Is There Gluten In Ketchup?

Last Updated on June 14, 2024

Ketchup is one of the most popular condiments around the world – and let’s be honest, it goes with almost everything! You just can’t beat the fries and ketchup combo. However, is there usually gluten in ketchup? Let’s take a closer look.

What Is Ketchup?

I’m sure you’ll already be familiar with ketchup, but if not, it’s one of the most popular table condiments among the Western world. Most people call it ketchup, but you may know it as catsup. While there can be many flavors of ketchup, usually when people say ketchup, they’re referring to tomato ketchup.

Tomato ketchup is sweet, but also has sharp and tangy undertones. While the main ingredient nowadays is tomatoes, older recipes had ingredients such as egg whites, mussels, oysters, mushrooms and even grapes!

Ingredients In Ketchup

The ingredients in ketchup will vary depending on which brand you’re purchasing. However, Heinz is one of the most popular ketchup brands and contains the following ingredients:

  • tomato concentrate from red ripe tomatoes
  • distilled vinegar
  • high fructose corn syrup
  • corn syrup
  • salt
  • spice
  • onion powder
  • natural flavoring

 Does Great Value ketchup have gluten?

Nutritional Information Of Ketchup

You may be curious as to the nutritional value when it comes to tomato ketchup. A tablespoon of ketchup contains the following:

  • Calories: 19
  • Fat: 0g
  • Sodium: 154.2mg
  • Potassium: 53.6mg
  • Carbs: 4.5g
  • Dietary Fiber: 0.1g
  • Sugar: 3.7g
  • Protein: 0.2g

Is There Gluten In Ketchup?

Gluten can crop up in almost any food, and unfortunately, tomato ketchup can be one of those foods. While most ketchup is typically naturally free from any gluten, there is still a chance. For example, if ketchup hasn’t been made with distilled vinegar, there’s a chance it may contain gluten. Another example is when gluten is added to help the texture of the ketchup, as it helps to thicken the sauce.

It’s always best to check the ingredient labels of any kinds of ketchup you’re buying, and also important to opt for ketchup displaying a gluten-free label, if and where possible. When a product is labeled gluten-free, it must be tested for gluten and meet strict guidelines set by the FDA. You can be sure no cross-contact has taken place when a gluten-free label is clearly on show.

Gluten Free Ketchup Brands

There are many popular brands of ketchup that are gluten-free. However, this is a round-up of some of our top picks when it comes to gluten-free tomato ketchup.

 Is Hunt's tomato ketchup gluten-free?


Annie’s Organic Ketchup is not just gluten-free, but organic and does not contain any obligatory allergens, which means that it’s suitable for a range of dietary lifestyles. It doesn’t contain any artificial colors or flavors, meaning it’s as natural as can be. The Annie’s ketchup contains the following ingredients:

  • tomato paste
  • water
  • cane sugar
  • distilled white vinegar
  • sea salt
  • dried onion
  • allspice
  • clove


Heinz is the most popular ketchup brand across the globe, and guess what? It’s considered gluten-free! While it may not contain a gluten-free label, the company confirmed their vinegar is made from corn, rather than wheat. This particular ketchup is safe to 20ppm of gluten, which is the legally safe amount


French’s ketchup is another popular ketchup brand among the US. It’s gluten-free, and does not contain corn syrup too. This is great for those who have a separate corn intolerance/allergy. It also contains no artificial colors or flavors, making it another natural choice. The ingredients in this product are:

  • tomato concentrate
  • sugar
  • distilled vinegar
  • salt
  • onion powder
  • spices
  • natural flavor

Walden Farms

Walden Farm’s Ketchup is not just certified gluten-free (as safe as can possibly be for us!), but it’s also sugar-free and has zero calories! It’s also vegan, Kosher and keto friendly. The ingredients in this ketchup are:

  • water
  • tomato paste
  • white distilled vinegar
  • balsamic vinegar
  • salt
  • erythritol dried tomato pulp
  • fruit and vegetable juice for color
  • xanthan gum
  • dried onion
  • natural flavors
  • gellan gum
  • citric acid
  • monk fruit extract
  • cellulose gelt
  • spice

Which Other Sauces Are Gluten Free?

When it comes to condiments, it can sometimes feel like a minefield navigating which are safe, and which aren’t. However, the following sauces/condiments are typically gluten-free (however, always check the ingredients because there’s always exceptions):

  • mustard (wholegrain and Dijon)
  • tamari soy sauce (NOT traditional soy sauce, unless labeled gluten-free)
  • mayonnaise
  • salad cream
  • balsamic vinegar
  • cranberry sauce
  • chili sauce
  • horseradish
  • jams, chutneys and marmalades


I hope this post has helped to answer the question: is there gluten in ketchup? And give you an idea of which popular brands of ketchup are safe to consume when following a gluten-free diet. Ketchup is super easy to find gluten-free, and usually isn’t too expensive either!