dish to add it to? I’m going to be boring and say that I love it as a dip with tortilla chips – you can’t beat a classic. Feel free to leave your answers in the comments below.

Read more about: Does Nutella Have Gluten?

Leave a Comment