Is There Gluten in Champagne? (& GF Alcohol List)

Last Updated on September 22, 2022

Today, we’re going to be answering the question: is there gluten in champagne? And taking a look at if champagne can ever contain gluten, and which other alcoholic drinks are safe to consume when following a gluten free diet.

If you’re celebrating an occassion, or simply spoiling yourself to a slice of luxury, champagne is the perfect treat. It’s bubbly, warming and one of my favorite drinks. But is there gluten in champagne? Let’s take a closer look.

What Is Champagne?

You’ll likely already be familiar with champagne, but beyond it being a fancy sparkling wine – I never really knew much else. But champagne has to be produced in the Champagne region of France and must meet strict guidelines to allow it to be sold as champagne. It needs to be specific grape used, as well as practices and specific methods used.

All champagne is made from grapes, and the most common grapes used for champagne are: chardonnay, pinot Meunier and pinot noir.

 Is champagne yeast gluten-free?

Ingredients In Champagne

The ingredients in champagne can differ depending on which brand you’re drinking. However, the typical ingredients in champagne are:

  • grapes (pinot noir, chardonnay and pinot Meunier primarily)
  • yeast
  • sulfites
  • sugar
  • fining agents
  • acidic product (such as citric acid, ascorbic acid)

Nutritional Information Of Champagne

The nutritional value of champagne can differ depending on the volume of alcohol in the drink, as well as which brand. However, a typical 125ml glass of champagne contains the following:

  • Calories: 89
  • Protein: 0.4g
  • Carbs: 1.6g
  • Fat: 0g
  • Fiber: 0g
  • Alcohol: 11-12%

Is There Gluten In Champagne?

If you’re looking for a naturally gluten-free alcoholic drink, champagne may be the drink for you. The main ingredients in champagne are grapes, sugar and yeast. All of those ingredients are naturally gluten-free, and safe to consume on a gluten-free diet.

 Is Moet gluten-free?

The problem with alcohol is that they have no obligation to list their ingredients or display a gluten-free label, and for this reason, choosing alcohol can feel quite daunting. The majority of champagne brands are considered gluten-free, but are unlikely to contain a gluten-free label.

If you’re unsure, check the brand’s website, or drop them an email, as contact details are usually listed on the bottle. I would only usually have any cause for concern if the sparkling wine looked as though it had any additional flavorings. Personally, I’ve yet to come across a champagne that isn’t gluten-free. If your experience is different, please let me know.

Gluten Free Champagne

As I mentioned, I’ve yet to come across a champagne that isn’t gluten free. However, you may be wondering what the most popular brands of champagne are, and their gluten free status. Let’s take a closer look.

  • Dom Perignon. The only ingredient is grapes, and is advertised as gluten and wheat free. It’s also made without animal products or eggs. For this reason, it’s suitable for a vegan lifestyle too
  • Barefoot. Barefoot confirmed back in 2014 that all of their wines “contain less than 20 ppm of gluten”, which is the legally safe amount for those with a gluten intolerance
  • Moet and Chandon. While they may not have a gluten free label, they have confirmed that their champagne is gluten and wheat free – and is also made without animal products, or eggs
  • Brut Champagne. Brut have neither confirmed nor denied the presence of gluten in their champagne, but it’s highly unlikely to contain gluten, and I’ve never had a problem with this brand
  • Prosecco. Prosecco is simply just a cheaper champagne, which is made from very similar ingredients. Much like champagne, all prosecco is considered gluten free too.

Gluten-Free Alcohol List

The following alcoholic drinks brands are considered to be gluten-free, and safe to consume when following a gluten-free diet:


  • Against the Grain
  • Bards
  • Glutenberg
  • Harvester
  • Holiday Brewing
  • New Planet Beer
  • Rebellion Brewing
  • Two Brother’s

White Wine

  • Moscato
  • port
  • chardonnay
  • cabernet
  • merlot
  • pinot noir
  • pinot grigio
  • rosé
  • Bordeaux
  • Riesling
  • sauvignon blanc
  • sherry
  • Malbec
  • zinfandel

Rye Whiskey 

 Is Prosecco champagne gluten-free?

  • Jack Daniel’s
  • Fireball
  • Crown Royal
  • Jameson
  • Black Velvet
  • Johnnie Walker
  • Southern Comfort
  • Dewar’s
  • Chivas Regal
  • Seagram’s 7

Malibu Coconut Rum

  • Rum
  • Original
  • Watermelon
  • Lime
  • Strawberry
  • Pineapple
  • Mango
  • Passion Fruit
  • Tropical Banana
  • Black
  • Red
  • Strawberry
  • Lime
  • Splash Passion Fruit
  • Splash Pineapple
  • Fizzy Pink Lemonade
  • Strawberry Kiwi
  • Fizzy Mango
  • Pineapple
  • Rum Punch Pouches
  • Blue Hawaiian Pouches
  • Pina Colada


  • Ace Pear Cider
  • Angry Orchard
  • Crispin Cider
  • Lazy Jack’s Cider
  • Strongbow Cider
  • Woodchuck

 What brands of Champagne is gluten-free?


  • Blue Ice Vodka
  • Bombora Vodka
  • Cayman Blue Vodka
  • Dixie Vodka
  • Famous Vodka
  • New Amsterdam
  • Ocean Vodka
  • Smirnoff
  • V-One Vodka


  • Cazul
  • Don Sergio
  • Dos Hombres
  • Hornitos
  • Patron Tequila


  • Bacardi
  • Captain Morgan’s
  • Kraken
  • Malibu Rum

Other Spirits

  • Brandy
  • Cointreau
  • Hennessey Cognac
  • Jägermeister
  • Prosecco
  • Sambuca

 is there gluten in champagne


I hope this post has helped to answer the question: is there gluten in champagne? And given you an idea of which brands of champagne you can enjoy. When it comes to champagne, we are completely spoilt for choice, and we can treat ourselves to a glass of luxury, just like everyone else!

Do you know of any other gluten-free champagne brands that didn’t make the list? If so, please feel free to let me know in the comments below. Sharing is caring!


Is Champagne Yeast Gluten-Free?

Yes. Sometimes confused with brewer's yeast (which is most definitely NOT gluten free), champagne yeast is completely free from gluten. 

What Brands of Champagne is Gluten-Free?

Many brands of champagne are gluten free, but some of my top picks are: Dom Perignon, Barefoot, Moet and Chandon, Brut Champagne and Prosecco. This list is by no means extensive, and there are plenty more! 

Is Moet Gluten-Free?

Moet and Chandon is one of the most popular champagne brands available. Good news - it's free from any gluten and safe to consume, whether celiac or gluten intolerant.

Is Prosecco Champagne Gluten-Free?

Yes! Prosecco is a naturally gluten free drink and considered safe for those following a gluten free lifestyle.