Last Updated on September 1, 2024
When you first receive your diagnosis, you may not even realize that some drinks contain alcohol! Gluten can sneak its way into almost anywhere – alcoholic drinks included! In this post we’ll be taking a closer look at Peach Schnapps.
Table of Contents
What Is Peach Schnapps?
Believe it or not, the word “schnapps” is just the German term for a strong alcoholic drink! The clear grain spirit drink is often then flavored with herbs, spices, or fruits. You can find schnapps in a range of different flavors, with peach being the most popular. Other popular flavors include apple, peppermint, and cinnamon.
Read more about: Is Rye Whiskey Gluten-Free? (GF Alcoholic Drinks)
Is Peach Schnapps Gluten Free?
Yes! Peach Schnapps is seen as a gluten-free drink. The most popular supplier of Peach Schnapps is Archer’s and they label their peach schnapps as suitable for vegans, vegetarians, and those following a gluten-free diet. Most liquors are seen as safe for celiacs or gluten intolerants because of the distillation process that takes place.
However, if you’re unsure or would like some clarification, you may want to reach out to the company and ask them. Companies are often more than likely to help out in any way they can.
Why Would Alcohol Contain Gluten?
Alcohol can contain gluten for a variety of reasons. It adds flavor, texture, and shelf life or it could simply be part of the distillation process. Drinks that are usually considered safe on a gluten-free diet are cider, wine, sherry, spirits, port, and liqueurs.
It’s worth noting that even if a cereal containing grain has been used as an ingredient, after the distillation process, the gluten is removed and can safely be labeled as gluten-free and consumed by those living with celiac disease.
What Alcohol Contains Gluten?
The most common alcohols that contain gluten are beer, ale, stout, and lager. Some may contain more gluten than others, but it’s widely known that beer is not gluten-free. However, there are plenty of gluten-free beer options available; either naturally gluten-free or gluten-removed. Depending on your intolerance, you may find the naturally gluten-free beer more suitable (I do).
Another reason is if the flavoring is added after the distillation process. While unflavored spirits and liquors will be safe, this may not be the case if they’re flavored. When adding the flavoring to the drink after, there may be a chance that they contain gluten – so it may be worth sticking to plain alcoholic drinks unless you can be sure they’re gluten-free.
Gluten Free Alcohol List
This list is by no means extensive but will take a look at some of the most popular alcoholic drinks that are gluten-free or contain no gluten ingredients. Alcohol is something we can enjoy relatively easy. We just need to be wary about flavored drinks, and also drinks such as cocktails. While the alcohol itself may be gluten-free, the mixers may not be!
Beer
- Against the Grain
- Bards
- Billabong Brewing
- Glutenberg
- Harvester
- Holiday Brewing
- New Planet Beer
- Rebellion Brewing
- Two Brother’s
- World Top
White Wine
- Moscato
- port
- chardonnay
- cabernet
- merlot
- Pinot noir
- Pinot grigio
- rosé, Chianti
- Bordeaux
- Riesling
- sauvignon blanc
- sherry
- Malbec
- zinfandel
Rye Whiskey
- Jack Daniel’s
- Fireball
- Crown Royal
- Jameson
- Black Velvet
- Johnnie Walker
- Southern Comfort
- Dewar’s
- Chivas Regal
- Seagram’s 7
Malibu Coconut Rum
- Rum
- Original
- Watermelon
- Lime
- Strawberry
- Pineapple
- Mango
- Passion Fruit
- Tropical Banana
- Black
- Red
- Strawberry
- Lime
- Splash Passion Fruit
- Splash Pineapple
- Fizzy Pink Lemonade
- Strawberry Kiwi
- Fizzy Mango
- Pineapple
- Rum Punch Pouches
- Blue Hawaiian Pouches
- Pina Colada
Cider
- Ace Pear Cider
- Angry Orchard
- Crispin Cider
- Lazy Jack’s Cider
- Strongbow Cider
- Woodchuck
Vodka
- Blue Ice Vodka
- Bombora Vodka
- Cayman Blue Vodka
- Dixie Vodka
- Famous Vodka
- New Amsterdam
- Ocean Vodka
- Smirnoff
- V-One Vodka
Tequila
- Cazul
- Don Sergio
- Dos Hombres
- Hornitos
- Patron Tequila
Rum
- Bacardi
- Captain Morgan’s
- Kraken
- Malibu Rum
Gin
- Aviation American Gin
- Hendrick’s
Hard Seltzer
- Bodega Bay Hard Seltzer
- Bud Light Seltzer (USA only)
- Coors Hard Seltzer
- Corona Seltzer
- Truly
- White Claw Hard Seltzer
Other Spirits
- Brandy
- Cointreau
- Hennessey Cognac
- Jägermeister
- Prosecco
- Sambuca
Gluten Free Mixers
All Canada Dry drinks are gluten-free, so they’re a great brand to buy your mixers from. Some of their most popular drinks that mix well with alcoholic beverages are:
- Club Soda
- Original Ginger Ale
- Cranberry Ginger Ale
- Diet Ginger Ale
- Diet Sparkling Green Tea Ginger Ale
- Sparkling Green Tea Ginger Ale
- Cheerful Cherry Seltzer
- Cranberry Lime Twist Seltzer
- Lemon Lime Twist Seltzer
- Mandarin Orange Seltzer
- Original Seltzer
- Tonic Water
There are many gluten-free mixers available, but if you’re ordering at a bar or restaurant, it’s always best to make your server aware of any allergies you have so they can take the necessary precautions when preparing your drinks.
Conclusion
I hope this post has given you an insight into the selection of alcohol we can enjoy when following a gluten-free lifestyle. While we may have to be a little more cautious than the average person – we can definitely enjoy our alcohol as much as anyone else!
FAQs
Hi, my name’s Zoë. I live in London, UK. I work full time as a freelance writer and critic for West End theatre. Writing has been a passion of mine for as long as I can remember. I spend most of my free time at the theatre, or at conventions. I’m married to the love of my life, and live in a small apartment with my fur baby, Lillie. I run two of my own blogs: No Safer Place and Stage to Page: both of which have won awards. I also have a YouTube channel where I talk about all things stagey.